10 Reviews

Made these a long time ago, but never reviewed. I'm making again tonight, so I figured I'll give you some stars... Very good dish. My very first main meal with lentils! It actually gets my whole family to eat them surprisingly. They hate anything healthy.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamplemoussee July 23, 2010

This was excellent in both tacos, and instead of the meat in a taco salad. I used 2 tablespoons of Taco Seasoning, and french lentils, whole wheat tortillas, all of which I would do again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo April 05, 2010

Yum! I used Greek yogurt for the sauce, soft corn tortillas instead of hard shells and served with lime wedges. Next time I might try to work some cilantro into the mix. I love that this is vegetarian, high in fiber and tastes SO good. Carnivore hubby not as impressed but that just means more leftovers for me!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dinahmite October 28, 2009

I loved these tacos. I used 1/4 cup of salsa instead of adobo sauce and no chilies. I also used 2 tbsp of homemade taco seasoning instead of the package. Since I started eating vegetarian, I have been missing tacos...this is a great replacement.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrVanilla March 14, 2009

Loved these tacos! Chipotle peppers are now my favourite pepper - they add a really nice smokey flavour to the tacos. I didn't have dried brown lentils on hand so I made it with canned which ended up significantly reducing the cooking time. The only thing is that you have to also reduce the vegetable broth since the canned lentils are already cooked.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waffey August 10, 2010

Great recipie! I took the lentils and used it in a calzone and served them at a bridal shower. They were a hit!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Charlonne June 02, 2009

These are fantastic, healthy, and the chipotle peppers are a great addition. I'm always looking for more ways to eat lentils, and this was extremely tasty. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.hough February 19, 2011

I have used the chipotle/sour cream mixture before. I made it with Greek yogurt for this and it came out just the same. I have to say that this was just ok for me. The recipe works great. So, I'm not going to rate stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delenn October 20, 2012

These lentil tacos were fantastic. The flavour of the lentils with the taco seasoning (I make my own so I know what is in it) was delicious. I will make them again soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingfor9 February 26, 2012

This was good, not great. Not likely to make this again, prefer the red lentil versions found here on 'zaar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos May 01, 2011
Spiced Lentil Tacos (Vegetarian)