Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spiced Irish Oatmeal (Diabetic Friendly) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spiced Irish Oatmeal (Diabetic Friendly)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2010

      This was wonderful Annacia ~ I love Irish Oatmeal, so this was a perfect choice for us. I threw some toasted pecans in mine and it was perfect! Thanks for posting my new favorite :) Made for Diabetic Forum March Into Spring Tag, March 2010!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      I eat steel cut oat every morning. This was a nice way to spice it up some. I used Splenda Brown Sugar Blend, could not find my allspice, did not use salt and used fresh ground nutmeg. I'm going to fix my oats this way again tomorrow. Made for *Gimme 5 Recipe Tag 2009* game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Nice breakfast. Made as written and topped with toasted hazelnuts. We normally use more sweetener then what this calls for, but there is so much flavor with all the spices we did not miss the extra sweetness. The texture was perfect as the milk was served on the side as being optional. Thanks so much for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      This tasted great, but the cooking time is too little. Mine took about 25 minutes. The amount of sweetness is just right. I skipped the milk. I love steel cut oats but don't have them often because of the cooking time, but will have this version when time permits, since I liked all of the spice flavors in this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      It was my first time trying steel cut oats. After 15 minutes, it was still a little bit crunchy. I used 1 tablespoon packed brown sugar. For me it was not enough sweet. I had to add more in my bowl with the milk. I liked the taste of all the spices. I used ground cloves and no salt. Thanks Annacia :) Made for I recommend tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      Since I eat oatmeal most mornings for the simple fact that not only is it good for you, but it's something that stays w/me for hours. I cut this recipe in 1/2 just for myself. It was very very filling and satisfying, especially after a good work-out or run. I used the Splenda brown sugar and all the spices you have listed using nutmeg for my choice of dash. This was quite thick until I added about 1/4 cup skim milk. Perfectly done in about 15 minutes. Thanks Anna. Tagged for 123HitWonders!~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      Boy, these sure smelled heavenly while cooking; DH came in the kitchen and said 'whatcha got there?" One note, my package of steel cut oats said cook for 30 minutes.... I figured I better follow what the box said since the other reviewers were noting some trouble with consistency - so I did and I thought it was done perfectly, just right for me. I added sliced almonds and skipped the optional milk. Very flavorful spiced oats, yum! Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      I know that the key here is "diabetic legal" servings. While the combination of spices is really good, I had some problems coming up with the proper servings. I reduced the recipe to 2 servings using the feature provided by Zaar. The first time around I measured the finished product and came up with 1/2 cup before adding any milk which is listed as an optional ingredient. The second time I prepared this, I used a rounded measure of oats and the finished product measured 2/3 cup and I added 1/3 cup milk to get the 2 servings. Next time around, I would definately increase the amount of oats. As I mentioned, the finished product has a nice flavor and I love the nutty texture of steel cut oats. I did top each serving with a few slices of banana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      I liked this recipe very much and found it to be very tastie. The next time I try it I will go with two cups of oats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      I love my morning oatmeal and often look for different ways to prepare it. With it's longer cooking time, steel cut oats are a Sunday morning special. This one was just delicious and did particularly well with some pears canned in juice added just a minute before serving. My one change was to add about half the stated amount of milk (in my case soy). Even with that amount it was a bit soupy, fine with me but for others who like firmer cereal use according to your tastes. Thanks Annacia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spiced Irish Oatmeal (Diabetic Friendly)

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 110.3
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    14%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 53.2 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites