10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was wonderful Annacia ~ I love Irish Oatmeal, so this was a perfect choice for us. I threw some toasted pecans in mine and it was perfect! Thanks for posting my new favorite :) Made for Diabetic Forum March Into Spring Tag, March 2010!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative March 31, 2010

I eat steel cut oat every morning. This was a nice way to spice it up some. I used Splenda Brown Sugar Blend, could not find my allspice, did not use salt and used fresh ground nutmeg. I'm going to fix my oats this way again tomorrow. Made for *Gimme 5 Recipe Tag 2009* game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J October 10, 2009

Nice breakfast. Made as written and topped with toasted hazelnuts. We normally use more sweetener then what this calls for, but there is so much flavor with all the spices we did not miss the extra sweetness. The texture was perfect as the milk was served on the side as being optional. Thanks so much for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl September 27, 2009

This tasted great, but the cooking time is too little. Mine took about 25 minutes. The amount of sweetness is just right. I skipped the milk. I love steel cut oats but don't have them often because of the cooking time, but will have this version when time permits, since I liked all of the spice flavors in this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey April 27, 2011

It was my first time trying steel cut oats. After 15 minutes, it was still a little bit crunchy. I used 1 tablespoon packed brown sugar. For me it was not enough sweet. I had to add more in my bowl with the milk. I liked the taste of all the spices. I used ground cloves and no salt. Thanks Annacia :) Made for I recommend tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 20, 2010

Since I eat oatmeal most mornings for the simple fact that not only is it good for you, but it's something that stays w/me for hours. I cut this recipe in 1/2 just for myself. It was very very filling and satisfying, especially after a good work-out or run. I used the Splenda brown sugar and all the spices you have listed using nutmeg for my choice of dash. This was quite thick until I added about 1/4 cup skim milk. Perfectly done in about 15 minutes. Thanks Anna. Tagged for 123HitWonders!~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB August 09, 2008

Boy, these sure smelled heavenly while cooking; DH came in the kitchen and said 'whatcha got there?" One note, my package of steel cut oats said cook for 30 minutes.... I figured I better follow what the box said since the other reviewers were noting some trouble with consistency - so I did and I thought it was done perfectly, just right for me. I added sliced almonds and skipped the optional milk. Very flavorful spiced oats, yum! Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI July 12, 2008

I know that the key here is "diabetic legal" servings. While the combination of spices is really good, I had some problems coming up with the proper servings. I reduced the recipe to 2 servings using the feature provided by Zaar. The first time around I measured the finished product and came up with 1/2 cup before adding any milk which is listed as an optional ingredient. The second time I prepared this, I used a rounded measure of oats and the finished product measured 2/3 cup and I added 1/3 cup milk to get the 2 servings. Next time around, I would definately increase the amount of oats. As I mentioned, the finished product has a nice flavor and I love the nutty texture of steel cut oats. I did top each serving with a few slices of banana.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG February 01, 2007

I liked this recipe very much and found it to be very tastie. The next time I try it I will go with two cups of oats.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shottie December 14, 2006

I love my morning oatmeal and often look for different ways to prepare it. With it's longer cooking time, steel cut oats are a Sunday morning special. This one was just delicious and did particularly well with some pears canned in juice added just a minute before serving. My one change was to add about half the stated amount of milk (in my case soy). Even with that amount it was a bit soupy, fine with me but for others who like firmer cereal use according to your tastes. Thanks Annacia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni December 04, 2006
Spiced Irish Oatmeal (Diabetic Friendly)