14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It's very good, but there is a problem I found that no one has mentioned. Putting that much ground spices in with the coffee, in a standard 12-cup filter, will cause overflow in standard coffee machines. I've made this twice now with two different machines with the same result (overflow). Coffee filters are not made for ground spices and do not drain well in that respect. In any case, I found it best to halve the recipe and make it twice (using the same pot). It works much MUCH better. As for the recipe itself, I don't have cardamom and probably won't buy it if I will only need it for this drink, so I substituted allspice, ginger, extra cinnamon and extra nutmeg. I also don't keep brandy, but I keep sherry which worked beautifully in its place for this drink! This is going to be a keeper. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MagnoliaSouth December 07, 2011

I love spices%u2026 I had to try this recipe!
I%u2019ve reduced the coffee recipe as described for 2 peoples and for my 2 children I%u2019ve used the same ingredients, but instead of coffee I%u2019ve used chocolate!
Chocolate version: Boil 2 cups of milk with the spices. After 5 minutes and passing through a colander add 25 g (1 ounce) dark chocolate. Heat again, stir until melted and top with the cream (for children with little vanilla instead of brandy!)
%u201CMmhh %u2026 not bad!%u201D Said my daughter! Everybody was happy.
Thanks for the recipe. Done for Please Review My Recipe tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde December 15, 2010

This was really good. The cardamom gave the coffee a nice spice without overpowering the coffee and I loved the brandy whipped cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana January 03, 2010

Made with out the whipped cream do to dietary restrictions. Loved the blend of spices. Went great with a breakfast of Spinach and Feta Omelet (Ww) and Maple Bran Muffins. All three worked so well together. Will be making this coffee again. Thanks so much for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl November 22, 2009

tried this today, as it's getting colder at night in UK. AllI can say is Mmmmm!! Really delicious. Had a Scottish shortbread with it that I brought back from holidays & it was heavenly, thanks for this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enigma 1 September 16, 2009

Take out the sugar and replace with spoonfuls of white chocolate or milk chocolate for another tasty treat to this delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peterc3769 January 05, 2009

Oh My Goodness! This is so good! I saw this on the main page and had to make some up. My DH is going to love this when he gets home. It's super cold outside today, and the poor thing has shoveling to do yet. The only change I'm making is to add a bit (lot) more brandy to it the cups tonight! ;) Thanks so much! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ December 12, 2008

I agree with everyone who have already rated this coffee. It is spectacular, quick and easy to make with a great spicy flavour and creamyness that I love. Thanks for sharing another winner Annacia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato January 27, 2008

I really enjoyed this as an after dinner drink! I omitted the brandy, and used canned whipped cream. Thanks Annacia!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 17, 2008

This is a truly special cup of coffee! The combination of spices is just perfect. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 January 02, 2008
Spiced Christmas Coffee