Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spiced Cauliflower Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spiced Cauliflower

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 13, 2002

      We had this for lunch this afternoon. LOVELY! We started off by soaking the cauliflower in 2 tsps. of salted water. I brought down the amount of cooking oil to 1 1/2 tbsps. and lessened the red chilli powder to 1/4 tsp. and I used black pepper powder as a substitute for paprika (1/4 tsp.) as we can't have very spicy food (health and personal taste reasons). I didn't have poppy seeds on hand and I had to leave that out as it's very difficult to get it in Oman. For the cashews, I used broken cashews which I powdered in my mixer (and obtained 2 tbsps. of coarsely powdered cashews) and then used. Before baking the cauliflower as in step 16, I tossed in 1 cup of boiled greenpeas into the dish that contained the cauliflower coated with the prepared masala. I had this with bread and later with plain rice and topped with a dollop of plain yogurt. YUMMY! :) I was most excited with step 4 of this recipe of the microwave - REALLY WORKS SOO GOOD! A billion thanks for that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I tried this recipe this weekend and it came out great! I cut the caulifower into florets and cooked them in the sauce (so I had to add a little more water which cooked off). It came out a tasty dish for our vegetarian potluck and everyone really ernjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      Wonderful! I had no cashews, and forgot to put in the poppy seeds, but it was great in spite of this. This is a really hearty dish and could be served with brown rice as a meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      I made this as part of a big Indian feast for friends the other night, to show them that there is more to Indian food than butter chicken! Everyone asked for the recipe and was amazed(?) vegetarian food could be so good. I made it ahead of time and then reheated it in the oven.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Great flavor and almost better the next day as leftovers. I didn't read the directions all the way through before starting, so I ended up pulling the cauliflower apart before steaming it. I then just put all the steamed cauliflower into the sauce and it still turned out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Due to diet restrictions, I didn't use the oil or the nuts. It was wonderful without it. complex taste with a lingering glow. Not too hot. It made a wonderful sandwich the next day. Never did anything like this with this type of recipe before. Couldn't stop eating it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      We thought this was a terrific way to prepare cauliflower. I left out the cashews due to dietary restrictions but otherwise made as stated. Thanks for a great way to serve this wonderful vegetable!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      This was a delicious way to serve cauliflower, i didnt have green pepper so used crushed red pepper instead.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2005

      I made this just as indicated and it was fantastic. It was even better the next day after the flavors had had a chance to blend. Unfortunately, my DH ate almost all of the leftovers for lunch before I had a chance for seconds! I'm making it again this week. Great recipe, Kusum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      Delicious! I ended up cutting the cauliflower in to florets. I used less oil and crushed red pepper instead of dried green chilies and omitted the poppy seeds and cashews. I have never made anything like this before and I'm really looking forward to the leftovers. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      This was very good. It's a keeper for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2003

      OOoppss! I forgot to mark the stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2003

      This was wonderful. I didn't have cumin or coriander, so added a little curry powder instead. Also didn't have the poppy seeds or cashews; I'm sure they would have added a little extra something, but it was fabulous even without those things. We aren't vegetarians, but like to eat a lot of veggies, and it's always great to have a new way to prepare them. Thank you, Kusum, I'm looking forward to trying more of your recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spiced Cauliflower

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 114.1
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    58%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 1.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 485.6 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites