Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spiced Apple Slices for Two Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spiced Apple Slices for Two

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2013

      I liked this enough to eat the whole thing by myself. I used a Granny Smith apple, followed the recipe, and added a bit of heavy cream. I'll certainly make this often. Thanks for sharing. Made for Football Pool 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      I'm giving this 4 stars.....I was going to give it only 3 but in rereading the recipe I discovered I made a mistake and only used 1/2 Tbsp. of brown sugar instead of 1 and 1/2 Tbsp! That would explain why I thought it was so sour. I was disappointed in it but now I plan on making it again the right way and updating my review. Made for Football Pool 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      This is delicious! So quick to put together, with great flavors. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      Phanstastic!
      I prepared the double quantity of topping and used 4 apples since I have a lot.
      After 20 minutes baking I added 3 minutes broiling to caramelize the apple edges.
      Granny Smith apples or other sour apples are the ideal choice for this recipe!
      I served this warm with some fresh plain balkan yogurt. A real dream! I will do it again and again!
      Thanks a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      I like a man that can cook, but a plan had to be devised by a cave man whose wife handed him a honey-do list. It was to really mess up and then he wouldn't be asked to cook again. Works every time, but sounds suspicious to me. Wait, I think my husband is listening. Next, he'll be folding laundry. Made for ZWT#8~AU/NZ.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      These were easy and delicious!! I made them to go with some pikelets, but I saved some to put over ice cream. Just the right balance of sweet and tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      Loved these quick and easy apples! I enjoyed mine for breakfast but I think they'd be great for dessert with some vanilla or cinnamon ice cream too. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      Used Granny Smith apple. Very simple and easy to prepare. I added a little allspice with the cinnamon. We enjoyed the for breakfast. Thanks Jim and congrats on your Football Pool win.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      Jim - This recipe is OUTSTANDING. I used a JonaGold apple and we really liked the sweetness of it with the brown sugar and cinnamon. I did not use the flour - forgot to add it - but the apples still turned out wonderfully. Will be making these again - great for a busy weeknight - so quick and easy to make. Made for HARVEST MOON APPLE FESTIVAL in the Diabetic Forum, October 2010!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      Low fat apple pie,I called it while DD says it's the best dessert ever! Made a double batch but was barely enough for a mommy and two little girls.Made for ZWT6,go Vagabonds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This was so simple, smelled great while cooking and very good. I used a Granny Smith apple and followed the directions as written. I had this as a dessert for just me and I ate it all, lol. So.... not so sure about the 'for two' part. :) I plan on making this again soon and serve it over ice cream. Thanks Maryland Jim for a great treat! Made for MJ's win in the football pool.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This was great!! Made exactly as directed but I doubled it...and I'm glad I did! Wow...this was like a warm apple pie without the mess and work! Served with a little ice cream and it was delicious dessert after dinner! Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe! And congrats on winning the football pool!!! Made for the Football Pool-Week 1 game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      YUMMY :) I loved it :) thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      Made this with Granny Smith apple and Spenda Brown Sugar - then followed the recipe exactly as posted. It was great - loved the tang of the sour apple and the sweet of the topping. Topped with ice cream and added some walnuts - YUM. So easy and a nice ending to our dinner. Had a little left over but not enough for a full serving so the next morning I added the little bit of left over to my morning oatmeal and Wow, was that good. Thanks Maryland Jim for a very nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      I doubled this recipe to serve 4 as I made this to serve over oatmeal for breakfast for the kids and myself. I also converted it to the crockpot. Besides doubling up on the ingredients (I would cut back a little bit on the butter - 2 tblsps is sufficient, I think), increase the flour by 1/2 teaspoon (for a single serving - 1 teaspoon for a doubled recipe) to compensate for the lack of evaporation that will take place in the crockpot. Cook, on high, for 1 hour and 20 minutes. I did up the amount of cinnamon, but that was personal preference. Very tasty apple slices in a tart/sweet sauce. As I said, we served this on oatmeal, but I bet it would be great on icecream, too. I also think that adding other 'warm' spices, like nutmeg, ginger and allsice, would lend themselves very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      ZWT4: Quick to prepare and delicious!! We will be making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Really easy and tasty dessert. This would take care of an apple pie craving without making the pie. We ate ours with some vanilla ice cream. The apples had just the slightest crunch to them which I appreciated. Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      This was pretty good! We ate it with a scoop of ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      I made this with my son for ZWT4 Cooking with Kids Challenge. He loved helping prepare and EAT this dish. We even shared with Dad and the big brothers. Everyone thought it was a fun and tasty treat, but I wasn't crazy about the texture of the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Made for ZWT4...These were good. The kids loved them but hubby and I just thought they were pretty good. I will probably make again for the kids since they loved it so much and try experimenting with different kinds of apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spiced Apple Slices for Two

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.1
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    51%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 105.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 21.8 g
    87%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites