30 Reviews

I liked this enough to eat the whole thing by myself. I used a Granny Smith apple, followed the recipe, and added a bit of heavy cream. I'll certainly make this often. Thanks for sharing. Made for Football Pool 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY February 16, 2013

I'm giving this 4 stars.....I was going to give it only 3 but in rereading the recipe I discovered I made a mistake and only used 1/2 Tbsp. of brown sugar instead of 1 and 1/2 Tbsp! That would explain why I thought it was so sour. I was disappointed in it but now I plan on making it again the right way and updating my review. Made for Football Pool 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa January 31, 2013

This is delicious! So quick to put together, with great flavors. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews August 12, 2012

Phanstastic!
I prepared the double quantity of topping and used 4 apples since I have a lot.
After 20 minutes baking I added 3 minutes broiling to caramelize the apple edges.
Granny Smith apples or other sour apples are the ideal choice for this recipe!
I served this warm with some fresh plain balkan yogurt. A real dream! I will do it again and again!
Thanks a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde August 11, 2012

I like a man that can cook, but a plan had to be devised by a cave man whose wife handed him a honey-do list. It was to really mess up and then he wouldn't be asked to cook again. Works every time, but sounds suspicious to me. Wait, I think my husband is listening. Next, he'll be folding laundry. Made for ZWT#8~AU/NZ.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng August 06, 2012

These were easy and delicious!! I made them to go with some pikelets, but I saved some to put over ice cream. Just the right balance of sweet and tart.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlaskaPam August 04, 2012

Loved these quick and easy apples! I enjoyed mine for breakfast but I think they'd be great for dessert with some vanilla or cinnamon ice cream too. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof October 19, 2011

Used Granny Smith apple. Very simple and easy to prepare. I added a little allspice with the cinnamon. We enjoyed the for breakfast. Thanks Jim and congrats on your Football Pool win.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' October 15, 2011

Jim - This recipe is OUTSTANDING. I used a JonaGold apple and we really liked the sweetness of it with the brown sugar and cinnamon. I did not use the flour - forgot to add it - but the apples still turned out wonderfully. Will be making these again - great for a busy weeknight - so quick and easy to make. Made for HARVEST MOON APPLE FESTIVAL in the Diabetic Forum, October 2010!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative October 30, 2010

Low fat apple pie,I called it while DD says it's the best dessert ever! Made a double batch but was barely enough for a mommy and two little girls.Made for ZWT6,go Vagabonds!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia June 18, 2010
Spiced Apple Slices for Two