Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spiced Apple Slices / Apple Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spiced Apple Slices / Apple Chips

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2003

      Yummy! I made these today, and the house was filled with the most wonderful fragrance. I had fewer apples (only two), but used the entire spice mix, and it was great. I don't have a pampered chef corer/peeler/slicer, but I just sliced the apples thinly, and kept the peels on. I let the apples slow bake for about 2 1/2 hours. I may have overbaked a bit, because I kept testing to see if the slices were crispy; they really crisp up once they're out of the oven resting. However, they're very, very good, and are a nice snack on their own, and would be killer as salad "croutons", or a garnish for a pumpkin or squash soup...there are a lot of possibilities with this recipe. Excellent - I'll be making this a lot. Thanks, RitaL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      These were really tasty. I overcooked mine a little, but I will know better next time. I guess when you remove them from the oven, they should still be a little soft. We dipped these in Pumpkin Pie Dip. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      Wow, everybody loved these spicy crispy apple slices! I halved the recipe because I just have a little toaster oven right now(I have a brand new gas range waiting to be installed). But you can be sure I will be making lots more of these! They are delicious!!! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      OMG, I can't believe I have never reviewed this recipe. I must have copied it years ago and the name changed. But I have been using this recipe a couple years now. Not only have I done apples but I also did pears last year, both yummy. To season the apples I put them on the trays and sprinkle the spice on by hand with big pinches at a time. I usually need 3 times the recipe for 1 load in the dehydrator.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

    • on November 06, 2007

      What a wonderful way to get the most out of some apples that "had" to be used quick! I did cut back on the cardamom as another poster suggested. These were "just the best"! Thanks, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      Thanks Rita..........these were wonderful- I'll definitely be making them again. I didn't use any cardamom and used 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. Very easy to make and a great healthy snack for lunchboxes ...or anytime. I'll agree with the previous reviews- my kitchen did smell devine whilst the apples were baking :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      Crunchy and easy, but go light on that cardamom! These had a burnt taste, although they weren't burnt. I also used red delicious, because we like red apples; I would use a jonathan or maybe even a granny smith next time, something tarter. Also, I would sprinkle or shake the mixture onto the apples, rather than shake in a bag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      Opps! The aroma while cooking was delightful, but the taste wasn't a good thing...too much of something. 1 of 3 Grandsons ate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      What a delicious snack! This was so easy with the peeler/slicer/corer. I may reduce the amount of cardamom, though I do like the flavor; I will definitely make these again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      Since I was pulling out the grinder for the cardamom I decided to fresh grind the cinnamon, allspice and cloves as well. Ahhhh!! The smell was just wonderful. I used Splenda instead of sugar. The chips do shrink quite a bit so its best to use large apples. I had a mix of granny smiths and baby galas. The galas were done in less than an hour, while delicious they had less visual appeal than the other chips. Planning to make this next weekend for a BBQ. I'm sure folks will love them -- that Is if I don't finish them first. Oh, I used a mandoline with unpeeled but cored apples. Thanks Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2005

      I forgot to add the nutmeg to the spice mixture so I stirred in the nutmeg with the sugar then sprinkled the mixture on top of the unbaked apples. These are addicting! We'll be making these more often once apple season starts. I love cardamom, too! cg ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      I don't have a pampered chef slicer either, I used my mandolin to slice them nice and thin. My oven may be off, not sure, but I burned the first batch, the second batch I watched very closely and they turned out great after only one and one half hours. They were still slightly soft but I didn't want to take the risk of overdoing them again. They did crisp up some as they were cooling. In any case they are delichious!! and I will be making more. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spiced Apple Slices / Apple Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (95 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 82.5
     

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes