14 Reviews

Yummy! I made these today, and the house was filled with the most wonderful fragrance. I had fewer apples (only two), but used the entire spice mix, and it was great. I don't have a pampered chef corer/peeler/slicer, but I just sliced the apples thinly, and kept the peels on. I let the apples slow bake for about 2 1/2 hours. I may have overbaked a bit, because I kept testing to see if the slices were crispy; they really crisp up once they're out of the oven resting. However, they're very, very good, and are a nice snack on their own, and would be killer as salad "croutons", or a garnish for a pumpkin or squash soup...there are a lot of possibilities with this recipe. Excellent - I'll be making this a lot. Thanks, RitaL.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette November 02, 2003

I don't have a pamered chef slicer and just used my mandoline. I used three gala apples, which I didn't peel. I may have over dried them a bit as they continued to look wet to me but after 3.5 hours I took them out. The wet side dried into a hard glaze after the slices cooled. The chips are very tasty. I saw this recipe posted on Facebook by the author.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo October 06, 2014

These were really tasty. I overcooked mine a little, but I will know better next time. I guess when you remove them from the oven, they should still be a little soft. We dipped these in Pumpkin Pie Dip. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Schellies December 06, 2009

Wow, everybody loved these spicy crispy apple slices! I halved the recipe because I just have a little toaster oven right now(I have a brand new gas range waiting to be installed). But you can be sure I will be making lots more of these! They are delicious!!! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 02, 2003

OMG, I can't believe I have never reviewed this recipe. I must have copied it years ago and the name changed. But I have been using this recipe a couple years now. Not only have I done apples but I also did pears last year, both yummy. To season the apples I put them on the trays and sprinkle the spice on by hand with big pinches at a time. I usually need 3 times the recipe for 1 load in the dehydrator.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tasb October 01, 2013

What a wonderful way to get the most out of some apples that "had" to be used quick! I did cut back on the cardamom as another poster suggested. These were "just the best"! Thanks, Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP November 06, 2007

Thanks Rita..........these were wonderful- I'll definitely be making them again. I didn't use any cardamom and used 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. Very easy to make and a great healthy snack for lunchboxes ...or anytime. I'll agree with the previous reviews- my kitchen did smell devine whilst the apples were baking :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** November 05, 2007

Crunchy and easy, but go light on that cardamom! These had a burnt taste, although they weren't burnt. I also used red delicious, because we like red apples; I would use a jonathan or maybe even a granny smith next time, something tarter. Also, I would sprinkle or shake the mixture onto the apples, rather than shake in a bag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheapThrills May 26, 2007

Opps! The aroma while cooking was delightful, but the taste wasn't a good thing...too much of something. 1 of 3 Grandsons ate it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mares C. January 24, 2006
Spiced Apple Slices / Apple Chips