Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spiced Almonds for the Tapas Bar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spiced Almonds for the Tapas Bar

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2012

      OMG!!! I now have another addiction, these fabulous nuts!!!! I bought a bag of almonds, with skins, and used them for this and another recipe. Both are delicious, but these won out my tastes buds for the smokey & salty flavors. I did make mine different also, as I didn't have the blanched almonds, so I put the olive oil in a pan at medium heat and then added the almonds for a few minutes. I then tossed them in a bowl with the salt and paprika and then onto a paper plate lined with a paper towel. This will be made often at my house and is going into my "Best of 2012". Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      I made these two ways...one as posted with the hot smoked paprika and one with chipolte powder...we loved them both...I have some red and green jalapeno powder that I'm thinking of using next time...I love this recipe...I even got my almonds on sale...hubby loves them with skin on so that is what I used...I tagged this from "The Best of 2012" tag game...thanks diner524 for sharing your find...and thanks Rita~ for posting the recipe...=)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I made these nuts for my parents and a friend of theirs as a thank you and they got rave reviews from all! Everybody thought they were salty and spicy and just perfect to nibble on with a glass of wine. I liked how easy they were to prepare and how quickly everything went together. When making these, I realized I didnt have any blanced almonds on hand, so I went ahead and used the ones with skin on (no time to blanch them myself) and I think that worked alright, too. I hope you dont mind! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this great recipe with us, ~Rita~! What a great gift and snack idea! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #18 January 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      I served these at a dinner party, and they got mixed reviews; however, I'm giving them five stars, because I LOVED them! They were perfectly salty and spicy. Made for ZWT5 Family Picks. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      We loved these a lot. We had a drinks and nibbles party which sort of turned into a tapas party and these were lovely. I doubled the recipe and have been nibbling on the leftovers all day. We used smoked paprika and this seemed to work really well. Thanks for sharing - made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Love almonds for the super-energy boost they provide at times when one can feel a lapse in concentration coming on, and this is a great, super-quick, super-easy recipe for making a supply of really tasty almonds for at-work-snacks. Loved the simple combination of the salt, paprika (I used sweet paprika) and olive oil. Thanks for sharing this super recipe, ~Rita~. Made for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Very good! I also used unblanched almonds. This was my first time using the smoked paprika I received in a swap this fall, and I love it! We are including these in our holiday gifts of sweets, nuts, and fruit! Yummy! I did use a bit more than the 1 tablespoon of olive oil that one reviewer thought was too much, because they just didn't seem coated well enough for everything to stick. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      So incredibly easy...and delicious. I did use blanched almonds, smoked spanish paprika and fleur de sel. As a contribution to an assortment of tapas, these can't be beat! Thanks, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Outstanding and easy. I had unblanched on hand so I just toasted and spiced those. The oil and spices seemed to be absorbed into the skin; clinging very nicely. DELISH, Rita!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      YUM!! I made this for ZWT3. I didn't blanch my almonds, but left the skins on. The combination of the sweet almonds with the salt and smokey paprika is lovely! I have a ziplock baggie of these stashed away in my desk at work for snacks. They aren't going to last long! Thanks Rita. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      Yummy nuts - I love smoked paprika and it gave the almonds a nice smoky flavor. I had a problem making them that can be easily avoided. First choice - buy blanched almonds, and then this recipe should work just fine. However, I had almonds with skins, so I brought them to almost a boil, drained them, and the almonds popped right out of the skins. But, they must have gotten waterlogged, because it took a Much longer time for them to get crunchy. This is taking into consideration that hot nuts do not get crunchy until they cool - well, I cooled them but had to return them to the oven 2 times. Like I said, this can be totally avoided by using pre-blanched almonds. Hey - next time, I might even try it with the skins - though it would be a tad less elegant. Also, next time, I will start with even less than 1 T olive oil, as they were a bit greasy on the fingers. But, yummy, and very easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spiced Almonds for the Tapas Bar

    Serving Size: 1 (81 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 472.4
     
    Calories from Fat 376
    79%
    Total Fat 41.8 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1420.4 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 8.3 g
    33%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 16.0 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes