Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spice-Roasted Butternut Squash With Smoked Sweet Paprika Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spice-Roasted Butternut Squash With Smoked Sweet Paprika

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on November 21, 2010

      Holy crap. This is absolutely delicious. The spice, the way it cooks (so moist and tender inside). Love, love, love. I can't tell if I used smoked paprika (sweet Hungarian for sure, but the label is hand-written and lacking), and I definitely used LESS OLIVE OIL. Instead of 3 tbsp, I just used 3 tsp. I couldn't tell the difference, so why not save on calories/fat?

      I want to eat this every day for the rest of my life. Even then, I wouldn't be eating it often enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      Easy to make and delicious. No need to alter this recipe at all, as it's delicious as is.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      Great recipe. I didn't use smoked paprika but it still tasted great. I did need to add a sprinkling of salt to the finished product to enhance the flavor. We really liked it. We've been primal for a year now and it fits into our diet without modification so this recipe gets extra points for that!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      Not only was this recipe capable of actually getting my husband to eat and enjoy butternut squash, but it even got a, "Hey, I'd eat THIS again!" That comment is a 10 star comment coming from my husband.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      Just loved this dish. It is a great alternative to roasted potatoes. I didn't have smoked sweet paprika on hand but did have regular paprika and a grinder of smoked flavored sea salt in my cupboard. So, I used the regular paprika and replaced the onion salt with the smoked flavored sea salt. The smoked flavored sea salt is very tasty and is readily available in the spice isle of most supermarkets.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      This is AWESOME! I loved it, my husband loved it, I posted it on Facebook and friends made it. They loved it, their family and friends loved it. It's great for the holidays and/or potlucks too, since they are so different. Not to mention, they are great to snack on. Super good! The SMOKED paprika is key, sweet or hot, has to be smoked, just FYI.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I used 2 medium butternut squashes. Peeling was rather simple, I cut the squash in half, seeded, with cut side down, I cut off the ends and peeled with regular ole peeler… easy! I roasted earlier in the day and just put them in a dish, cover with foil and served at our Thanksgiving meal latter in the day. My DH kept saying, I don’t like butternut squash… but this is really good! The flavors were perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      Love, love, love. I was looking for a recipe that wasn't 'sweet' for my brother. Peeling the butternut is horrid, so I have found that wrapping in foil and baking for 15 minutes then cooling before peeling makes it SO much easier. This has become a weekly must for my family. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2014

      Using pre-cut squash from Costco, this recipe was a breeze! The adults like having squash with a savory seasoning instead of the more common sweet. The kids ate it, but didn't like if they came upon a spicier bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      Made this last night and what a nice recipe, easy to put together with a nice blend of spices. So easy and the colors are so bright and attractive. A nice way to serve Butternut Squash which is one of my favorite squashes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      I added some left over red and green peppers to this recipe. The dish looked beautiful. I loved the flavors, DH not so much. The leftovers the next day, cold right out of the fridge were fantatic. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      GENIUSSSSSSSSS. Smoked paprika with balsamic vinegar? Inspired combination. Made this for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit. Completely delicious. Enjoying it the day after cold. This is the new go-to roasted quash recipe. And how great to have a holiday recipe that you can cook on a skinny little flat pan because turkeys don't leave you much room for anything else. I put it in the oven at a lower temp with the turkey - no problem - it browned nicely, very forgiving and makes peeling and prepping a butternut squash totally worth it. (Hint: to make scooping out threads and seeds from winter squashes easy? Grapefruit spoon, helllooo) Thanks for posting this winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      SUPER YUMMY! I didn't have smoked paprika so I used Hungarian paprika. I used a scant t of black pepper, and since I had no onion salt, I used 1/3 salt and 2/3 onion powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      Fantastic! I could NOT stop eating this. I have never been a huge fan of squash, but this is absolutely delicious and will go in my frequently used recipe file. Any time I need to coat something with a blend of spices and oil, I put the mixture into a gallon-sized zip lock bag and rub it around to blend really well before adding whatever needs coating and mixing it all together inside the bag. I find this to be a lot easier and more effective at getting things evenly coated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      Perfect, simple, and so delicious. If you like that extra little pop of flavor, add a little kosher salt at the end. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      Love this! It's probably my first "non-sweet" squash recipe. I only used 1 TBL olive oil, versus 3 TBL, and it worked just fine. I will make this again and again this fall! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      These rock!!! Will definitely be making these on a regular basis

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      First time I made butternut squash. This recipe was easy and it turned out great! So delicious! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      ...not sure what happened. This was my first time cooking butternut squash. I followed the recipe exactly, yet the result was dry chunks of blah and even mashing some up with butter didn't help. Sorry, won't do this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spice-Roasted Butternut Squash With Smoked Sweet Paprika

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 168.4
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    37%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 10.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites