Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spice Mayonnaise Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spice Mayonnaise Cake

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2011

      This didn't fill up 1/4 of the 9x13 pan so I was worried it wouldn't come out right, but it was perfect. I used lite mayo and 1/2 sugar/1/2 Splenda and it was great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      The taste of this cake was wonderful. Slight texture problems, though; it fell in the center and was only about 1" thick in the middle (I used a 9x13 pan). It was so sticky and dense. I would like to try it again but not sure how to remedy - maybe a little less mayo. High marks for flavor and ease of prep. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      This cake is fabulous. I didn't have any eggs or butter and really was craving a simple flavorful easy cake. This one did the trick. The mayonnaise made it very moist and nice mixture of spices. It took me a whole 35 minutes from start to finish. I topped it with a simple vanilla and powdered sugar frosting while it was still a little warm and it made a nice smooth glazy frosting instead of anything too thick. Will definately make this cake again. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      Very good! Made for a potluck and didn't have any left to bring home! Will make again. Great recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      This was really good, moist, and full of flavor! I topped it with just a small amount of glaze of powdered sugar, almond milk, and vanilla extract. But it would've still been awesome without it. I used olive oil mayo, and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      I made this Wednesday night for homegroup, since I was all out of eggs. The cake was wonderful and no one would ever know there was mayo in it. This recipe is a life saver in a pinch :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      I wasn't so sure about mayonnaise in a cake, but this was wonderful and super simple to make. I took the advice of one of the other reviewers and did a simple little glaze from powdered sugar, milk and a little bit of vanilla to pour over top and it was great. Very moist and very tasty. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      My only regret is that there aren't more stars to give it!! I've made this cake at least a dozen times and just realized I never left a rating. From the first bite this became my favorite cake of all time!! I use Cream Cheese Icing (22932). Every single person who has tasted this has commented on how wonderful it is. 3 members of my family have started using Zaar just because of this recipe. Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2006

      Thought I would repost to let you know that the cake is the best spice cake I have ever had. I used Poor Man's Cooked Frosting Poor Man's Frosting to frost the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      This is such an easy recipe!!!!! I also made it as muffins and it tastes just as good. I've already been asked for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2006

      I made this cake last night, doubtful that it would taste good and worried that it would smell and taste of mayo. Well... I was wrong! It is very good and very moist! I sent most of it to work with my husband, and it is gone. It received compliments all around! It's definitely going in my "favorites" list!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2005

      I just had to make this cake ! The very first cake I ever baked on my own , all by myself , was a chocolate mayonnaise cake . I was about 10 or 11 and , I felt sooo grown up because my mother TRUSTED me to enough to do it on my own ! I still make that very same mayonnaise cake today . My copy of the recipe is tattered and stained from years of use but , is still one of my favorites ! This Spice Cake is very similar in ingredients so , I just knew I would love it !! It has a nice spice blend and tastes great ! I frosted it with plain white icing and we enjoyed every morsel ! I will be making this cake again and again , until my copy of this recipe is tattered and stained and joins my chocolate mayonnaise cake , side by side , in my old recipe box ! Thank You !!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2005

      I'll just leave comments as I made one big change (pan size), which led to problems, which were all my fault! :-) This is a lovely, tasty cake - so simple to make too! I was looking for ways to get rid of some lemon-flavoured mayonnaise and thought, well, many spice cakes call for lemon juice, so it can't be that bad. And it wasn't! The cake tastes lovely, I love the hint of lemon that the mayonnaise added! The cake also has a wonderful, soft texture. My problem was that I don't have a 9 x 13 pan, so I used a bigger pan and shortened the baking time. Not good! I ended up with quite a thin layer of cake that doesn't hold together all that well and was quite difficult to remove from the pan. I've basically been tasting crumbs. ;-) But as stated, it was all my fault! I will certainly give this cake another try when I get the right pan - and some regular mayonnaise, too! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spice Mayonnaise Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1043 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3027.9
     
    Calories from Fat 739
    24%
    Total Fat 82.1 g
    126%
    Saturated Fat 12.6 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 61.1 mg
    20%
    Sodium 4201.0 mg
    175%
    Total Carbohydrate 552.6 g
    184%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    37%
    Sugars 316.4 g
    1265%
    Protein 28.4 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites