14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This didn't fill up 1/4 of the 9x13 pan so I was worried it wouldn't come out right, but it was perfect. I used lite mayo and 1/2 sugar/1/2 Splenda and it was great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eightball1751 January 22, 2011

The taste of this cake was wonderful. Slight texture problems, though; it fell in the center and was only about 1" thick in the middle (I used a 9x13 pan). It was so sticky and dense. I would like to try it again but not sure how to remedy - maybe a little less mayo. High marks for flavor and ease of prep. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr March 28, 2009

This cake is fabulous. I didn't have any eggs or butter and really was craving a simple flavorful easy cake. This one did the trick. The mayonnaise made it very moist and nice mixture of spices. It took me a whole 35 minutes from start to finish. I topped it with a simple vanilla and powdered sugar frosting while it was still a little warm and it made a nice smooth glazy frosting instead of anything too thick. Will definately make this cake again. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Umm Mazen March 03, 2007

Very good! Made for a potluck and didn't have any left to bring home! Will make again. Great recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 313014 November 10, 2013

This was really good, moist, and full of flavor! I topped it with just a small amount of glaze of powdered sugar, almond milk, and vanilla extract. But it would've still been awesome without it. I used olive oil mayo, and it turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cailoisa January 21, 2013

I made this Wednesday night for homegroup, since I was all out of eggs. The cake was wonderful and no one would ever know there was mayo in it. This recipe is a life saver in a pinch :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup June 18, 2010

I wasn't so sure about mayonnaise in a cake, but this was wonderful and super simple to make. I took the advice of one of the other reviewers and did a simple little glaze from powdered sugar, milk and a little bit of vanilla to pour over top and it was great. Very moist and very tasty. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blain October 11, 2007

My only regret is that there aren't more stars to give it!! I've made this cake at least a dozen times and just realized I never left a rating. From the first bite this became my favorite cake of all time!! I use Cream Cheese Icing (22932). Every single person who has tasted this has commented on how wonderful it is. 3 members of my family have started using Zaar just because of this recipe. Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherrirod June 30, 2007

Thought I would repost to let you know that the cake is the best spice cake I have ever had. I used Poor Man's Cooked Frosting Poor Man's Frosting to frost the cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reikiwmn123 August 13, 2006

This is such an easy recipe!!!!! I also made it as muffins and it tastes just as good. I've already been asked for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamamoe July 21, 2006
Spice Mayonnaise Cake