Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spice Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spice Cake

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2002

      Very good indeed. Great if you don't want a sweet heavy chocolatety cake. Got even better the next day, nice and moist but not heavy. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2003

      This was a nice moist spice cake,will omit the nuts next time as my family prefers spice cakes without. I added the spices from Early American Spice Cake, which was also good but on the dry side. This cake is very moist and not heavy. Made it with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting # 26442 which is very good with this type of cake !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      Very good, but a little heavy on the cloves, even though I followed the advice/opinions of others and decreased the amount from 1 1/4 tsp to just 1 tsp. That was about the only spice we could taste. HOWEVER, I don't want to dissuade anyone from trying this recipe! Just that for our tastes, the clove was heavy, and next time I make it, I'll try 1/2 tsp and see how that works out. We topped our cake with a basic cream cheese icing, and as an overall, the cake texture and moistness were fine, and it was easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      just got done making this cake for my DH's birthday, since spice cake is his favorite and it is delicious. I only used 1 tsp of cloves like other reviewers requested and made a homemade cream cheese frosting. Delicious. Thanks for a great and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      I made this cake last night and it turned out fantastic! I baked in a bundt cake pan and drizzled with a brown sugar glaze and it was delicious. I can't wait to try a piece today since many reviewers said its better the next day! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      This cake is now a family favorite. I love the texture and you can adjust the spices to appeal to your taste. For example, I didn't have ground cloves so just added a bit more allspice and cinnamon. I served this for my birthday a few weeks ago with my mom's famous caramel icing and now have to make it for my son's birthday today because he's been dreaming about having it again. A very simple and delicious recipe. Thanks for sharing Mini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      This cake was wonderful. Very moist. I used a cream cheese glaze on it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      This turned out wonderfully! I took the advice of some of the reviewers and cut the cloves down to one tsp. I also used gluten-free flour (and a tsp of xantham gum) but it tasted just like a regular spice cake. The cake is even better a couple of days later as it became even moister.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      This cake was not sweet at all. I made it because I was craving spice cake and had all the ingredients in my pantry. I am not sure if it would be better if you add more sugar. I even iced it with cream cheese...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      I thought this was pretty good, but a little heavy on the cloves. I plan to make this again and will try 1 tsp cloves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      DELICIOUS CAKE!! I decided to try this recipe because it looked simple (not mixed with pineapple, pumpkin or apple) and called for almost all the ingredients I had in my kitchen . I omitted the nuts (personal preference) and doubled the rest of the spices as I was fresh out of allspice and wanted to make sure it had enough flavor. The batter seemed thin but a perfectly moist cake came out of the oven. I finished it with a cream cheese frosting recipe I use on carrot cake and this cake was gone in no time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      What a wonderful spice cake !! No icing even needed. I did make a quick confection icing just to drizzle over but it really does not need it. Smells wonderful as it bakes too!!!! My DH loved it as do I .Cant wait to have it with my morning coffee.Thanks Mini this goes in my recipe box!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      I was looking for a carrot cake recipe that did not call for pineapple or 4 eggs. I used this one and added 3 cups shredded carrots. I omitted the all spice and cloves and added 1 tsp vanilla. I used an 8x8 pan. It turned out terrific. I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      I enjoyed this cake as we love simple spice cakes. Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2006

      Good cake!!!!! It was tasty, but not very thick - next time I'll double the recipe or make it in a smaller pan. I used cream cheese frosting #55530 - great combo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2004

      This cake came out wonderful. I used pecans instead of walnuts, and topped with cream cheese icing. I will be adding it to our Thanksgiving menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2004

      This was an easy recipe on a day I had limited ingredients on hand and my DH wanted spice cake. I was a little alarmed at how thin the batter was, but it baked up fine. Thanks for posting such a tasty cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spice Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (111 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 377.6
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    46%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 23.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 241.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 25.3 g
    101%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites