10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are amazing! I have never baked with spelt and thought I would try this recipe... I didn't really know what to expect and I was so happy with the results. I used the applesauce and real eggs as well as ground ginger in place of nutmeg and about 1.5 bananas. Also didn't have raisins so I used dried cranberries. The flavour and texture are so good I can't believe there's no oil in this recipe. I will definitely make these again... and probably double the batch!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian Baker March 20, 2008

These turned out great! I had to leave out the ground flax seeds as we didn't have any, but I added a lot of extras such as shredded carrot, crystalized ginger, dried cranberries, nuts and raisins. Also subbed soy milk for the buttermilk. Thanks for posting, would make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker September 08, 2007

These were good but mine were dry by the second day (properly stored, even). I'm going to give them another shot since they worked for others and they were so good on the first day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgia Charlotte August 02, 2007

These were wonderful and such a treat now that we've discovered we can tolerate spelt flour. Stayed moist for several days.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackandfiona May 26, 2007

Moist and flavorful muffins. I used eggs (rather than egg substitute) and applesauce (rather than yogurt). I skipped the optional raisins and nuts, but added 2 heaping tablespoons of chopped crystallized ginger along with about half of a chopped Bosc pear. Instead of topping with additional flax meal, I sprinkled turbinado sugar over the tops. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ March 20, 2007

Great flavor and hearty texture. I ground the flax seed in my coffee grinder - easy! Took these to a book club and most everyone enjoyed them. I did not have a problem with moistness - stored in a zip lock bag.

2nd batch review: made exactly as written with nuts and raisins. It made 18 muffins which I had to bake for an additional 5 minutes as the middles were very dough-y and dense. I still like the flavor, but wanted to make sure readers understand that these are in no way "fluffy" muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky February 21, 2012

Yum, good spelt muffins! I liked the honey addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO January 30, 2012

These are the best muffins I believe I have ever had! I added sugar free chocolate chips and walnuts...yum! I am trying it with pumpkin and chocolate chips next.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smplelife October 29, 2011

I love these muffins! I used almond milk instead of buttermilk, and sunflower/ pumpkin seeds instead of nuts. I also grated a peeled apple and a large carrot into the mix so that they were more like morning glory muffins. This recipe is great as a base to add all sorts of things... and very good *as is*.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ederkatz April 26, 2011

I have to say that they didnt turn out very moist for me. The tops are hard, and they are dense, not fluffy. I used cranberries instead of raisins, and almond milk instead of buttermilk. I left out the eggs, and increased the applesauce. I was really hoping to rate it better. Any advice for me? What can I improve?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil_Mommy November 11, 2009
Spelt Muffins