Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spekkoek (Thousand Layer Spice Cake) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spekkoek (Thousand Layer Spice Cake)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2011

      Love this cake! Super easy to make and delicious. I make it for my boyfriend....it makes me look way more talented in the kitchen than I really am! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      DD is making this, by request, for a classmate's high school graduation party -- and getting paid for it! Her test run, pictured, has eight dense, springy, spongy layers and a delightfully balanced rich spicy flavor. It was fun to make and fun to watch and a true pleasure to eat. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      This cake was hit at a recent potluck rijsttaffel! I made it exactly according to the recipe and it worked out beautifully. My broiler seemed to be quite powerful so each layer took only about 30 seconds instead of two minutes. So keep an eye on that cake!

      The layered look is so impressive - I'll definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      I just tried this cake, it was exceptional and fun to make, I used homemade plum jam in the middle and a raspberry vodka syrup on top , my guests devoured and raved on and on about it . ( the syrup came from Sobeys ) Joyce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      I halved the amount (although I did loose track of how many eggs I used - it may have been 6!) and made it in a 7 inch tin It's got a very dainty taste! Lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      My mother in-law makes a few of these every year for Christmas and gives them as gifts! She says its easiest for her to bake the layers while using a chair in front of the oven, that it saves her back!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      This cake had such an unusual, elegant appearance and wonderfully smooth texture, somewhere between a good custard and a pound cake! It was absolutely delicious and impressed my whole family, though it was actually quite easy to make and took much less time than I expected.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      I`m giving this a 5 star even though I didn`t make this! I made my recipe Spekkoek (Lapis Legit) that I found on line and did a couple of changes. But I just know this is very good and very similar to mine. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spekkoek (Thousand Layer Spice Cake)

    Serving Size: 1 (1078 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3663.8
     
    Calories from Fat 2102
    57%
    Total Fat 233.6 g
    359%
    Saturated Fat 132.8 g
    664%
    Cholesterol 2348.0 mg
    782%
    Sodium 2493.3 mg
    103%
    Total Carbohydrate 322.1 g
    107%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 218.0 g
    872%
    Protein 78.2 g
    156%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes