Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Speedy Spinach Pesto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Speedy Spinach Pesto

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2010

      Very good sauce for pasta and pizzas. I found I needed a good amount more salt and pepper than the recipe calls for. Also, because spinach doesn't have a hint of sweetness the way basil can, I added a drop or two (literally) of Vanilla. That just about did it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      Sorry to keep picking on you but your recipes are soooo good. I don't have an herb garden and to buy those little plastic packaged herbs at the market is so expensive when you need two cups. Spinach is the favored veggie in our house so I thought, "why not?" This was really terrific served tossed with some linguine and grilled shrimp.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      Beautiful pesto!! My flatmate thought the taste lf the garlic was quite strong but I think it was delicious. It mixes well with the pasta...even the whole grain one. I didn't have enough chestnuts so i used half of the required amount and cashew nuts for the other half. Finally, instead of using fresh parsley, i used some frozen one i already had.<br/>I was very very pleased. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

    • on December 29, 2012

      It was great and adjusted according to available ingredients and personal taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      Tasty. I think it would be very good served with chips or crackers. I used it on pasta and the flavor wasn't as intense as I'd like. I needed more salt & pepper. My boyfriend thought it was a tad dry, no doubt since it uses less oil than most pestos. A good recipe that I'll make again, with a few tweaks. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Great change of pace. Really liked the use of walnuts which shine oh so nicely against all the other ingredients. .Also like that this has less added oil then most other pesto recipes. Made as written using the walnut option and used in both Nif's Grilled Tomatoes With Pesto and Cheese and Roasted Pesto Beets. Will be making more real soon. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Loved this recipe. It's a little wetter than most basil pesto which is a nice alternative depending on what you plan to use it for. Great way to sneak spinach past kids who don't care for it. Fortunately mine love it which made this recipe an even bigger success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      I wanted to use up some parsley, and found this recipe. I was a bit skeptical about the lack of basil in the recipe, but after I tasted it, I was very pleasantly surprised. I used it to make Portabella Pesto Bruschetta and it turned out really well. Thank you for making me go out of my "safe" zone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      MMMMmmm I'm addicted! Reduced the garlic slightly (it had a bit of a bite with the recommended amount, if you like that) used fresh basil instead of parsley, and toasted the pine nuts before adding. Just adjust seasonings to taste. I can't wait to try this as many ways as I can. I love the color too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

    • on December 23, 2008

      A tasty and healthy spread, with a cheery green color. The proportions were off for my taste; it probably depends on the specific fresh ingredients. We're usually big garlic fans, but this was way to much. More nuts would have been good, and I did need to add more liquid. I used lightly oiled plastic wrap over the top of the pesto (on the pesto, not up at the top of the container) and didn't have any problem with discoloration.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      Thanks so much. I couldn't find basil so this fit the bill. So good I could eat it with chips! I love garlic!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      I was given a huge bag of spinach leaves by a grower & my basil wasn't quite ready yet so this pesto recipe was a great find. Tastes very yummy. I forgot to drizzle some olive oil over the top & mine got a pink coating after about 10 days which scared me so I ended up tossing the rest of it out, sigh! To future reviewers, don't forget the olive oil coating!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      I made exactly the same recipe last week, but it was from Rachael Ray's cookbook and was scaled down from this serving size. Since it contains the almost the same ingredients, I feel that I can rate this accurately...5 stars all the way. I've always bought my pesto, but this way is so much better for you and so easy to. I can have fresh pesto made before the pasta cooks! No more store-bought pesto for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      amazing. This is just the recipe I have been looking for. It's such an easy meal. I used it on cheese stuffed tortellinis for dinner and then I put it on a tortilla with turkey and some wrap fixings and it's awesome for lunch. I used pistachio nuts which I think gives it a great flavor and are much cheaper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      This was just lovely and so easy to make. I had a large amount of prewashed baby spinach to use up- so this recipe was just what we needed. Tossed it into cheese tortellinis and grape tomatoes. Yumm! I love that there is not a lot of oil in the recipe, as there often is in pesto. Thanks for posting, would make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Speedy Spinach Pesto

    Serving Size: 1 (211 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 383.8
     
    Calories from Fat 327
    85%
    Total Fat 36.4 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 11.0 mg
    3%
    Sodium 515.5 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites