Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Specialty Soup Substitutes - Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Specialty Soup Substitutes - Cream

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on September 25, 2012

      Great recipe! I only use canned soups for casseroles, etc. so this is handy to have, since I have most of the ingredients for all of the varieties on hand. I made the cream of chicken tonight and will be using them all eventually. Remember, if you want to use these as a bowl of soup, you still have to add water or milk, these are the CONDENSED versions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      I used the Cream of Chicken for Creamy Hash Brown Potato Casserole and Cheddar Cheese Soup (substituting Cheddar with Velveeta) for Easiest Ever Mac and Cheese (Campbells). They both came out great :) . I also keep a copy of this in my kitchen for quick reference. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      I tried the tomato soup, and while the flavor is nice, it was much too thick. I ended up using double the tomato juice and it was still too thick. We ate it anyway. If I try this again, I will make half the amount of the base.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      Using this recipe, I've made cream of chicken, cream of mushroom, and cheddar cheese soups for cooking. It has saved me so much money and the results are spectacular. Never going back to buying high sodium, mystery ingredient-filled canned soups!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      This was Great. I made the Cream of Mushroom variation. This turned out better than canned! Thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Thank you for posting this. I was looking for other "mushroom" recipes and this is perfect for our favorite soup. My DH cannot have Campbell's or any other variety of "canned" cream of ___ soups. The only thing we can figure is that they have a preservative that tears up his tummy. This will fit the bill to eliminate the "other things" they put in that are not nice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      I used this to make my Chicken Noodle Souperole because I needed an extra can of soup and was out. I tried the chicken version and made with skim milk. It turned out delicious and was nice and quick. I'll use this instead of canned soup from now on. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      The "nutrition facts" are useless for this recipe, because they include ALL the ingredients for ALL the variations!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      I used this recipe for cream of chicken soup for a casserole and it was easy and delicious. I used everything as stated except added 1 c milk and 1 tsp of chicken base since I didn't have chicken broth on hand. Can't wait to try the other varieties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      So glad to have this recipe! With being gluten free, those cream of anything soups are out of the question, and so were a lot of my casserole recipes. With a little tweaking (GF flour and stock), my family and I can now enjoy those classics again! Thanks for sharing!<br/>***EDIT*** I have since made the tomato condensed as written, and should have only had to add 1-11/2 cups liquid, but it was still way too thick. It took 3 cups of liquid to turn the condensed into the consistency of canned once thinned. It also needed a slightly richer tomato flavor. Next time, I will start with only half the base, and add tomato paste and sauce rather than juice. I will play with it and let you know. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2012

      Excellent recipe for cream of anything soups, not using any milk powder but fresh milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      I can't thank you enough for posting this recipe saver!!! Just this week there was a report posted on the net about avoiding canned soups. The cans are lined with a type of plastic that exposure to can cause heart disease ( and here I thought it was all the sodium in the canned soups that was so unhealthy). I don't use canned soups often, but I do have a few recipes that we love that I thought I wouldn't be making any more. So far I've used the chicken and the mushroom and made it 2% organic milk. Who knew you could used a cream of anything soup and have it be healthy. Thank you many times over!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      So glad to find this! I happened upon it from someone else's page. Hubby is lactose intolerant so I have avoided recipes that call for soup. Now I have an alternative!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      OMG, thanks so much for sharing, never again will I buy canned soups. Used the cream of chicken and it was good enough to eat.......lol. Thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      Loved this! I just started making my own mixes and saw this recipe and figured I can make my own soups as I use a lot of canned soup. I made the cheese soup and it was wonderful. I loved knowing what was in my soup. It was so easy and quick to make. I will be making the other variations. The soup was nice and thick. Update: Just made the cream of chicken- also very good and so easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Wow, I am SO glad I found this! What an easy way to get the "soup" mix, good...and easy on the budget too. Thanks for posting unmistakable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      This recipe is AMAZING! I made the cream of mushroom tonight and used Smart Balance Light, skim milk, and whole wheat flour...Then smothered the soup over filets of salmon. DELISH! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      This is a great recipe. I made the cream of mushroom and used Smart Balance Light and 1% milk. I also added a bit more mushroom, splash of white wine and some thyme. This is a keeper, will use often as I really dislike the canned soups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Is the recipe as written the equivalent of the CONDENSED version of these soups? BTW, thanks for sharing the variations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      this is such a great idea - fresher, not manufactured food - try kerry irish gold butter - even if it's more expensive - it is delicious and well worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Specialty Soup Substitutes - Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (1422 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1250.2
     
    Calories from Fat 773
    61%
    Total Fat 85.9 g
    132%
    Saturated Fat 53.5 g
    267%
    Cholesterol 270.4 mg
    90%
    Sodium 2088.3 mg
    87%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.6 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 11.0 g
    44%
    Protein 50.4 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes