9 Reviews

Special is right! I thought I'd try this exactly as written even though the previous reviewer really didn't like the pepper. I'm glad I made a full batch because I'm going to use it in all my sweet pumpkin recipes from now on! I used it in my Spiced Pumpkin Cupcakes and they turned out far more delicious than they ever have with store bought pumpkin pie seasoning. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soursugar November 18, 2008

I would not have believed it possible until I tried this seasoning! It is, without a doubt, one of the best pumpkin pie spices I have ever used! Thank you, thank you, Mary, for posting this gem. Needless to say, I used it to make the Hillvilla Pumpkin Pie. This will stay in my cupboard instead of the bought pie spice. Made for Fall 2008 PAC.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter September 25, 2008

This is a great pumpkin pie seasoning, very different, but delicious! I used it in Crustless Pumpkin Pie Recipe #4683811. I crave this now! Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nane November 30, 2007

My grandmother used to make the worlds best pumpkin pie. Even watching her when she was in her ripe old age of 92 I could never EVER duplicate the spices. I was always asked to get something she needed ..lol This recipe is DEAD ON. THANK YOU SO TERRIBLY MUCH.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyomingMoonDust November 22, 2007

I don't keep commercial pumpkin spice around, and usually just add a little of everything it has in it to my baked goods. But I will be keeping a jar of this one around! I used it in pumpkin bread and it was super. Because of the amount of salt in this, I omitted the salt in my bread recipe. Looking forward to trying the pie during the holidays. Made for Fall 2011 PAC game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey October 23, 2011

I made this for the first time a week ago, and it was just delicious! I cut down the recipe to make just 1 pie to start, and now that I know how yummy this is, I'll mix up a whole batch! Thank you, mailbag mary, and Merry Christmas!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KansasChef December 25, 2008

I am sorry, but I did not like this at all. I could taste the pepper and it seemed to stop any of the other flavors coming through. I served it to four others and they did not like it either.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Possum October 30, 2008

Mary, I just posted a 5-star review of your pumpkin pie and thought I should include one for the seasoning mix. It's great. And for those of you who try this, please don't omit the pepper. You can't pick it out when you taste the pie but it makes a real difference. I used freshly ground black pepper and freshly grated nutmeg. It was perfect. Janet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski October 12, 2007
Special Pumpkin Pie Seasoning for Hillvilla Pumpkin Pie