Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Special Occasion Dog Bones / Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Special Occasion Dog Bones / Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2006

      Looks like a lot of fun...but just a quick reminder where two different medical conditions would make these contra-indicated. First one: allergies...so many of our canine friends suffer from food allergies that manifest as ear and skin infections (can also have respiratory or GI symptoms). Wheat is a common allergen. So if you have a dog with undiagnosed skin and ear problems, probably better pass on these. Second: obesity. The nutrient breakdown did not include the peanut butter, but I can assure you these are very high in both fat and calories, so if "Max" is a little portly, better try a light version or skip all together. OK...climbing down off my soap box...for a large number of dogs this recipe will be just fine and perhaps even better than the pre-made treats with unknown fillers and low quality ingredients, but as always, there is no one-size fits all...so be sure that your pet qualifies for this special little treat..then go ahead and use in moderation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2012

      Baking powder is apparently bad (toxic) for dogs. I would omit the baking powder if you are making these

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      Made these today for our Husky as he just had some minor surgery yesterday...he loved them! I also tried them on our 15 year old finniky poodle and he gobbled them up. Needless to say, I won't waste my money on store bought anymore; these were super easy to make and a super hit with Tonka and Pismo...thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Made these for my 7 mo. puppy today and she loves them. The recipe was nice and easy to make....and used ingredients I had on hand. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      My dog was trying to get to the dough even before it was baked. This a very easy recipe to mix up and roll out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      My dog is a VERY picky treat eater. He normally won't eat anything crunchy in treat form. These, as long as they were broken up into small pieces, he ate with gusto. My son really liked the dough, and I have to say, the biscuits really are pretty good! LOL! Thanks for something simple, easy and nutritious for my dog!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      I don't have a dog, but I made a batch of these for some friends who do have dogs, and they got RAVE reviews! They both said their dogs were whining and prancing trying to get to them. :) I'm making a batch tonight as a halloween present for my mom's Pug. Great recipe--thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      You are wise to get out of the way of our Labrador's tail when he sees one of these approaching--he has a big strong tail and there suddenly is a LOT of wagging going on! :) I used graham flour (coarser grind than regular whole-wheat), and it gave them a nice texture (yes, I took a bite--they're not half bad-LOL). These were fun to make, and our dog loves them. And he loves you for posting the recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      made a double batch of these this morning so quick. Found bone-shaped coolie cutter for 79 cents. Pup was sleeping but the smell of them baking brought him to the kitchen were he drooled till they were cooled. I rvrn tried one. Like a peanut butter biscotti LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2005

      WOW -- these are so quick and easy to make. To further simplify things, I rolled the dough into small balls, placed on the cookie sheet, and flattened with a fork like you're making peanut butter cookies. Worked great and made this super quick. My golden retriever loves them!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Special Occasion Dog Bones / Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (28 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 54.2
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    13%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 69.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    unsalted natural-style peanut butter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites