65 Reviews

What an excellent and different take on green bean casserole - while everyone liked this recipe and I will most definitely make it again, my DD can't give up her "standard" green bean casserole so I'll have to make that for her sometime soon. I did use some other reviewers suggestions and added 2 cloves of garlic and sliced mushrooms while sauteing the onions, used 1/2 swiss 1/2 mozzarella cheese and used french fried onion rings on top as, personally, I don't like corn flakes and since a couple of the reviewers said they didn't stay crunchy wanted that texture for the casserole. Thanks so much for posting Divinemom5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gagoo November 23, 2012

Just made this for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow. :) I added a clove of garlic and used Monterrey jack cheese instead of Swiss. I also mixed half of the cheese in the casserole and used the other half to top the dish. I took a little bite (gotta make sure it's OK to serve the family!) and it was out of this world delicious. What a great holiday recipe! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ November 21, 2012

It was a nice change from the basic traditional green bean casserole. I had to broil the top to get the corn flakes crispy. The texture could have been creamier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spencer #2 January 01, 2012

I think that this was a great recipe but very different than the original recipe with cream of mushroom. Everyone liked this but I think I would use a different cheese next time because the swiss flavor was very over powering. I will try this again and make my own adjustments.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lildido921 April 26, 2011

This was an awesome recipe. I am used to the regular g.b. casserole with french fried onions, and am not a huge favorite of it. Also this year, I have an exchange student with Celiac's disease, which means no wheat, and so this was the best recipe. I only make 2 changes- I used mozzarella cheese instead of swiss, only because I didn't have swiss, but I think it still turned out great and I used 2 teaspoons of all-purpose gluten-free flour. Thanks for the awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma Kate December 25, 2008

A really nice change from the usual green bean casserole. We loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Likkel December 24, 2008

Most of my family (including me) did not care for this at all. The sour cream was overpowering and did not go well with the green beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurarayman December 18, 2008

This was a good recipe that could be better with work. I too added garlic and sliced mushrooms when sauteeing the onion. I used 2 12 oz. bags of frozen thin green beans, microwaved them al dente, then finished the recipe. Next time, will add the cheese on top only, as there were hard spots in the casserole. Will also add french fried onions to the top only in the last 15 minutes or so, as they burned. Will try again and re-rate at a later date. Thank you Divinemom!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debberd2 December 02, 2008

It was good and my guests enjoyed it. I didn't have corn flakes so I topped it with bread crumbs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gobruijns November 28, 2008
Special Green Bean Casserole