Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Special Green Bean Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Special Green Bean Casserole

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2008

      Delicious! The swiss really makes this dish. My husband and I made this with a few other "trial run Thanksgiving" dishes and it was the clear winner. We added some of those french fried onions sprinkled over the top during the last five minutes of baking and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Terrific! I also added garlic after reading the other reviews. I don't keep cereal on hand, so I broke up some bread loaf end pieces and baked until toasted, using 1c of those instead. After topping with the toasted pieces I drizzled a bit of melted butter over before placing in the oven. Turned out really great, and it's so easy! I'll definitely be making agian.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      WOW!!!!!!! This is so good. Love the swiss cheese with this, really adds a lot of flavor. Did add some fresh garlic to the onions when I sauted them. Did use an 8x8 square dish to cook this in. The 9x13 was way to big for this recipe. Went really well with our baked ham. Thanks so much for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Found this recipe to be delicious! I did add waterchestnuts and then topped with the french fried onions. It really went over great! I noticed I didn't get the stars on the review -- 5 star rating from DH, kids and myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I made this last night and it was a little on the bland side for us. Maybe it's just me but I just don't see swiss cheese in a green bean casserole-maybe it was the cornflakes...I'm not sure but thanks for the recipe just the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      I am so glad I found this recipe! We were having company over for a nice pre-Christmas dinner with sliced heavenly ham as the main entree. My husband wanted the same old green bean casserole to serve with it but I was so burned out on it (cream of mushroom soup version). This variation was delicious and this will be MY version from now on. Thank you for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Super Yum! I made this for thanksgiving and EVERYONE loved it! I added adobo for some garlic flavor and it was absolutely perfect. Thanks for a winning recipe - it will be on my list of holiday side dishes to make from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      So.. I'm giving this 5 stars as about half of my dinner guests raved about a 'kicked up version' of a classic and would never go back to their own recipes. That being said, there was an equal number of people who preferred the traditional 'cream of something soupy' version. During holidays like Thanksgiving, I think it becomes a matter of nostagia - rather than taste for some folks... bummer for them!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

    • on November 23, 2007

      I had this for Thanksgiving along with many other dishes and this was all they were talking about. I made two substitutions though, Fresh green beans slightly boiled and French's fried onions. Came out perfect! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I am not sure what I could have done wrong but my family and friends did not like this casserole. My husband even complained that it had a "sour" or "spoiled" taste to it. I'll try it again with a smaller batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      I thought this was really yummy~~my hubby likes the traditional green bean casserole better, but I'm giving it five stars anyway!! :O) Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      I made this last year on Thanksgiving. It was a HUGE hit with my family. I made it again for Christmas. The first time I made it, I used the swiss cheese and just added some sauteed mushrooms. At Christmas, I tried it with cheddar cheese and added mushrooms that time, too. The cheddar cheese version was great, but I find it is the swiss cheese that makes the dish so very, very special. This will forever be my favorite green bean casserole. Many thanks to Divinemom5 for submitting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      awesome! AS A YOUNG CHEF I THINK THIS RECIPE WILL B QUITE EASY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      My husband gets freaked out when I dump a can of cream of mushroom soup into a casserole so he ABSOLUTELY LOVED it when I served this dish in place of the traditional green bean casserole. What a delicious combination of ingredients!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      I think this recipe must be calling for two of those giant cans of green beans. When I make this, I use the same ingredients listed, but I use 6 (normal-size) cans of french style green beans. We also put the swiss cheese on top instead of mixed in and then add the crushed corn flakes (mixed with 2 tbl. unsalted butter.) I also suggest using unsalted butter for the entire recipe because there is a lot of salt in the green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      Very, very good- the sour cream blends so nicely with the swiss. I'll add a little more beans next time and maybe try using fresh ones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      i tried this as a test run for my first thanksgiving dinner. my mother always made it with cream of mushroom soup but both dh and i hate mushrooms. this was so good that i'll feel confident serving it to my family. thanks for the awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2005

      I changed this recipe a little bit. I omitted the onion, because I don't like onions, and I changed the swiss cheese to cheddar because I prefer cheddar. This is now my favorite green bean casserole!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2005

      I so love this variation of the classic green bean casserole. Like others, I added mushroom and garlic to the onion saute. I don't measure too much for seasonings but just used a dash of sugar. My whole family loves this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Special Green Bean Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (271 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 244.1
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    54%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 43.6 mg
    14%
    Sodium 888.5 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 11.6 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes