64 Reviews

Excellent! A definite winner at our house. I too added some garlic, a can of mushroom slices and topped off with a can of french fried onions.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rick B(2) December 11, 2003

Was a great addition to our meal. The fried onions, sour cream and swiss cheese give it a great taste. I topped it with a few small pieces of butter and a layer of breadcrumbs over that. It was pretty and tasty. Garlic is a recommended addition.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FarAwayLea November 29, 2003

We used frozen green beans, that we soften by soaking them in water for 5 minutes, they came out perfectly cooked after baking. This dish is so nice and creamy. Love the crunch of the corn flakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
May I Have That Recipe July 15, 2014

This was tasty! I liked it better than the traditional green bean casserole with the canned soup (and I love that!) I'm allergic to onion, so I left that out and added sliced mushrooms which were the perfect addition. The Swiss cheese was a bit chewy as it doesn't melt as nicely as other cheeses but I don't think I'd change it because the flavor was excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kllywlmt February 15, 2014

Easy to make and delicious!!! Since I did not have cornflakes, I used crushed Ritz crackers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Music Heather January 01, 2014

Yum! I made a couple of changes to suit what I had on hand. Halved the recipe, using 15 oz. frozen whole green beans which I precooked in the microwave (1/4 cup water, 3 minutes covered, then uncovered 3 minutes). Used lowfat organic sour cream and 1 cup crispy onions (from Costco) instead of corn flakes. Baked in an 11x7 dish. Really flavorful and deliciously good, and I hate that bland traditional green bean casserole. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 31, 2013

Delicious and pretty easy. I looked for a recipe without condensed canned soup because you can't get really get it here, I do make a substitute for it sometimes but it is nicer to have something that avoids it all together. I made two changes, I added a bit of garlic powder and I used fried onions instead of cornflakes (only because I discovered my cornflakes weren't 100% peanut free and one of our guests has a peanut allergy.) I will try it again with cornflakes next time because I like them on green bean casserole. :) Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Girl December 01, 2013

I wasn't to sure this would be the right recipie to try out when having dinner guests over, so to make sure it didn't come out to 'simple' I made it using defrosted frozen green beans and 2 cups of fresh mushrooms.
For the topping, I put the cornflakes in a plastic bag and crushed them a bit to downsize them, and then mixed in a handfuls of French fried onions - everything turned out wonderful!

Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunray123gmxde November 26, 2012

What an excellent and different take on green bean casserole - while everyone liked this recipe and I will most definitely make it again, my DD can't give up her "standard" green bean casserole so I'll have to make that for her sometime soon. I did use some other reviewers suggestions and added 2 cloves of garlic and sliced mushrooms while sauteing the onions, used 1/2 swiss 1/2 mozzarella cheese and used french fried onion rings on top as, personally, I don't like corn flakes and since a couple of the reviewers said they didn't stay crunchy wanted that texture for the casserole. Thanks so much for posting Divinemom5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gagoo November 23, 2012
Special Green Bean Casserole