Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Special Green Bean Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Special Green Bean Casserole

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2003

      Excellent! A definite winner at our house. I too added some garlic, a can of mushroom slices and topped off with a can of french fried onions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2003

      Was a great addition to our meal. The fried onions, sour cream and swiss cheese give it a great taste. I topped it with a few small pieces of butter and a layer of breadcrumbs over that. It was pretty and tasty. Garlic is a recommended addition.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2014

      We used frozen green beans, that we soften by soaking them in water for 5 minutes, they came out perfectly cooked after baking. This dish is so nice and creamy. Love the crunch of the corn flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2014

    • on February 15, 2014

      This was tasty! I liked it better than the traditional green bean casserole with the canned soup (and I love that!) I'm allergic to onion, so I left that out and added sliced mushrooms which were the perfect addition. The Swiss cheese was a bit chewy as it doesn't melt as nicely as other cheeses but I don't think I'd change it because the flavor was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      Easy to make and delicious!!! Since I did not have cornflakes, I used crushed Ritz crackers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      Yum! I made a couple of changes to suit what I had on hand. Halved the recipe, using 15 oz. frozen whole green beans which I precooked in the microwave (1/4 cup water, 3 minutes covered, then uncovered 3 minutes). Used lowfat organic sour cream and 1 cup crispy onions (from Costco) instead of corn flakes. Baked in an 11x7 dish. Really flavorful and deliciously good, and I hate that bland traditional green bean casserole. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      Delicious and pretty easy. I looked for a recipe without condensed canned soup because you can't get really get it here, I do make a substitute for it sometimes but it is nicer to have something that avoids it all together. I made two changes, I added a bit of garlic powder and I used fried onions instead of cornflakes (only because I discovered my cornflakes weren't 100% peanut free and one of our guests has a peanut allergy.) I will try it again with cornflakes next time because I like them on green bean casserole. :) Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      I wasn't to sure this would be the right recipie to try out when having dinner guests over, so to make sure it didn't come out to 'simple' I made it using defrosted frozen green beans and 2 cups of fresh mushrooms.
      For the topping, I put the cornflakes in a plastic bag and crushed them a bit to downsize them, and then mixed in a handfuls of French fried onions - everything turned out wonderful!

      Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      What an excellent and different take on green bean casserole - while everyone liked this recipe and I will most definitely make it again, my DD can't give up her "standard" green bean casserole so I'll have to make that for her sometime soon. I did use some other reviewers suggestions and added 2 cloves of garlic and sliced mushrooms while sauteing the onions, used 1/2 swiss 1/2 mozzarella cheese and used french fried onion rings on top as, personally, I don't like corn flakes and since a couple of the reviewers said they didn't stay crunchy wanted that texture for the casserole. Thanks so much for posting Divinemom5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      Just made this for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow. :) I added a clove of garlic and used Monterrey jack cheese instead of Swiss. I also mixed half of the cheese in the casserole and used the other half to top the dish. I took a little bite (gotta make sure it's OK to serve the family!) and it was out of this world delicious. What a great holiday recipe! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      It was a nice change from the basic traditional green bean casserole. I had to broil the top to get the corn flakes crispy. The texture could have been creamier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      I think that this was a great recipe but very different than the original recipe with cream of mushroom. Everyone liked this but I think I would use a different cheese next time because the swiss flavor was very over powering. I will try this again and make my own adjustments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      This was an awesome recipe. I am used to the regular g.b. casserole with french fried onions, and am not a huge favorite of it. Also this year, I have an exchange student with Celiac's disease, which means no wheat, and so this was the best recipe. I only make 2 changes- I used mozzarella cheese instead of swiss, only because I didn't have swiss, but I think it still turned out great and I used 2 teaspoons of all-purpose gluten-free flour. Thanks for the awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      A really nice change from the usual green bean casserole. We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

    • on December 18, 2008

      Most of my family (including me) did not care for this at all. The sour cream was overpowering and did not go well with the green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      This was a good recipe that could be better with work. I too added garlic and sliced mushrooms when sauteeing the onion. I used 2 12 oz. bags of frozen thin green beans, microwaved them al dente, then finished the recipe. Next time, will add the cheese on top only, as there were hard spots in the casserole. Will also add french fried onions to the top only in the last 15 minutes or so, as they burned. Will try again and re-rate at a later date. Thank you Divinemom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      It was good and my guests enjoyed it. I didn't have corn flakes so I topped it with bread crumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      This is so yummy. This is the third year I am making it for Thanksgiving and I can't wait to eat it! I made some small changes, like other posters here, such as using frozen green beans, fried onions instead of corn flakes, and adding garlic powder. I always get rave reviews and people ask for the recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Special Green Bean Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (271 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 244.1
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    54%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 43.6 mg
    14%
    Sodium 888.5 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 11.6 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes