Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Special Green Bean Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Special Green Bean Casserole

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2002

      A wonderful dish! The recipe was easy and it was an elegant side-dish for our dinner. I especially liked the sour cream and Swiss flavors. I will be making this dish again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      I used this as a meal!! Worked very well. The only thing I would do next time is add some garlic and mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2002

      I fixed this for Thanksgiving and it was great! I added a small can of mushrooms and a tsp. of garlic powder. The next time I make this, I will top it with a can of fried onions because the cornflakes seemed to be a tad soggy. Thanks for posting a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2002

      This is quite special! DH and I love green beans so I am always looking for "special" recipes. Like Miss Annie, we loved the delicate swiss cheese - sour cream flavor. I made half the recipe using a 1 pound bag of defrosted, drained frozen green beans and topped the cornflakes with a bit of extra swiss cheese. Next time, I might follow Tebo's suggestion and add some fresh sliced mushrooms to the onion saute, just because I love the combo of swiss and mushrooms. Great recipe Laura!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2003

      Yummy! The only change I made is I used fresh green beans and blanched them first and omitted the sugar. These are wonderful and tasty and a great way to get my fussy DH to eat his veggies! Great recipe Laura.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      Awesome according to the friends and family! The swiss cheese made this so perfect! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Wow! My brother and his fiance loved this so much when I made it for a family gathering that they asked me to make it for their buffet at their wedding. I made two HUGE pans of it and there wasn't one green bean left. It was a tremendous hit. This is now a family staple when we have family get-togethers!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Wonderful!!!! This is sooo good and different from the ordinary. I did top it with fried onions because DH requested it. I also added some garlic to the sauteing shallot. I will be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      So good. I printed this recipe a while ago, but never got around to trying it until last night. I loved this recipe. We like the original "green bean casserole" but I wanted someting different. I really enjoyed this recipe. The sour cream and swiss cheese are a nice change of pace. I plan on making this many more times. Thank you Divinemom5 for sharing your recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      LOVE THIS! I was charged with bringing green bean casserole to Thanksgiving dinner. I REALLY don't like green bean casserole. I found this recipe and it was very easy and very tasty. A definite repeat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      I love this recipe! I never make the cream of mushroom version anymore. I do add a jar of mushrooms to the mix though. Don't be afraid of the swiss cheese- the suace turns out creamy and tangy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      I've had a lot of variations of this dish but this one is the my favorite! I thought my family not like to waive from the traditional cheese but they all loved the flavor of the swiss cheese. I made half with the corn flakes on top and the other with fried onions. Fried onions won the taste challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      Easy and delicious! I like this version of the old Green Bean Casserole, brought it to Thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it too! :) The swiss cheese makes it so yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      I really enjoyed this. I made this using cooked fresh green beans. I ended up not having cornflakes so I didn't top it but it was still really good. I ate all the leftovers the next day it was so yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      Wonderful, didn't use the entire 1/2 lb of cheese, but it was a hit at the Thanksgiving table. Thanks for a great alternative to the cream of mush green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Delicious, we have used this two years in a row! So grateful to have a classy version of the cream of mystery soup recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      A wonderful version of an old classic! I absolutely, positively loved it and will be using this instead of the usual cream soup kind. Took this to Thanksgiving dinner and some liked it, but preferred the old way and some (like me) loved this one so much more. I didn't have any leftovers- so that was a good enough verdict for me! Only deviances from the recipe I made were I used 2 tsp minced garlic and 1/2 cup of mozzeralla cheese b/c I was a scad short on swiss.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      This casserole is AWESOME. I am not a fan of swiss cheese at all but when I made this, it brought a great flavor to the casserole. We made this for Thanksgiving and have made it numerous times since. Thanks for sharing this one, we love it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      This is a wondeful recipe. I did add garlic - about 2 cloves - to the onion and also halved the Swiss cheese and used half Mozzarella. This was for the benefit of my daughters, who do not like the 100% Swiss Cheese option. I have made it four times in the past month, and get raves when it is served. I highly recommend this !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2004

      I will never make or eat any other green bean casserole. My husband and I are both crazy about this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Special Green Bean Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (271 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 244.1
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    54%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 43.6 mg
    14%
    Sodium 888.5 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 11.6 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes