Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spanokorizo (Spinach and Rice Casserole) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanokorizo (Spinach and Rice Casserole)

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2013

      Fabulous and versatile dish !! Can be a side or add chicken etc to make a risotto style dish or bind with an egg and bake for a rice pie - loads of possibilities. I used home grown spinach and parsley, even the lemons came from my trees so it was a perfect dish for me to discover. made for ZWT9.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Just terrific!!!!! Always in favor of making time in the kitchen more efficient, instead of cooking the rice on the stove, I sauteed the onions and spinach and then added them to the other ingredients in a 2 quart casserole dish and microwaved it all for 20 minutes. Perfect!!!! Thanks so much for the recipe - it will definately be a repeater in this household.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      Really good. I used baby spinach and left out the dill. I would make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This is so good!! At first I was skeptical, because of the amount of oil. But it worked out. I scaled the recipe down to 2 servings and it still made a lot. I couldn't find fresh dill. I went to A Farmers Market yesterday afternoon in hopes of getting some but I was told it's too early. I ended up using dried dill instead which is good too. I will make this again. Thank you sister Cafe ZMAKK Gypsies , gypsy Nan for sharing your recipe. Made for the Cafe ZMAKK Gypsies and ZWT 4 Greece.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      I liked this but thought there was too much oil called for. I also used half the spinach amount and am glad that I did that. Thanks for sharing PanNan. Made for ZWT4, the Flying Dutchess' team.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      This is a delicious side that went very well with your Sear-Roasted Salmon With Lemon Ginger Butter. The recipe was scaled to 4 servings which called for 2 pounds of spinach. I thought that was a little much and used a 6 oz package of baby spinach. I followed Kate's lead and mounded the servings into a custard cup then inverted onto the serving plate. Definately something I will do again. Made for *PAC September 2007*.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      How did I not make this sooner? I have this cookbook--but I needed Nan to bring it to my attention. I was skeptical, fearing that the proportion of water to rice was wrong, but I know this author and I know Nan is a great cook--so I used one pound of spinach, reduced the ingredients proportionally, making only one change--I added some garlic. Result: a great side. Mounded in a custard cup and inverted on the plate, a very pretty presentation (I surrounded with slices of cherry tomatoes and served with roast chicken). Thanks, Nan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanokorizo (Spinach and Rice Casserole)

    Serving Size: 1 (405 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 390.7
     
    Calories from Fat 173
    44%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 187.4 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites