15 Reviews

This made a lot more than what I expected! I made as directed except I put 1/4 of the batter aside before adding the shrimp and added cooked chicken to the small amount for my one son. Probably not the healthiest dish to make but darn good!!! These would be awesome for appetizers and you could use whatever you want in it. I have to admit that I loved the large chopped shrimp! Made for my fellow Chef Gone Wild for ZWT8. Thanks Annacia! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif July 23, 2012

Tasty, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrairieHarpy March 11, 2008

I did a couple of things differently but still within the bounds of your recipe! Reading the reviews I decided to leave the shrimp whole and used 3 shrimp to each little pancake -each pancake was apprx 2" across. Also I added 1 tsp chili flakes and a minced clove of garlic. Loved them. I made the whole recipe and I will try freezing the rest. Will post a further review when I defrost them Thanks Annacia for a great Sunday appetizer to compliment my Mart Mart

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy November 04, 2007

After reading all the great reviews, I was expecting something special from this recipe and have to say I was rather disappointed. Not that there's anything wrong with these, it's just that they aren't memorable in any way. Rather plain, bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra August 04, 2012

I halved the recipe and used whole salad shrimp. Absolutely delightful! Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT8- Spain/Portugal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY July 31, 2012

While quick and easy to make we found these to be rather bland and more eggy, spongy then like a pancake. I cut the recipe in half and after making one test pancake added chopped cilantro, lemon zest and garlic powder for more flavor and this helped a bit. I got four more pancakes which I would consider 2 appetizer servings. Made for ZWT 8 by one of The Wild Bunch

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet July 30, 2012

Well, I'll just hop on the bandwagon and sing the praises of these delightful pancakes. I used two 4-oz. cans of drained tiny shrimp, which I did not chop, and made the recipe exactly as posted. The batter was quite thick. I used a full ladlefull of batter at a time, so my pancakes were a bit bigger. I only ended up with 5, but they were so well seasoned and very flavorful. I will definitely be making these again. Made for ZWT 8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! July 28, 2012

Made for ZWT-8 & a fellow Chef Gone Wild, I saved your recipe for my last Spanish effort so it could be the starter for a dinner party last nite. I used chives that I get in abundant supply from the garden of a friend, "real deal" smoked Hungarian Paprika the same friend brought me from Budapest, Icelandic baby shrimp & a generous amt of lemon pepper ... the latter as DH is salt-restricted & it always seems to add a welcome flavour (esp w/shrimp). A guest who sees himself as quite a foodie said these "shrimp cakes" were the best tapas dish he'd ever eaten. From my view as the cook, they were a make-ahead, easy-fix that tasted great & re-warmed well in the microwave w/o loss of their fried texture. I couldn't ask for more & they are certain to be made again. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis July 28, 2012

Amazingly good!!! I made these tonight as part of my Spain/Portugal ZWT dinner and couldn't be happier. My team is the Om Nom Nommers, and that's exactly the sound my DH and I were making as we were chowing these down! Followed the recipe exactly and they were perfect! Sorry for the picture, they look a bit greasy, but they weren't - just my camera and the flash. Thanks, Annacia!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori July 25, 2012

These are so tasty! Very easy to make. The parsley and green onion really add a nice flavor. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews July 24, 2012
Spanish Tortillitas De Camarones (Shrimp Cakes)