Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spanish Rice Using Tomato Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanish Rice Using Tomato Sauce

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2012

      This is a simple recipe and takes very little prep time. Great side dish, I did add some tomato paste along with the tomato sauce. I didn't add any flavor, the sauce gave it enough flavor along with the garlic and onions. I will make this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      Thanks for a great recipe. I used Rotel Mild Tomato Sauce and 1 packet of Badia Sazon. I've wanted an alternative to box mixes and this was perfect. (Updated with stars.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      I used brown rice, and I don't think I will never eat plain rice again. It was that good! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      I used this recipe as a stuffing for stuffed peppers. I also used brown rice, so the cooking time was a little longer, so I added a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies. Just brushed an olive oil/spice mixture over the cleaned out peppers, replaced the caps after stuffing, and cooked them in a 400 degree oven. Garnished with cilantro, parsley, and pecorino cheese. Tasted great! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Fast and easy basic recipe for Spanish Rice. I added some Mexican spices such as cumin, coriander, oregano and a small can of roasted chiles. I was very happy wit the results and will make this again with different spice combinations. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      I was looking for an easy preparation. My son signed (me) up to make a Spanish rice for Cinco de Mayo for a school party. I used salsa instead of tomato sauce because I had it opened already as well as leftover peas and beans. Then I added some spices, to taste. They were oregano, cayenne pepper, salt, cumin, and chili powder. Everyone liked it! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      This rice has a great, mild flavor. My husband, who will not touch the rice in Mexican restaurants, ate two big helpings! I served it with green chili chicken empanadas and queso. I had a little trouble getting the rice cooked all the way through, but I always have that problem when I don't bake or steam it. All-in-all, a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      I made this last week and it was so yummy that I am making it again tonight at the request of my family. I used long grain rice so I had to add about 15 minutes to the cooking time to make sure the rice was done....But the flavor is incredible! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      Halved the recipe and used a homemade tomato sauce to cut down on sodium. Served with a pasilla pepper cream sauce drizzled veggie chicken breast. Really tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      *Reviewed for ZWT5 Spain* Loved the flavours in this rice. A quick simple dish that made a great meal with Salsa Chicken (3 Ww Points) and Spanish Roasted Tomato Salad. I did need to add more broth towards the end of cooking time as the rice was sticking to the pot a bit. Tasted wonderful for such and easy dish. Photo also being posted

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      I used a long grain rice that I ended up cooking a bit longer and adding more broth to in order to get tender. By the end of cooking, it resembled a nice sopa seca. These are such basic classic flavors that I really love. Thanks, Debbie R.! Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      I had to sub 1/4 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp onion powder as I was out of both. About 10 minutes into the rice simmering, I had to add an extra 1/2 cup chicken stock - I used white long grain rice. Was a little bland to me but this may have been my fought. It was very easy and went nicely with my burritos that I made. Made for Tex Mex / Mexico / Southwest region for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      I can't give stars right now. I made this the other night and the rice was still hard after just about 30 minutes. I will try this again using about a 1/2 cup less rice and see how it turns out. This has potential!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      Easy, tasty and we LOVED it!! Thanks Debbie!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Wonderful Spanish rice, and one I'll make often. Very simple, made from ingredients always on hand, but very flavorful. I used the rice cooker to saute the onion, garlic, then rice, added the liquids and closed the lid. Came out perfect! Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for PAC Fall 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      Very easy, quick and tasty recipe. I added salt, and served picante sauce to top it off. It was enjoyed by all - there were no leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanish Rice Using Tomato Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (275 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 364.9
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    19%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 695.7 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites