Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spanish Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanish Rice

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2013

      So easy,so perfect! I served this alongside a sweet/spicy roast pork.They complimented each other well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      A hit at our house! I left out the olives, because my son doesn't like them. I also used two rice cooker scoops of rice, which is 1 1/2 cups. I sauteed the onions and garlic in olive oil, then added the washed, drained long-grain rice and sauteed it for a minute, stirring constantly. I scraped the onion-garlic-rice mixture into the rice cooker, then put the chicken broth in the pot to get the last of the mixture out and poured it into the rice cooker. Added all the other ingredients, and pushed the button. Voila! Tasty rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      This is a fantastic recipe for Spanish rice! I used brown long grain rice, and had to cook it for close to an hour before it was done. I also added 1/2 tsp dried oregano, 1/2 tsp ancho chile powder, and a pinch of cayenne, because I only had canned tomatoes on hand instead of Rotel. Delicious! I was hoping to have some left over for breakfast with an egg on top, but it's all gone. Oh well, will have to make more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      Loved it, so easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Great recipe. Very easy to make and delicious. I only used three gloves of garlic and used diced tomatoes and chopped canned chilies instead of the Rotel. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Delicious. The flavors go so well together in a great balance. Spicier than I anticipated. We used a combo of black olives and green manzanilla olives. We served this alongside chorizo sausage. Made for ZWT5 for the Genies of Gourmet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Fantastic rice dish! Served with a salsa chiken dish and everyone raved more about the rice than the main dish! Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      A very flavoursome rice which we really enjoyed and which I'll certainly make again. I made this using Aldi's Italian tomatoes (without any chilies), my Vegetable Stock and my favourite kalamata olives. Loved how much garlic there was in this! :) I also added a cup of thinly sliced mushrooms and some oregano, rosemary, sage and thyme. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Sue! Made for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      This recipe is fantastic, easy and soooo tasty you could make a meal out it by itself! I also cut down on the garlic due to having it in limited supply at the moment but I can imagine that the full amount would only improve the recipe! I used vegan chicken flavoured stock. Made for the Spanish leg of ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      This rice has great flavor and texture. The peas are a great way to get the kids to eat their veggies. Next time though I will make it with the mild Rotel for the kids, but DH and I love the original. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Really delicious. Easy to make and very pretty. Very good with roast pork. Subbed a tin of regular tomatoes with a little minced (pickled) jalapeno in place of the Rotel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      DH liked this a lot. I used 5 cloves garlic. I also used some tomato paste, as we don't like chunks of cooked tomato in rice. I made it into a meal by adding cooked red beans and another time I added black beans. I forgot to add sauteed mushrooms but that would be a good addition. I put in some raisins from reading a previous review but would not add them next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • I have made this several times now and it is so good! It went great with our burrito casserole the other night and it is always enjoyed by my family and I! I have used both the green olives and the black, and I actually prefer the green olives, but it's delicious either way, believe me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      I've always had spanish rice out of the box. But in the intested of lowering our sodium and "stepping it up a notch", I vowed to try making it from scratch. I'm sure glad that this is the recipe that I chose - it was great! I used brown rice instead of white, so the cooking time was more like 30-35 minutes. For color, I threw in a 1/2 of a red pepper with the onions and added probably 1 tsp of cumin as well. For protein, I also added 1/2 can of black beans prior to the 5-10 min resting period. Great tasing, completely satisfying. Two thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      Excellent! Not much I can add to what has already been said - it is great tasting Spanish Rice that saw to no left overs at our house. Other then not adding peas and cutting back a little on the garlic I made as posted following your instructions using chicken broth. Have picked up some peas and will add them next time around - there will definitely be a good many next times on this one. I am so keen on this recipe that I am thinking to doing the the onions and garlic and giving it a go in the rice cooker for those days when time is short. Thank you Sue L.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      This was a terrific Spanish rice recipe. I used vegetable broth, omitted the saffron threads because I had run out of them and used black Kalamata olives, yum! I also reduced the garlic like some of the other reviewers. Not exactly sure what the towel trick did but I followed the directions anyway. Thanks I'll make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      I really enjoyed this along with some enchilladas... Great tasting rice Sue! Elaine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      This is absolutely the best recipe for Spanish Rice. So moist and flavorful - very spicy. I minced the small garlic cloves and added no peas. But the basic recipe is just perfect!! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      Very simple and tasty! I used half the garlic and added 1/2 tsp each of ground cumin and chili powder. Made this w/o black olives b/c I was out, but it was still great. Next time I may add minced bell pepper, corn, and black beans to make it a main dish. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      Made this as part of a New Year's Eve dinner last year.It was the best spanish rice we've ever had.I didn't use quite so much garlic though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanish Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.7
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    26%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 988.9 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes