Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spanish Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanish Rice

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2011

      I have been trying several rice recipes, trying to satisfy my DS, who loves the rice at restaurants. He gave his enthusiastic approval! The rice is not mushy of starchy, with the grains remaining separate. We loved the flavor. I also loved how easy this was. Thanks so much for sharing, Rick B(2). I'm off to see what other lovely nuggets you've offered our tastebuds!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2013

      i haven't made this but i already know it's good! this is how my grandmother in law (she's hispanic) makes it, more or less. only thing she puts in it that's not listed is bell pepper. i personally put more cumin (fresh ground) and substitute garlic powder. going to try this tonight to see if i can't impress my husband with it lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2013

      This rice was had great flavor. I put all the ingredients in the rice cooker. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      With a little tweaking, this has become my picky eating daughter's favorite spanish rice. Used a full 8 oz. of tomato sauce and substituted 1/2 tsp. each of cumin and chili powder for the teaspoon of cumin. Perfect every time! Thanks for a great recipe that can easily be modified into a variety of 1 dish meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      This was pretty good. I halved the recipe and found that I needed to add more liquid part of the way through cooking. This was very easy to make though. Served with Bean Burrito Casserole (#49466).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      Great taste, easy preparation. I used brown rice and adjusted cooking time accordingly (about 45 minutes for the rice to absorb all the water). Also added chopped green pepper. Next time I will add a bit more cumin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Great rice! I added a drained can of corn to it too! I thought it needed a little salt but other than that, we couldn't stop eating it! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      Wonderful! I use it for Indian food also; just add a little tumeric and a few peas for color. Makes plain rice taste special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      Simple and delicious! I served this with Pulled Pork and Bisabuelita's Crock Pot Refried Beans (Vegetarian), and will definitely make again. Thank you Rick B (y tu esposa tambien)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      Abosultely amazing! I loved this rice and so did my kids. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      Great taste, just had to add about another 1/4 cup of water and let it simmer for a bit longer, but once again, I had only an empty pan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      I might have messed this up, have never browned rice before, so might have gone too long but the rice was gritty, and it seemed a little bland in my opinion. Don't normally like my food spicy, but was expecting more kick. Will have to keep looking for an easy spanish rice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      This was very good. I didn't have even 2 cups chicken broth so I subbed water up to 2 cups and used a full 8 oz. can of tomato sauce. I also added more cumin than called for. This is the best recipe for Spanish rice I've found yet - still a few changes needed to get to perfection for us, though. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      This recipe was awesome! Served it as a side dish with pork tamales. I used jasmine rice (it was all I had on hand). At first, I hesitated in adding the cumin, but the flavor was very subtle. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      Good, basic, traditional Spanish rice which pairs well with spicy foods. Easy, no specialty ingredients, and the family loved it! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      I love spanish rices. I couldn't get enough. I had some for dinner and then lunch the next two days. The recipe is nice and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      I made this today and it was so good! I used leftover stir fried onion, green pepper and zucchini, and used some jarred pasta sauce I had opened in the fridge. I added a little chili powder but was running out so have to get more. I added a little salt and pepper as well, and just love this rice, thanks for posting! I love rice but don't often cook it because I'm not very creative with it don't like following long detailed recipes. Now I'll be adding rice to my diet on a regular basis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      Fantastic spanish rice!! I make this whenever I make a mexican style meal...It's SO good! I make it with brown rice and I can't tell the difference at all from the white rice. A perfect recipe! THANK YOU!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      This was great, used it in burritos with a chicken sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2006

      To our taste, this recipe needed a little salt, but was otherwise fantastic! i substituted tomatoes for the paste, and chili powder for the cumin, as the recipe itself seemed a little bland. i made this twice last week, and both times, it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanish Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 359.2
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    20%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 623.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.1 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes