Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spanish Quinoa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanish Quinoa

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2013

      This is my first time having Quinoa, and lad I chose this one. Served with Sea Scallops With Sauce Meuniere and loved it. I also followed Quinoa-Toasted prior to making it. Was really easy and loved the flavor of the cumin in it, with just the right bite from the chili powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      I really enjoyed this dish! At first I doubted it could be so good since it was so simple .. but it was! The quiona was incredibly flavorful and it had a slight kick but not too spicy at all. I used butter instead of oil, doubled the garlic, and toasted the quiona. It was my main dish so it served two!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      Excellent! A great substitute for Spanish rice. I removed the garlic and onions from the skillet after sauteing and then toasted the quinoa in the same pan. Once the quinoa was toasted I added the garlic and onions back into the skillet and then proceeded with the directions. I did omit the salt. I served it with Healthier Mexican Chicken Casserole . Thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      I love that this is so easy and tasty. I made mine in a small skillet and it was the perfect size. This has a little bit of spice to it, but it is good. I made as directed except I used 3 garlic cloves and saut?ed the onions and garlic in 1 tsp coconut oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2012

      This recipe was quick, easy and delicious. I doubled the recipe with no problems. I toasted the quinoa first and then removed it from the pan before saut?ing my onions and garlic in olive oil. I like spice so I added Old Bay seasoning and some coriander. I also added a can of chickpeas and a little bit of veggie bullion. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      Delicious and easy to make! The quinoa instead of rice swap worked well, and it was very flavorful, with a great kick. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      i cook quinoa in my rice cooker. i grew up eating this wonderful grain and now feed it to my two kids. i won best dish at a vegetarian dinner party cook off when i was twelve years old with a very similar recipe. super easy super healthy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      Very good and easy. I added a bit of fresh cilantro at the end as well since I had some on hand. I also didn't use quite a whole teaspoon of chili or cumin... it seemed like a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2011

    • on April 11, 2011

      I had diced tomatoes with cilantro and lime juice instead of the chilis. I also used only half of the cumin and chili powder because that was all I had. I like a lot of spice, but honestly I think if I had used all off the chili powder and cumin the recipe called for, it may have been a little too much. It was perfect as is. I topped it with a bit of shredded white cheddar with garlic cheese and wrapped it in a toasted whole wheat tortilla. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      My DH is diabetic and so we decided to try quinoa since it is so low on the glycemic index. Don't let that put you off! It is one of those foods that is delicious, in spite of how good it is for you. I toasted the quinoa before adding the liquid, as recommended by other reviewers. I also substituted low sodium chicken broth for the water. It is now a favorite in our home, and my 3-year-old even likes it too! Thans so much, Vino Girl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

    • on May 04, 2010

      I ended up using a cup of toasted quinoa with corresponding liquids and no chilli powder, because the dish was already spicy enough for my taste. Definitely tasty, and the boyfriend is happy, since he's iffy about quinoa, which makes me happy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      This was a wonderful light dinner for DH the other evening...we were rushed for time, and I put this together and it put a very big smile on DH's face :) that's always good! I'll definitely make this again, it was so easy and delicious. We eat quite a bit of quinoa, so this is a great recipe to add to our keeper cookbook. Made for Mediterranean Photo Tag, April 2010!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      It was wonderful! I've never had quinoa before and this was a great introduction. I used 1 cup of quinoa (w/ 2c liquid) and would substitute butter for olive oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Love this recipe. This was my first time using quinoa... Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect! Served with enchiladas...this will be my new replacement for spanish rice :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      This is great. My quinoa didn't cook all the way, but I think my pan was too big and didn't have a good lid. Next time I'll try a different pan. This recipe is similar to one I make with cauliflower as the main ingredient. I'll be making this a lot - it's healthy and my husband loves it! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      We enjoyed this. It was easy and flavorful. I didn't have the tomatoes with chilies, so used plain petite diced tomatoes instead. I also halved the chili and cumin, and it was still had lots of flavor. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      This recipe is really good and super easy to make. The only addition I make is that I add a half cup of drained and rinsed black beans, and I serve it with a little sprinkling of reduced fat cheese. Easy to pack for work lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Yum! A very good recipe. A little bit spicy for my kids' taste, but we mixed it with chicken and that dulled the heat for them. And we all got a great laugh when my daughter asked why we were eating FLOAM for dinner... Priceless!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanish Quinoa

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 139.4
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    32%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 426.4 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites