23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this many, many times. It's delicious, but I do not think you need to add the potato slices one by one to avoid sticking. Just drop the potato slices into the skillet and stir often to prevent burning and sticking. I've also changed this recipe up a bit by adding half a chopped Cubanelle/Italian pepper, or by adding chorizo or by adding sliced green olives. Very authentic dish from Spain and simple to make. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 July 09, 2007

This is exactly like the dish I was served all across Spain. No, it is not the most flavorful thing in the world, but it is good and most definitely authentic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuliJ April 20, 2007

this is exactly the way that my spanish friends taught me to make this. great recipe. make sure people realize that the high fat count is a bit lower because you drain off most of the oil after the potatoes are cooked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Transylmania February 13, 2007

It was very authentic and tasty. I'm not giving it 5 stars, though because I'll never make it again. It's a bit too time-consumming for the end result. It's tasteless without a lot of salt. My DH thought it was okay. I did change the recipe a little, though, to make it a bit easier. 1) To shorten the amount of cooking time, I pricked each potato a few times with a fork, and then microwaved them between two moist paper towels for about 6-8 minutes, or until starting to get soft. I cut them into chunks (using a pot holder, of course). I always leave the skin on as it doesn't take away from the taste and does add a little nutrition. 2) I didn't clean the pan between cooking the potatoes and onions and cooking it with the eggs and I had no problem. I did add about 2 Tbsp. of oil first, though. 3) I added about 1 1/2 - 2 tsp. of salt. 4) I added some sliced scallions/green onions for color. 5) I cooked the omelet on high and waited a few minutes so that I only had to cook each side once.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun February 25, 2005

We thought this recipe was very very good. I added some chopped red and yellow onion and it looked really festive on the plate. I halved the recipe for my husband and he had a nice power breakfast before work. My son had some hot cereal. Haha.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reed November 16, 2004

I was going to post a recipe for this, but now I don't have to. This one is the most authentic I have seen. The only thing my Spanish housekeeper did differently was add a bit of Manchego cheese when I begged enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev in NY August 30, 2004

This recipe was great as a cold appetizer the next day. Although a little tough to flip during the cooking... I cooked the potatoes and onions in two batches and only flipped once and it was fine. Served with Mojo Picon- delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmcgeogh McGeoghegan August 04, 2003

I have tried this twice and I can't seem to get the potatoes to cook at the same rate, so there's always some crunchy ones -- yuck! My husband has actually asked me not to make this again (which is something he alsmost never does). I will be looking for a different recipe for this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Savage July 14, 2003

Congratulations! After having come across the most incredible recipes under the name of "Spanish omelet" whith lots of different ingredients, is nice to find the recipe for the real thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maria in EU May 29, 2002

This recipe is extremely easy to make and tastes excellent! I believe that it tastes best when served in a bun or roll. This is how I ate it while in Spain and it seems like the Spaniards know what they are doing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica in WI November 15, 2001
Spanish Potato Omelet (Tortilla a la Espanola)