Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spanish Potato Omelet (Tortilla a la Espanola) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanish Potato Omelet (Tortilla a la Espanola)

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on June 11, 2001

      I've made similar recipes in the past and I think it should be understood how long it takes to cook the potatoes and onions in oil. I figured at least a 1/2 hour, if not more time. The recipe is very authentic though, and I usually make it with one less potato. The suggestion to have some oil in the pan before you pour the eggs is VERY important. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2001

      Good, but I wouldn't try it for breakfast. I think this is a brunch kind of thing. Takes a little too much coordination to work early in the morning ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2014

      This omelette fell apart and I actually had to use 8 eggs so...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I have this recipe from Rachel Ray , I think she called it Spanish Pizza. I cubed the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      Delicious for DH, DD (toddler) & I as per my slight modifications. I used two medium small potatoes and 6 eggs but next time would use only 5. I cooked the potatoes in 1/2 inch of extra virgin olive oil (I do suggest regular olive oil like another reviewer because mine smoked too much). I did not let the potatoes brown much at all. I then added the onion in a lesser amount. I covered the pan to slightly steam the potatoes and onions in order not to brown them and to cook them faster. When they were just about cooked I added sea salt (which was not coarse) to them which I think is very important or the dish will come out to bland. I kept these for a few hours in the refridgerator until morning (suhoor) so it would be much faster to finish. This worked well. I finished the recipe as per instructions also giving a little bit of salt to the eggs. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      This is one of my favorite foods. Kenk's is a very traditional recipe and not unlike mine. However, I do a few things differently. I have found that coarsely grating my potatoes helps make the tortillas more stable during and after cooking. I start my onions cooking while I'm grating the potatoes and I cook them in about 3T of olive oil. I use almost as much onion as potato but I don't add garlic because it damages the delicate flavor of the tortilla and isn't as good cold. The egg to potato ratio is very important. Basically the egg mixture should easily cover the potatoes when you mix them together. After you stir the potatoes into the eggs be sure to let them sit for 5 minutes before you pour them into the hot pan to form tortillas. I use an 8" omlet pan and usually cook two tortillas. This pan makes the sliding / flipping process much easier and lets you peek under the edge for doneness. I actually don't flip my tortillas. I kept trying but had some incredibly horrible failures. My method is to slide the tortilla onto a large plate and then invert the pan over it and flip the plate and pan quickly. During the cooking process (before the slide) I take the pan off the heat and let it rest for a few minutes several time. This helps the runny center set up. Just be sure that it is hot and sliding around in the pan before you attempt the slide or flip. You also want to be careful not to overcook because the finished tortilla is best with a creamy texture. I frequently stray from the traditional by adding a small amount of grated cheddar to the mix (gives a beautiful golden quality to the crust) and sprinkling some on the finished tortilla. I used to add red and yellow peppers but it too can overpower the simple but delicious flavor of the tortilla. My husband cares less about tradition and likes crumbled bacon added to the mix. I usually give in. Last thing...practice makes perfect when it comes to tortillas so if your first few tries are less than stellar, don't give up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      A NY Times Featured Chef said this was his favorite food, I am makinkg it for the fifth time...Saturday Night Supper and a Sunday morning breakfast. It has become favorite of ours too. Thank all the reviewers with their helpful hints. The hardest part is peeling the potatoes. Thank you "kenk" for posting this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      I made this tortilla today for the lab I work for and everybody liked it. I added 2 crushed garlics to the onions and potatoes to give it a little extra flavor. I also used a 10 inch pan with vertical walls so it could have better volume and shape. Therefore, I used 6 jumbo eggs instead of 4. I spent one semester in spain and this definitely is the real thing or really close to it. But as always every taste is different and you are allowed to change ingredients, times and utensils to be as creative as you can become. Thanks a lot kenk!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

    • on August 20, 2007

      I've made a very similar recipe from an authentic source in the high school Spanish classes that I teach. Tips: First, just use ordinary olive oil, not an extra virgin, as if won't be able to take the heat. To avoid crispy potatoes, be sure the oil is at the right temperature (potatoes should cook slowly when dropped in, and shouldn't sound like french fries in a deep frier) and that potatoes are sliced equally thin (my students do this with a mandoline). My recipe also includes some garlic, which we crush and sautee with the onions in a separate pan just to make things easier (and to give another student a job to do). The potatoes should NOT be stireed, as they tend to break up and release more starch this way. One at a time (employ the assistance of another pair of hands to speed this up if you're not cooking alone) is the best way to go. Keep in mind, you want evenly tender, cooked potatoes. No browning. These aren't french fries! I'm not sure 1 cup of oil is enough. We don't usually measure, just fill a skillet almost 1/2 full with olive oil, heat, and then put in potatoes as long as they are all covered , so you don't have to stir. One reviewer mentioned needing a lot of salt. I had this problem the first time I made it in class as well. I had skipped a step in my recipe, which recommends salting the potatoes before cooking, along with seasoning the egg with a little salt and pepper. This really helps a lot, as salting afterwards just doesn't seem to do it. The salt doesn't penetrate, and you end up with a really salty outside & lack of flavor inside. If done correctly, the tortilla should only be flipped once. High heat when you first drop the egg mixture into the pan is important, as in the original recipe. This helps to avoid sticking. However, I don't know that I'd go all the way to the smoking point. Do reduce the heat and allow to cook slowly right after putting the eggs and potatoes into the pan. Frequent shaking really isn't necessary. Just run a rubber scraper around the edge and give it a good shake to loosen before you do the famous "flip." When the outside edges start to look dry and only the middle looks slightly runny, it's about time to flip. I'm generally not a big fan of browned eggs, but in this dish, it's necessary and normal for the outside to brown, and no, it doesn't taste like an overcooked dry omlette. This is totally different! Yes, you can do the flip! The first time I did it was in front of 20 teenagers, and I managed it! The method in the recipe works well, but as you slide back into the pan, have a rubber scraper ready to tuck any potatoes that try to escape back into the eggs. In Spain, this is served cut into wedges, either hot or cold, and yes, often in sandwiches. I had never had leftovers to sample cold until this past semester, and WOW, is that good! The most amazing part of this dish is that I always have students who don't like one or more of the ingredients, but somehow, the combination of all of them ends up creating something that appeals to nearly everyone. I've only come across one high school student who did not like the dish, and everyone at least tries it. (They're teenagers, they can't NOT try it!) We didn't do anything other than pour excess oil out of the pan in between steps, there was no need to clean the pan. The oil from frying the potatoes can be poured back into the bottle when cooled and stored in the refrigerator for future frying uses. It will solidify in the refrigerator, but don't be alarmed. It's still useable and will return to liquid form at room temperature. Enjoy your tortilla espanola! It IS a lot of work, but the flavor is worth the effort! This is the minimalist, traditional recipe. Once you master it, have fun with it and add whatever you want. I won't tell the Spaniards you aren't making it the 'traditional' and 'authentic' way! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      I've made this many, many times. It's delicious, but I do not think you need to add the potato slices one by one to avoid sticking. Just drop the potato slices into the skillet and stir often to prevent burning and sticking. I've also changed this recipe up a bit by adding half a chopped Cubanelle/Italian pepper, or by adding chorizo or by adding sliced green olives. Very authentic dish from Spain and simple to make. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      This is exactly like the dish I was served all across Spain. No, it is not the most flavorful thing in the world, but it is good and most definitely authentic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      this is exactly the way that my spanish friends taught me to make this. great recipe. make sure people realize that the high fat count is a bit lower because you drain off most of the oil after the potatoes are cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2005

      It was very authentic and tasty. I'm not giving it 5 stars, though because I'll never make it again. It's a bit too time-consumming for the end result. It's tasteless without a lot of salt. My DH thought it was okay. I did change the recipe a little, though, to make it a bit easier. 1) To shorten the amount of cooking time, I pricked each potato a few times with a fork, and then microwaved them between two moist paper towels for about 6-8 minutes, or until starting to get soft. I cut them into chunks (using a pot holder, of course). I always leave the skin on as it doesn't take away from the taste and does add a little nutrition. 2) I didn't clean the pan between cooking the potatoes and onions and cooking it with the eggs and I had no problem. I did add about 2 Tbsp. of oil first, though. 3) I added about 1 1/2 - 2 tsp. of salt. 4) I added some sliced scallions/green onions for color. 5) I cooked the omelet on high and waited a few minutes so that I only had to cook each side once.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      We thought this recipe was very very good. I added some chopped red and yellow onion and it looked really festive on the plate. I halved the recipe for my husband and he had a nice power breakfast before work. My son had some hot cereal. Haha.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2004

      I was going to post a recipe for this, but now I don't have to. This one is the most authentic I have seen. The only thing my Spanish housekeeper did differently was add a bit of Manchego cheese when I begged enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2003

      This recipe was great as a cold appetizer the next day. Although a little tough to flip during the cooking... I cooked the potatoes and onions in two batches and only flipped once and it was fine. Served with Mojo Picon- delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2003

      I have tried this twice and I can't seem to get the potatoes to cook at the same rate, so there's always some crunchy ones -- yuck! My husband has actually asked me not to make this again (which is something he alsmost never does). I will be looking for a different recipe for this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2002

      Congratulations! After having come across the most incredible recipes under the name of "Spanish omelet" whith lots of different ingredients, is nice to find the recipe for the real thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2001

      This recipe is extremely easy to make and tastes excellent! I believe that it tastes best when served in a bun or roll. This is how I ate it while in Spain and it seems like the Spaniards know what they are doing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanish Potato Omelet (Tortilla a la Espanola)

    Serving Size: 1 (515 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 850.7
     
    Calories from Fat 533
    62%
    Total Fat 59.3 g
    91%
    Saturated Fat 9.1 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 211.5 mg
    70%
    Sodium 94.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.6 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites