24 Reviews

I've made similar recipes in the past and I think it should be understood how long it takes to cook the potatoes and onions in oil. I figured at least a 1/2 hour, if not more time. The recipe is very authentic though, and I usually make it with one less potato. The suggestion to have some oil in the pan before you pour the eggs is VERY important. Thanks for the recipe!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joan Hartman June 11, 2001

Good, but I wouldn't try it for breakfast. I think this is a brunch kind of thing. Takes a little too much coordination to work early in the morning ;)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rouxdog September 10, 2001

Pretty simple. Surprisingly good for the few number of ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond July 26, 2016

This omelette fell apart and I actually had to use 8 eggs so...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2015-hwashburn May 04, 2014

I have this recipe from Rachel Ray , I think she called it Spanish Pizza. I cubed the potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia October 11, 2009

Delicious for DH, DD (toddler) & I as per my slight modifications. I used two medium small potatoes and 6 eggs but next time would use only 5. I cooked the potatoes in 1/2 inch of extra virgin olive oil (I do suggest regular olive oil like another reviewer because mine smoked too much). I did not let the potatoes brown much at all. I then added the onion in a lesser amount. I covered the pan to slightly steam the potatoes and onions in order not to brown them and to cook them faster. When they were just about cooked I added sea salt (which was not coarse) to them which I think is very important or the dish will come out to bland. I kept these for a few hours in the refridgerator until morning (suhoor) so it would be much faster to finish. This worked well. I finished the recipe as per instructions also giving a little bit of salt to the eggs. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat August 29, 2009

This is one of my favorite foods. Kenk's is a very traditional recipe and not unlike mine. However, I do a few things differently. I have found that coarsely grating my potatoes helps make the tortillas more stable during and after cooking. I start my onions cooking while I'm grating the potatoes and I cook them in about 3T of olive oil. I use almost as much onion as potato but I don't add garlic because it damages the delicate flavor of the tortilla and isn't as good cold. The egg to potato ratio is very important. Basically the egg mixture should easily cover the potatoes when you mix them together. After you stir the potatoes into the eggs be sure to let them sit for 5 minutes before you pour them into the hot pan to form tortillas. I use an 8" omlet pan and usually cook two tortillas. This pan makes the sliding / flipping process much easier and lets you peek under the edge for doneness. I actually don't flip my tortillas. I kept trying but had some incredibly horrible failures. My method is to slide the tortilla onto a large plate and then invert the pan over it and flip the plate and pan quickly. During the cooking process (before the slide) I take the pan off the heat and let it rest for a few minutes several time. This helps the runny center set up. Just be sure that it is hot and sliding around in the pan before you attempt the slide or flip. You also want to be careful not to overcook because the finished tortilla is best with a creamy texture. I frequently stray from the traditional by adding a small amount of grated cheddar to the mix (gives a beautiful golden quality to the crust) and sprinkling some on the finished tortilla. I used to add red and yellow peppers but it too can overpower the simple but delicious flavor of the tortilla. My husband cares less about tradition and likes crumbled bacon added to the mix. I usually give in. Last thing...practice makes perfect when it comes to tortillas so if your first few tries are less than stellar, don't give up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Zupkow December 30, 2008

A NY Times Featured Chef said this was his favorite food, I am makinkg it for the fifth time...Saturday Night Supper and a Sunday morning breakfast. It has become favorite of ours too. Thank all the reviewers with their helpful hints. The hardest part is peeling the potatoes. Thank you "kenk" for posting this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D J December 20, 2008

I made this tortilla today for the lab I work for and everybody liked it. I added 2 crushed garlics to the onions and potatoes to give it a little extra flavor. I also used a 10 inch pan with vertical walls so it could have better volume and shape. Therefore, I used 6 jumbo eggs instead of 4. I spent one semester in spain and this definitely is the real thing or really close to it. But as always every taste is different and you are allowed to change ingredients, times and utensils to be as creative as you can become. Thanks a lot kenk!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FulanodeTal August 14, 2008
Spanish Potato Omelet (Tortilla a la Espanola)