15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This cake is sublime, and so so easy! After I zested the lemon I squeezed the juice into a measuring cup, and then topped it up with (soy) milk to make 1 cup of liquid. The cake was so soft. It was going so fast I quickly made another one, this time with orange zest and orange juice. Served that one with my Creamsicle Ice Cream and Lennie's Chocolate Orange Sauce on top for a really wonderful dessert!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj June 02, 2002

a very rich and moist cake, I did add some lemon juice and it turned out really great thank you for this great recipe !!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
** Poppy ** November 16, 2002

What a wonderfully simple and delicious cake! We had some beautiful lemons laying around the house yesterday so I was looking for a good lemon cake. This was so very easy, even with my blunders! I made a double batch, and that cooked in a 9x13 pan for about 55 minutes. Taking the other comments into mind, I squeezed the juice of both lemons into the cup used for measuring oil and they counted together for the 2 cups. I think this helped prevent the greasiness mentioned, and it made the cake so lemony and fresh! When it came to adding flour, I realised that we had no self rising flour. so, like any good internet user, I searched for a fix: 1.5 tsp baking powder and .5 tsp of salt for each cup of all-purpose flour makes it come out the same as self-rising. Very nice recipe, thanks for posting Susie T!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anulazuli June 05, 2009

I just realized that I haven't reviewed this recipe yet and I should have a long time ago. This is one of my go to recipes for birthday cakes as it turns out every single time I make it and tastes great. I also add the lemon juice and it works out wonderfully. Thanks for a consistent, excellent, tasty recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suchee December 07, 2007

Great recipe. I used it to make cupcakes and they were beautiful. They are surprisingly buttery for a no-butter recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alanna Dean October 25, 2007

This is a wonderful recipe. I love not on the lemon flavour but the simplicity. I am also happy that I followed another reviewer's suggestion of adding the lemon juice - I reduced the oil to accommodate this. I will be using this recipe again and again. Thank you for sharing SusieT

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catherine Robson September 15, 2007

I thought that this was a very delicious cake considering how easy it was. I'm 15 years old and I had to make this cake for a party we were having in my Spanish class and everyone liked it. I baked my cake at 350ºF for about 55 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Breanna December 18, 2004

This cake was quick, easy and very tasty. When I whipped it up yesterday, it came out of the oven at just over 40 minutes (definitely check it at 40 because mine was very very close to done), and it was very moist and had a delicate lemon flavor. I threw the juice of the lemon I had zested in, as some of the other reviewers have mentioned, if for no other reason than I had no other immediate use for lemon juice and a naked lemon sitting there. Mine filled an 8-inch square nonstick baking pan perfectly and I didn't grease the pan. For the Celsius-challenged, 180 C is 350F, which is just what you would expect for a cake. Thanks for a great recipe! I'm sure I'll make it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hudelei May 23, 2004

I was looking for a low salt cake so I tried this one. I did use plain flour and used 1tea.feather-weight baking powder. It has turned out great everytime. I have added poppy seeds, made cup cakes, and for Christmas used it as the base for the jello sponge cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie G Massie January 05, 2004
Spanish Lemon Cake