272 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Easy but tasty dish for a week night meal. We left out the beans (not a fan), but threw in some pimento stuffed green olives which added a nice punch of flavour every now and then. Thanks Aroostook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Normans February 18, 2014

The whole family enjoyed this meal! I did add a little more salsa (1/4-1/2 cup) just so the jar didn't get put back in the fridge and forgotten. I had to bake it a little longer to have the extra liquid from salsa absorb. It was still delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynjt January 12, 2014

The rice was fantastic, but the chicken didn't have much flavor.. When I make it again I'll cook the chicken separately with salsa!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K.Richmond December 04, 2013

This came out great. I think it is a good recipe that can be altered easily to your liking such as adding green chiles, jalapenos, taco seasoning, or others. I added some salsa and sour cream seasoning that I had and it came out great. This one is going into the rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZJAY November 22, 2013

I had some bone-in roasted chicken leftover from a few nights ago - instead of the raw chicken breasts, I shredded my leftovers and used that instead. I didn't have to cook it quite as long this way, and it gave me something new to do (instead of soup or sammies!) I bet this would be great for leftover turkey also. I served this with taco tortillas and the fixins' (guac, salsa, diced tomatoes, cheese) for a new spin on taco night. Perfect easy weeknight meal - thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimad September 30, 2013

It was a hit with my family - even my picky toddler! I accidentally opened a can of kidney beans instead of black beans, and added some garlic powder. Other than that, I followed recipe and really enjoyed the flavor! <br/>I ran into the same problem that a lot of other people had: I presoaked my rice for 10 minutes, and covered the casserole dish, but after 45 minutes, the chicken was still pink, the rice wasn't cooked, and it was still really runny. So I cooked it for another 20 minutes at 400F, added the cheese on top and let it sit in the hot oven for another 4 minutes, and it turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alaska Grown August 26, 2013

I made this tonight with what we had around the house, so it was a little different from the recipe, but delicious! Thought I'd post in case anyone else wanted a variation. Used 1 can of tomato sauce instead of the cream of mushroom soup and added a full can of water to the mix. I used a can of corn, and a Costco-sized can of chicken (both drained, of course). I also increased the chili powder and added some cumin and some salt. Baked for just over an hour. Stirred it a couple times during baking. Topped with a bit more cheese and then crushed tortilla chips and put it back in the oven until bubbly. Everyone loved it. Will have to try it as written next!! Thanks for posting such a versatile recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camden's Mom July 29, 2013

Very tasty! I used my husbands homemade salsa from the garden, 3/4 teaspoon chili powder, 1 teaspoon cumin. I left the corn and the beans out and used chicken thighs. My whole family liked it. I had enough to take for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. July 02, 2013

I give this recipe, as directed three stars. It was good, but there were problems. I made this exactly as the recipe asked, but in 45 minutes the chicken was not done. My chicken breasts were not very large, so I was surprised. I put it in the oven for an additional 15 and the chicken was still not done. I did sample the rice and found I liked the flavor, but the chicken was my major concern. By now it was getting close to dinner time and the chicken was still not done. I finally thought to shred the chicken. I did that, added the cheese, and returned to the oven for an additional ten minutes. This time it was done. I am rating the recipe as directed three stars. After I shredded the chicken, I added a bit of goya seasoning. I then had some soft tortilla shells and prepped those served with some corn chips on the side for a bit of texture.That received favorable reviews here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KJSnow April 10, 2013
Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake