Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake

    Average Rating:

    270 Total Reviews

    Showing 161-180 of 270

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2008

      We really enjoyed this dish! I made this in the crock and after it had cooked for about 5 hours, it did require additional water - I added about 2 cups and it turned out fine. I also did not add the cheese until the very end. The other modification I made was that I used brown rice instead of white. My husband thought that this could use a few more spices so next time I will probably add some diced onion and 1 tsp of cumin. Thanks for sharing this great and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      So good! One of my husbands very favorite meals :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      This was really good! I made it just as described and we loved it! This made a full 5-6 servings for us, with kids size servings for the kids so keep that in mind. I covered it like the poster suggested and my rice came out perfectly, definitely don't skip this step. This made a great gluten free meal when I used my own cream of chicken soup mix. Thanks! **Added Aug. 20, 08 - we make this dish regularly and I have been able to convert it easily to an OAMC dish by mixing all the liquids and spices together in a quart ziploc, chicken in another ziploc, rice in another ziploc, and cheese in another ziploc, then I put all four bags into a gallon ziploc and threw it in the freezer. To cook simply thaw, dump in the casserole dish and bake as normal. HTH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      This is really good, quick & easy. I've made it twice already. I used a heavy covered Pfaltzgraff casserole dish and I had to add 20 mins. to my cook time. Thanks so much for posting this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      We are always looking for new mexican recipes and this one was very good. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Put fresh pico de gallo on top (tomatoes, cilantro, onion, jalapeno, salt and pepper) and it was great! soaking the rice is the only way to go...about 15 min + prior to adding to mix. Also cut the chicken into thin breasts. Also a little Mrs. Dash Chipotle seasoning was added to season the chicken!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      My BF LOVED this meal, he ate the entire batch in one night. I enjoyed it as well. I followed the recipe as the instructions stated, and I had to bake it much longer that the time listed. It was in the oven for 1 hour and 20 minutes. Next time I will soak the rice and see how long it takes. Otherwise, good recipe! Thanks! *Update*: I made this again and this time I soaked the rice in water for 15 minutes and I still had to bake the dish for an hour. Oh well, its delicious and its worth the extra time in the oven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      It was good, but the chicken ended up a little dry for me since I had to cook it for 1 1/2 hours

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      So easy & delicious. Chicken took 1 hour 15 for me but came out beautifully. I agree with the others that seasoning the chicken ahead of time is a great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      it taste ok and easy so why not

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Like everyone says... this is a great super easy, super, quick and super cheap meal. I almost wasnt' able to get everything in my 2 qt. casserole dish. I will use a bigger dish next time to allow the chicken to not overlap. I also didn't need the 1/2 cup of water. But, that might be because my rice was 5 minute rice. I did use a spicer salsa for my husband. That made a big difference in the taste for him. The rice mixture was delicious. Next time I will season the chicken a little more. The chicken was very moist. But a little bland. I'm going to keep this recipe as one of my go-to's. Everything's already in the pantry! Thanks for sharing a great find!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      This is a super easy and quick meal. It did take 1 hr & 30 min for the rice to get done. Next time I may put it in a larger pan and cover with foil instead of using a lid. I used medium salsa and it had plenty of zip (and we like spicy)! I sprinkled lots of chili powder, salt, pepper and garlic powder on the chicken before placing it in the casserole. Hubby liked it & that's all that matters. Thanks for posting Aroostook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      I baked this in my Pampered Chef covered baking dish with brown rice for about 20 minutes longer. It was excellent. I should've known you were a Frenchman's wife from Maine like me. Thank you for all the great recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      I made this tonight for a crowd of family and it was a super hit! Didn't change a thing, it was really easy to put together but I did cut the breasts in half (they were a little large) and have now got requests for copies before they leave. While I'm here to print those I thought I'd add my rave review. I love it when a recipe makes me look so clever in the kitchen. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      This dish had great flavor, and it was pretty quick to prepare. I highly recommend soaking the rice for at least ten minutes in warm water because my rice was still hard long after the chicken was thoroughly cooked. I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      This was so delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      This is easy and tasty casserole. I used jasmin rice and soaked them in water. I covered the dish with foil while baking and it turned out perfect. Chicken was juicy and moist and rice were tender. Next time i will throw some green onion along with cheese. Great recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This recipe lacks flavor. If I make it again I'll add a can of rotel tomatoes and perhaps some more seasonings (mexican spice blend perhaps or even taco seasoning to the mixture...) Some diced onions would also be good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      This chicken was great. I mixed some pepperjack chese with the cheddar cheese and it gave it a nice little zip. My family loved it, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      Its good but could be better. This is how i think it could be better: Marinade chicken in advance Cut/tear meat into small pieces and mix with. Possibly add some red peppers in there (Wife's suggestion) Good, tasty, easy to make dish overall. I Like Eugene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (418 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 496.8
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    31%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 103.2 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1221.2 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 39.1 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites