272 Reviews

This is a quick throw together meal. I used brown rice, which is all we had. I put the rice in a cup and poured boiling water over it and let it soak for 10 minutes. I also used a whole can of whole kernel corn, drained, a whole can of rinsed black beans, and medium salsa. A 13x9 glass dish was a must since it overfilled my 2 qt casserole. I covered and baked at 375 for 1 hour 15 minutes, and it came out perfect. The rice was soft, and it wasn't mushy or soupy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ki4aoa November 21, 2008

I thought this was a great dish! Fast, easy, and with the spicyness of the rice, it was ok that the chicken was a bit bland. It balanced out nicely. My only complaint would be that the cook time needs to be increased. After 45 minutes a couple of my chicken breasts were still pink. I put it all back in for another 15 minutes, and while the chicken finished, the rice was still only a little over half done (we ate it anyway). In the end I'd say cook the whole thing for an hour at the least and maybe put the rice mixture in for about 15 minutes before adding the chicken to ensure that it all gets done. Good recipe though, and I'll definately make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise Nachtigal April 12, 2004

I followed the directions, but after 45 min., the rice mixture was very watery. I too had to cook it 20 min. longer, and then rice became mushy. I am guessing this recipe is sensitive to the type of rice used (I used basmati). The taste was pretty good, so I might try it again--using less water and browning the rice as one reviewer suggested.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImBecca March 17, 2004

For those of you who had rice troubles, I have a recipe similar to this, and it helps the rice to cook if you brown it first in a skillet with 1 tb of butter- Just a helpful hint! Oh and don't over cook the rice, just heat it up on med heat until the rice looks see through.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retrocutie March 11, 2004

What more can I add about this fabulous recipe! I used "hot" salsa and also added a few shakes of hot sauce. I also added the black beans. I cooked this for one hour since I was concerned about the rice not being cooked. It was absolutely delicious! I certainly will be making this again. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaM March 09, 2004

This is 5 star for sure. You were right when you said throw it together and pop it in the oven. This was so easy to prepare. I didn't change a thing and it was absolutely delicious. I will definately make this again. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy February 04, 2004

Did not look so good while I mixed it up. Wasn't sure this would be as good as the ratings-but wow! Dh who doesn't like new things raved! Certainly will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHERYL IN MI May 16, 2003

Great recipe! My whole family loved this! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ArcherK December 11, 2014

I honestly made a lot of changes to this recipe which I had made once before but felt was pretty bland. I'm giving four stars because it makes a great foundation recipe, clean-up is a snap if you mix it in the pan and line it with foil. I added 2 tsp cumin, a small can diced jalapeños (made it VERY spicy), the juice of one lime, a red bell pepper, chopped and half an onion, chopped. We also put shredded cheese and greek yogurt on top once it was out of the oven. I would have given this five stars but the chicken was pretty lacking. I mean sure, the rice makes up for it but next time I'm going to marinate it so it comes out with more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just_Gwen March 12, 2014
Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake