272 Reviews

So delicious! I only had cream of mushroom soup and used it instead and it turned out fabulous- also used rotel tomatoes instead of salsa but otherwise followed the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staci.spass March 13, 2011

So Good!! I added onions and green chiles and put some garlic pepper on the chicken along with the chili powder and added some taco seasoning!! Everyone loved it! I will be making this again. I cooked it for a hour

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melmel3032 March 02, 2011

Wow this is really a good dish. I added 1 can of rotelle tomatoes ans a small can of mild green chiles, If I could give it 6 stars I would.. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef OG January 29, 2011

We really enjoyed this! I used a whole can of Rotel plus a whole can of drained pinto beans, out of black beans, and a cup of semi-thawed frozen corn. Since I used an entire can of Rotel, I decreased the water to about 1/3 a cup. Used 2 large chicken breasts. Covered with foil and a heavy lid, baked for one hour. Used some extra chili powder and cumin in the rice mix, along with liberal sprinkling of chili powder, salt, pepper and a dash of chipotle powder on the chicken. Let sit for about 15 min covered after baking, sprinkled cheese on right before serving. Delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 November 30, 2010

OMG!!! one of our favorites!! i did make some slight changes..I doubled the recipe. I used half tomato sauce/ half salsa, added some cumin, more chili powder, garlic powder, a softened up onion cooked w/ crushed red pepper to add slight heat. This was a really great recipe!! thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babydoll070409 November 22, 2010

Instead of salsa I used a can of Rotel and increased a few things to feed a larger group of people like the cream of soup, chicken and corn. It took a bit longer to cook and looked a little off but tasted great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m.lipe July 12, 2010

I used gluten-free cream of chicken soup and added black beans. I also browned the rice in butter beforehand like other reviews said and cooked it for an hour not 45 minutes. It was a very easy dish to make and it was very yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strawberrygirl0414 May 23, 2010

Ok. Let me just say that I maybe shouldn't be rating this, but am doing so on concept, since I did several things to cheat. First, I used left over, cooked rice. I used semi-drained rotel instead of salsa, chopped left over chicken, and threw in half a can of olives i had in the fridge. Oh, and a hefty sprinkling of homeade taco seasoning and no water. I just mixed everthing up, including the cheese, dumped it in a dish, and threw it in the oven until hot and bubbly. We then ate it wrapped in tortillas. Yum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlueRidgeMama March 05, 2010

Guess I am in the minority here, this just didn't work for me. My husband said it was ok, but I didn't care for it at all. I didn't have any trouble with the rice not getting done, but the whole thing was just a pan of glop, maybe it needs more rice, more seasoning, more something. I did dice the chicken before stirring it in with the sauce as the reviews said over and over that the chicken didn't get done but even though everything was done, it just wasn't good. Sorry

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SammiCat January 14, 2010

I just made this for lunch today and it was great. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly except I used brown rice. It took a little longer to cook (about 20 minutes) than the recipe said, maybe due to the brown rice. I also cut the chicken into small pieces. This was very good and I will be making it again. It's also very easy to make, which I like. I may try a vegetarian version by skipping the chicken and adding more beans and cheese so there's enough protein. Thanks for a great and easy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharbysyd December 10, 2009
Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake