Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake

    Average Rating:

    270 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 270

    Sort by:

    • on July 29, 2012

      This recipe was ok, however, after all the rave reviews I too was expecting more. I utilized canned chicken and mixed it in with the rice and added a can of green chilies as well. It was good and my teenage boys chowed down on it, but my husband and I found it to be lacking flavor. The rice took quite a bit longer to cook than called for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2012

      This recipe caught my eye as I was trying to use items I have in freezer & pantry. I thought I would try to fix it in the crock pot (due to the extreme heat) and it does work. I wasn't sure how long to cook it, but 4 hours on HI for 4 breasts (2.25 lbs) was too long. The chicken was dry and the rice over cooked. Next time I will go for 3 to 3-1/2 hours and increase the water (may sub out low sodium chicken broth) by 1/4 cup. I think it would also be good to add in a poblano or green pepper & maybe a can of chopped green chilies for a little extra "zip". Over all, very nice, EASY recipe that I will make again. Thanks for posting and I will re-review when I make again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2012

      It was okay....The chicken was moist, but the rice was undercooked. The flavors are a little bland. I definitely recommend adding Sriracha sauce to the mix. Also...I don't really understand why it's "Spanish"??

      I think this could be a good recipe for kids, but not really for grown-up taste buds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      My dinner turned out very well. I cooked in a 3qt dish since I did not have a 2qt one. For the chicken I seasoned with garlic salt, chili powder and some ground white pepper on both sides. In the rice I added cut green peppers, pepperoncini, and onions a lot more chili powder. I had no problem getting my rice to cook but I also use medium grain rice and a convection oven. Because I cannot find good black beans now that I live in the northern US, I added red beans instead and cooked for 40 minutes at 350 (convection oven) and it was completely done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2012

      Excellent! I am making this for the second time because the entire family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      Holy cow! This is a favourite in our house - an absolute favourite! I've made some small substitutions to make it fit into my diet, but this is fantastic!
      I cube the chicken and mix it in with the rice, as it takes on the flavour even better. Instead of adding salsa, I add original Rotel, and I omit the beans and corn in favour of chopped up peppers and a finely chopped stalk or two of celery. Instead of adding water, I add a little chicken broth - just for some extra zing! Sometimes I also add some jalapenos.
      This recipe has a super solid foundation of awesome, and I highly recommend it! Make changes so it suits your taste - you can't really go wrong!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      My rice was soggy and the chicken was bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      Wow. Talk about EASY! Followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. The only thing is because I needed to leave it in 10 more minutes for the rice, the chicken over cooked a bit. Next time, I'm going to cut the chicken into bite sized pieces and add to the rice mixture, hopefully keeping it moist. We'll see! Thanks for the GREAT recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2012

      Very easy to put together. I used medium salsa and the optional black beans. Yummy Tex-Mex flavor and something a beginner cook could make. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2012

      I made this as a side dish without the chicken. I used cream of mushroom soup, an entire can of corn, kidney beans, and a 14 oz. can of chopped tomatoes, and 1 can drained sliced mushrooms, as that is what I had on hand. I also added 1 cup of brown rice and 1 cup of water (which included the liquid from the can of corn). In addition to the chili powder I added garlic powder, onion powder, pepper, cumin, paprika. The package of rice said to soak for 30 minutes, which I did. Threw is all together in a 9 x 13 glass pan. Covered with foil, then with a cookie sheet on top to hold in the juices. After 1 hour, it was perfect. I took it out and added the cheese and let it sit for 10 minutes/covered. I will make this again with and without chicken. (Next time will try cutting chicken breasts or thighs into smaller pieces and adding to the rice mixture.) We ate this for a few days as wonderful leftovers. Thank you for this forgiving, easy, and delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      This was such an easy dish and eveyone in my family loved it. I had to substitute red kidney beans for the black beans because i had ran out. This will be a recipe that will be used often. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      This dish is amazing. It is very similar to the crockpot Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese, which is also amazing! I only eat brown rice and with this we have to use parboiled rice rather than the regular brown rice, or just cook it a lot longer. We also used our own cream of chicken soup mix rather than the canned stuff. Such a good recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

    • on August 22, 2011

      everyone loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      Wow, this was really good! I thought it was very flavorful and the salsa I used was World Table Roasted Tomato Chipotle Roja Salsa from Walmart. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      I was prepared to cook this for an hour due to other reviewers...and I ended up having to cook it about an hour and fifteen minutes. Needless to say, the chicken was a little dry...but not unbearable. I added the black beans as suggested and a can of sliced black olives since a few reviewers mentioned it lacked a little flavor. I also added 1/2 a packet of taco seasoning to the mix and seasoned the chicken with chili powder, garlic powder and cumin. Everyone loved the flavor. It was easy to assemble it all. Only problem is over cooking the chicken. I may try adding the chicken later...maybe a 1/2 hour into the baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      This was a fast easy weeknight recipe..I used chicken tenders and cooked it for one hour...turned out perfect..I too added a can of green chopped chilies...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

    • on April 02, 2011

      We made this while taking the "United Way Hunger Challenge." For the challenge, as a couple we had to live off of $12 per day for all our meals/drinks. This was a very economical and easy recipe. I cut up the chicken into chunks and mixed it in with the rice and everything else. Also, we used a can of diced tomatoes instead of salsa and didn't have any chili powder. Still it was very tasty and was our lunch for most of the 5 day challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      This was so easy to put together.. and tasted great! The chicken cooked perfectly and tasted wonderful along with the jasmine rice. I used broth instead of water and only 2 boneless skinless breasts. I used a dish with a tight fitting lid AND tinfoil under neither and it still took 1 hour and 5 minutes to cook. The rice was still crunchy and hadnt absorbed the liquid after 45 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (418 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 496.8
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    31%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 103.2 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1221.2 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 39.1 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites