273 Reviews

I really modified this one, but was very happy with the results. Will do this one with the right ingredients next time. Used Cream of mushroom, vermicelli rice, 2 cups of water, cooked chicken (leftovers) and no black beans. The result was a little moist but real tasty. Had to cook it about 15 more minutes. Can't wait to do it right.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rick Goeringer February 07, 2003

This was excellent. I used a can of Rotel because I was out of salsa, chicken broth in place of water and added 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. I will definitely be making this again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna H July 25, 2011

Love, love, love this recipe!! Though, I had to bake for longer than 45 minutes, it was more like an hour. I also added some diced mild green chilies for extra flavor. My roommates and I have found that it tastes even better the next day! Thank you for sharing :o)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jla529 January 11, 2011

It seems silly to review this,since there are already so many,but I wanted to add my thoughts.The chicken turned out moist and tender,I used medium salsa,which had just enough 'kick' for my family.I added more liquid after reading some reviews that said their rice wasn't cooked.I should have stuck with the recipe,as my rice was a bit soupy.Next time I make it..and there WILL be a next time,I will add the water as the recipe states.Good dish,easy to prepare and tasty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Divinemom5 July 21, 2003

Excellent!! Followed directions except I had to cook it an additional 12 minutes. Great flavor and so easy! DH agrees, it's a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda G. May 06, 2003

I used this in my OAMC menu and it was great. I put all the ingredients in a bad and froze. Then on cooking day I just thawed, dumped and cooked. It was delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angabre November 17, 2011

For starters, I used brown rice instead of white and I'm sure this contributed to my problem. I read a lot of other reviews and anticipated that 45 minutes would not be enough time to cook the rice fully, so I cooked it for an hour and 20 minutes in a 2 quart dish. Even after that long of cooking time the rice was still very chewy. I give it 4 starts because the flavor was actually really good and I think I would make it again, maybe just cook the rice partially beforehand.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mononica620 November 15, 2011

We definitely had issues with the rice not cooking fast enough, so I would definitely recommend putting a piece of tin foil over the baking dish in addition to the lid for the dish. Also, as it was cooking, the dish filled up with juices and got super bubbly and dripped into the oven, so putting a cookie dish under the baking dish would probably be a good idea

Other than that, this recipe is great. The chicken was nice and tender, and the rice was delicious. We used an entire can of black beans only because we knew we wouldn't be able to use the other half that the recipe didn't call for before then went bad, but it didn't make the recipe overly beany.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
collettem October 24, 2011

Yummy and super easy for a busy weeknight. Instead of canned soup, I used Cream Soup Substitutes. Baked for 1 hour. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama May 08, 2011
Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake