Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake

    Average Rating:

    271 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 271

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2014

      The whole family enjoyed this meal! I did add a little more salsa (1/4-1/2 cup) just so the jar didn't get put back in the fridge and forgotten. I had to bake it a little longer to have the extra liquid from salsa absorb. It was still delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      The rice was fantastic, but the chicken didn't have much flavor.. When I make it again I'll cook the chicken separately with salsa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2013

      This came out great. I think it is a good recipe that can be altered easily to your liking such as adding green chiles, jalapenos, taco seasoning, or others. I added some salsa and sour cream seasoning that I had and it came out great. This one is going into the rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      I had some bone-in roasted chicken leftover from a few nights ago - instead of the raw chicken breasts, I shredded my leftovers and used that instead. I didn't have to cook it quite as long this way, and it gave me something new to do (instead of soup or sammies!) I bet this would be great for leftover turkey also. I served this with taco tortillas and the fixins' (guac, salsa, diced tomatoes, cheese) for a new spin on taco night. Perfect easy weeknight meal - thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      It was a hit with my family - even my picky toddler! I accidentally opened a can of kidney beans instead of black beans, and added some garlic powder. Other than that, I followed recipe and really enjoyed the flavor! <br/>I ran into the same problem that a lot of other people had: I presoaked my rice for 10 minutes, and covered the casserole dish, but after 45 minutes, the chicken was still pink, the rice wasn't cooked, and it was still really runny. So I cooked it for another 20 minutes at 400F, added the cheese on top and let it sit in the hot oven for another 4 minutes, and it turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      I made this tonight with what we had around the house, so it was a little different from the recipe, but delicious! Thought I'd post in case anyone else wanted a variation. Used 1 can of tomato sauce instead of the cream of mushroom soup and added a full can of water to the mix. I used a can of corn, and a Costco-sized can of chicken (both drained, of course). I also increased the chili powder and added some cumin and some salt. Baked for just over an hour. Stirred it a couple times during baking. Topped with a bit more cheese and then crushed tortilla chips and put it back in the oven until bubbly. Everyone loved it. Will have to try it as written next!! Thanks for posting such a versatile recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      Very tasty! I used my husbands homemade salsa from the garden, 3/4 teaspoon chili powder, 1 teaspoon cumin. I left the corn and the beans out and used chicken thighs. My whole family liked it. I had enough to take for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

    • on April 10, 2013

      I give this recipe, as directed three stars. It was good, but there were problems. I made this exactly as the recipe asked, but in 45 minutes the chicken was not done. My chicken breasts were not very large, so I was surprised. I put it in the oven for an additional 15 and the chicken was still not done. I did sample the rice and found I liked the flavor, but the chicken was my major concern. By now it was getting close to dinner time and the chicken was still not done. I finally thought to shred the chicken. I did that, added the cheese, and returned to the oven for an additional ten minutes. This time it was done. I am rating the recipe as directed three stars. After I shredded the chicken, I added a bit of goya seasoning. I then had some soft tortilla shells and prepped those served with some corn chips on the side for a bit of texture.That received favorable reviews here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      Yummy! This was soo good and delicious! I did your Recipe a little different though! I added Brown Rice instead of White Rice, I also did 4 tbsp of Salsa instead of a cup like your Recipes states and I also seasoned mine with Adobo! I also have to agree with others 45 minutes was not enough cooking time! I had to cook it 20 minutes more! But besides that this Recipe is awesome I would love to hug you for sharing this Delicious Dish!
      Grazie :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      It is so yummy! I didn't have any corn so i substituted peppers and celery and it turned out great I will have to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      This was so delicious! I didn't have any salsa so I used 3/4c taco sauce, omitted the corn (my son is allergic), added a can of black beans & about 1/2 cup of Italian style shredded cheese (what I had on hand.) I also added about 1/4 tsp dried mustard (sounds weird but it was good!), 1/4 tsp cumin, and 1/2 tsp chili powder. I diced the chicken & laid it on top of the rice mixture & lightly sprinkled Italian seasoning, s&p, cumin & chili powder on top of the chicken. It was soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      This was a fast, easy and delicious meal! The only thing I wanted to mention was the cooking time. I found that 45 min was not long enough, when I checked the dish at this time the chicken was still not cooked. I found it took roughy and hour and a half until it was fully done :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      I agree with others that have reviewed this recipe. The rice (uncooked) as called for ends up not being cooked in the recommended time and oven temperature. It was crunchy and undercooked. I recommend that you use cooked rice or minute rice, because uncooked long grain white rice ends up not being cooked thoroughly. I even cooked it for an additional 15 minutes because it didn't appear to be cooked through and bubbly as I would have excected. The taste was very good and would have been a great recipe with the exception of the rice being undercooked and the time/temperature not accurate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2012

      The only change I made was using broth rather than cream of chicken. Just a preference. I also partially boiled the rice in water with some chili powder, just to speed things up in the oven. Chicken tenders were very moist. I did add the black beans. The recipe was good and very easy, so I'm giving it 4 stars, but it wasn't exactly the fabulous dish I expected after reading the outstanding reviews. Will make again, though. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      Made this dish this evening. I doubled the rice, salsa, soup, and water. Baked covered for 1 hour and put cheese on then returned to the oven uncovered for a 15 minutes. It turned out perfect!! I did liberally season chicken with salt, pepper, and chili powder. Also added a few dashes of Frank's Red Hot! Thanks for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      This was ok... Took almost 1.5 hours before it was no longer soup... still had to add plenty of cheese to thicken it up... maybe my pan wasn't shallow enough??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

    • on August 20, 2012

      Very good. I made the recipe as directed using bone in chicken breasts, fresh off the cob corn and 1 cup of black beans. The chicken was cooked perfectly and the rice was yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      Made it tonite and even the one year old liked it! I par-boiled my brown rice for 20 mins and I made my own cream soup by making a roux and adding chicken stock powder. Baked for 30 mins. Very yummy and like the chicken and rice you get at the Mexican restaurants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (418 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 496.8
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    31%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 103.2 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1221.2 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 39.1 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes