Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake

    Average Rating:

    270 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 270

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2011

      So delicious! I only had cream of mushroom soup and used it instead and it turned out fabulous- also used rotel tomatoes instead of salsa but otherwise followed the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      So Good!! I added onions and green chiles and put some garlic pepper on the chicken along with the chili powder and added some taco seasoning!! Everyone loved it! I will be making this again. I cooked it for a hour

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      Wow this is really a good dish. I added 1 can of rotelle tomatoes ans a small can of mild green chiles, If I could give it 6 stars I would.. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      We really enjoyed this! I used a whole can of Rotel plus a whole can of drained pinto beans, out of black beans, and a cup of semi-thawed frozen corn. Since I used an entire can of Rotel, I decreased the water to about 1/3 a cup. Used 2 large chicken breasts. Covered with foil and a heavy lid, baked for one hour. Used some extra chili powder and cumin in the rice mix, along with liberal sprinkling of chili powder, salt, pepper and a dash of chipotle powder on the chicken. Let sit for about 15 min covered after baking, sprinkled cheese on right before serving. Delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      OMG!!! one of our favorites!! i did make some slight changes..I doubled the recipe. I used half tomato sauce/ half salsa, added some cumin, more chili powder, garlic powder, a softened up onion cooked w/ crushed red pepper to add slight heat. This was a really great recipe!! thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Instead of salsa I used a can of Rotel and increased a few things to feed a larger group of people like the cream of soup, chicken and corn. It took a bit longer to cook and looked a little off but tasted great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      I used gluten-free cream of chicken soup and added black beans. I also browned the rice in butter beforehand like other reviews said and cooked it for an hour not 45 minutes. It was a very easy dish to make and it was very yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Ok. Let me just say that I maybe shouldn't be rating this, but am doing so on concept, since I did several things to cheat. First, I used left over, cooked rice. I used semi-drained rotel instead of salsa, chopped left over chicken, and threw in half a can of olives i had in the fridge. Oh, and a hefty sprinkling of homeade taco seasoning and no water. I just mixed everthing up, including the cheese, dumped it in a dish, and threw it in the oven until hot and bubbly. We then ate it wrapped in tortillas. Yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Guess I am in the minority here, this just didn't work for me. My husband said it was ok, but I didn't care for it at all. I didn't have any trouble with the rice not getting done, but the whole thing was just a pan of glop, maybe it needs more rice, more seasoning, more something. I did dice the chicken before stirring it in with the sauce as the reviews said over and over that the chicken didn't get done but even though everything was done, it just wasn't good. Sorry

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      I just made this for lunch today and it was great. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly except I used brown rice. It took a little longer to cook (about 20 minutes) than the recipe said, maybe due to the brown rice. I also cut the chicken into small pieces. This was very good and I will be making it again. It's also very easy to make, which I like. I may try a vegetarian version by skipping the chicken and adding more beans and cheese so there's enough protein. Thanks for a great and easy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      This is a quick throw together meal. I used brown rice, which is all we had. I put the rice in a cup and poured boiling water over it and let it soak for 10 minutes. I also used a whole can of whole kernel corn, drained, a whole can of rinsed black beans, and medium salsa. A 13x9 glass dish was a must since it overfilled my 2 qt casserole. I covered and baked at 375 for 1 hour 15 minutes, and it came out perfect. The rice was soft, and it wasn't mushy or soupy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2004

      I thought this was a great dish! Fast, easy, and with the spicyness of the rice, it was ok that the chicken was a bit bland. It balanced out nicely. My only complaint would be that the cook time needs to be increased. After 45 minutes a couple of my chicken breasts were still pink. I put it all back in for another 15 minutes, and while the chicken finished, the rice was still only a little over half done (we ate it anyway). In the end I'd say cook the whole thing for an hour at the least and maybe put the rice mixture in for about 15 minutes before adding the chicken to ensure that it all gets done. Good recipe though, and I'll definately make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2004

      I followed the directions, but after 45 min., the rice mixture was very watery. I too had to cook it 20 min. longer, and then rice became mushy. I am guessing this recipe is sensitive to the type of rice used (I used basmati). The taste was pretty good, so I might try it again--using less water and browning the rice as one reviewer suggested.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2004

      For those of you who had rice troubles, I have a recipe similar to this, and it helps the rice to cook if you brown it first in a skillet with 1 tb of butter- Just a helpful hint! Oh and don't over cook the rice, just heat it up on med heat until the rice looks see through.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      What more can I add about this fabulous recipe! I used "hot" salsa and also added a few shakes of hot sauce. I also added the black beans. I cooked this for one hour since I was concerned about the rice not being cooked. It was absolutely delicious! I certainly will be making this again. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2004

      This is 5 star for sure. You were right when you said throw it together and pop it in the oven. This was so easy to prepare. I didn't change a thing and it was absolutely delicious. I will definately make this again. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2003

      Did not look so good while I mixed it up. Wasn't sure this would be as good as the ratings-but wow! Dh who doesn't like new things raved! Certainly will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2014

      I honestly made a lot of changes to this recipe which I had made once before but felt was pretty bland. I'm giving four stars because it makes a great foundation recipe, clean-up is a snap if you mix it in the pan and line it with foil. I added 2 tsp cumin, a small can diced jalapeños (made it VERY spicy), the juice of one lime, a red bell pepper, chopped and half an onion, chopped. We also put shredded cheese and greek yogurt on top once it was out of the oven. I would have given this five stars but the chicken was pretty lacking. I mean sure, the rice makes up for it but next time I'm going to marinate it so it comes out with more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      Easy but tasty dish for a week night meal. We left out the beans (not a fan), but threw in some pimento stuffed green olives which added a nice punch of flavour every now and then. Thanks Aroostook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      The whole family enjoyed this meal! I did add a little more salsa (1/4-1/2 cup) just so the jar didn't get put back in the fridge and forgotten. I had to bake it a little longer to have the extra liquid from salsa absorb. It was still delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (418 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 496.8
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    31%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 103.2 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1221.2 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 39.1 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites