Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake

    Average Rating:

    270 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 270

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2002

      This recipe is rated 5 stars by all 3 of us! I did add the remaining salsa in the jar (about 1/4 cup), and I added black beans to it as someone else suggested (since I'm a vegetarian). Other than those minor additions, I followed the recipe exactly. It was a wonderful one-dish meal. Hubby and son said the chicken was juicy, tender and very flavorful, and they loved the rice too. I had the rice (with some sauted tofu). We all agreed that the rice had a wonderful flavor and texture (wasn't soggy or gloppy). Its nice to be able to please the carnivores and the vegetarian without having to cook 2 separate meals! I also made a tossed mixed-green salad to go with it. This recipe was so easy to prepare, I've added it to my repertoire of chicken dishes :) Thanks so much for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      I made this recipe last night for dinner and we loved it! I have given the recipe to three other people and they are all making it for dinner tonight. The only thing I did differently is add black beans. We will definitely be having this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      This one got 5 stars from DH and the grandkids. I used a medium salsa, added a can of rinsed and drained black beans, and used 1 ear of fresh corn (cut from the cob). Had to cook about 15 minutes longer, but that was no problem. It turned out great. DH is already asking me to make this one again. Thanks, Barb! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2002

      My family loved it and it was SO easy to make! Definitely will make this one again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      This was really good. Hubby had 2 servings. I prefer a little spicier, but had to use mild salsa for hubby and daughter. I served this with cornbread and green salad. Very easy and yummy, thank-you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      Easy to make and very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2002

      excellant recipe! it's so easy, delicious, and adds a new twist to chicken and rice. i'd recommend this recipe to anyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2002

      This was good and very easy to make. In fact, my 10 year old son put it together, with me watching, of course, to see that he followed the directions accurately. We enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      Loved this dish! It was so delicious and had the most wonderful mix of flavors! I've never had success with Spanish rice before, so thank you, Barbara!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2002

      This was great! I used medium salsa and chicken drumsticks. I cooked it about 1 hour 15 minutes and the rice stuck a little but still tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2003

      I really modified this one, but was very happy with the results. Will do this one with the right ingredients next time. Used Cream of mushroom, vermicelli rice, 2 cups of water, cooked chicken (leftovers) and no black beans. The result was a little moist but real tasty. Had to cook it about 15 more minutes. Can't wait to do it right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2002

    • on July 25, 2011

      This was excellent. I used a can of Rotel because I was out of salsa, chicken broth in place of water and added 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      Love, love, love this recipe!! Though, I had to bake for longer than 45 minutes, it was more like an hour. I also added some diced mild green chilies for extra flavor. My roommates and I have found that it tastes even better the next day! Thank you for sharing :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      It seems silly to review this,since there are already so many,but I wanted to add my thoughts.The chicken turned out moist and tender,I used medium salsa,which had just enough 'kick' for my family.I added more liquid after reading some reviews that said their rice wasn't cooked.I should have stuck with the recipe,as my rice was a bit soupy.Next time I make it..and there WILL be a next time,I will add the water as the recipe states.Good dish,easy to prepare and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2003

      Excellent!! Followed directions except I had to cook it an additional 12 minutes. Great flavor and so easy! DH agrees, it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      I used this in my OAMC menu and it was great. I put all the ingredients in a bad and froze. Then on cooking day I just thawed, dumped and cooked. It was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      For starters, I used brown rice instead of white and I'm sure this contributed to my problem. I read a lot of other reviews and anticipated that 45 minutes would not be enough time to cook the rice fully, so I cooked it for an hour and 20 minutes in a 2 quart dish. Even after that long of cooking time the rice was still very chewy. I give it 4 starts because the flavor was actually really good and I think I would make it again, maybe just cook the rice partially beforehand.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      We definitely had issues with the rice not cooking fast enough, so I would definitely recommend putting a piece of tin foil over the baking dish in addition to the lid for the dish. Also, as it was cooking, the dish filled up with juices and got super bubbly and dripped into the oven, so putting a cookie dish under the baking dish would probably be a good idea

      Other than that, this recipe is great. The chicken was nice and tender, and the rice was delicious. We used an entire can of black beans only because we knew we wouldn't be able to use the other half that the recipe didn't call for before then went bad, but it didn't make the recipe overly beany.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      Yummy and super easy for a busy weeknight. Instead of canned soup, I used Cream Soup Substitutes. Baked for 1 hour. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (418 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 496.8
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    31%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 103.2 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1221.2 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 39.1 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites