272 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I only used 3 chicken breast halves and felt that there was too much chicken compared to the rice mixture. I will make with 1 or 2 chicken breast halves next time and 45-50 minutes was not nearly long enough. The chicken was cooked on top and raw on the bottom. It took my dish 1hr 15min to get done. I would suggest cutting the chicken into bite size pieces and mix in with the rice mixture to get the cooking time down to 45 min. Also, some of the rice was undercooked, I think this could be corrected by stirring the dish about half way through. The flavor was good, but I added some diced jalapenos when eating the leftovers and it was even better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wilson_2178 December 26, 2009

My family of 7 loves this recipe!! I use pace medium salsa, I do use the rinsed can of black beans, and I typically only have brown rice on hand so I use that but I cook it first so I don't add the water. Baking time was only about 30-45 minutes - depending on how long the chicken needs to cook through. My spanish foriegn exchange student said "this isn't "spanish rice" but it is very good!" ;) We make this meal often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TaraSutton December 06, 2009

This was okay. It was very salty, and kind of boring. I think that the kind of salsa you put in makes all the difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IAteMyGluestick October 07, 2009

Oh so good! I used brown rice and expected it to take longer to bake, but it took a full 2 hours for the rice to cook through. Despite the time it took to cook I really loved the flavors! I also added cumin and paprika along with the chili powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rohanlori September 29, 2009

The flavors of this dish were fabulous. Although my chicken placed on top dried out considerably. Next time I would cut them up and incorporate them into the rest of the mixture before baking. I also added the cheese to the rice mixture instead of on the top. Thank you for posting this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judith Fraser September 04, 2009

yummy and super easy dinner, will definitely use for those busy days I don't have time to cook. I seasoned the chicken with adobo, cumin, and paprika and it really gave the dish that extra mexican flavor i was looking for. thanks for a great dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashmo August 23, 2009

This was so good! And filling, too! There were a few changes I made, though. I used an entire can of black beans, about 1 cup of rice, 1.5 cups of corn, 1.25lbs of chicken, 1.5 cups of salsa and about 1.5 cups of water. Since some of the reviews said the chicken was bland, I seasoned them with fajita seasoning. I baked the dish for 55minutes, and the rice had a small bite to it, but it gave the dish a nice crunch. I will make this yummy dish again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
20XCRunner12 July 31, 2009

I love this recipe! I made it last night and not only was it super easy, but it was very delicious! I substituted cream of chicken soup with Healthy Substitute for Cream of Chicken Soup (healthier homemade version of cream of chicken soup) and it still turned out great! Easy, healthy, and yummy...what more could you want???!!! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CieJF June 17, 2009

Very good recipe. Simple & tasty; a good combination to have on a busy work night. I made the recipe as written & my rice cooked out just fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newmsy May 25, 2009
Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake