Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake

    Average Rating:

    270 Total Reviews

    Showing 241-260 of 270

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2006

      My DH really liked this dish. He wants to try the leftovers in tortillas which I thought would be good also. I cooked the chicken before adding but only because I'm paranoid about meat! And I added hot sauce to the mixture. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      Made this tonight.Omitted the beans and the chili powder and used medium salsa, and it was plenty spicy, thank you! The kids were divided on this:two liked it and wanted it again, and two said it was too spicy. I, however, loved it and will make it again! Thanks for posting, Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      I omitted the rice and cubed and cooked the chicken before adding to the recipe. I baked it for about 30 min at 350. My husband loved it. He took some to work and said it tasted even better cold! It was quick, easy and very tastey! Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      We are trying once a month cooking, soI added this recipe to my list. I froze it in the baking pan, and simply thawed it in the fridge the day I cooked it. We cut up the chicken, used frozen corn, and added extra water to make up for the juice of the corn. There were a few pieces of rice that seemed crunchy, but we will stir halfway through next time to see if this helps. Needless to say, we all LOVED it, and it will become a staple in our OAMC recipe book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2006

      Made this last night and found it easy to make and tasty. Only problem was that the cooking time was way off. It took much longer than the 45 min. stated for the rice to be cooked through. I eventually had to set the chicken aside b/c it was getting dry and put the rice back in the oven to cook some more. I think next time what I'll do is use boneless skinless chicken thighs (b/c they can take a lot of abuse) and dice them up and mix them into the mixture, that way I won't have to be worrying about things cooking at different times. Great complete meal for those busy weekdays when rounded out with a green salad. Thanks Aroostook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      Excellent recipe - we used the cup of black beans, ancho chile powder, cream of mushroom soup, spicy salsa, chicken broth instead of water, and added the cheese before baking. Was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2006

      This was really tasty. I seasoned the chicken with taco seasoning and used the whole can of black beans. It cooked in about an hour and my whole family enjoyed it. Thanks for a great, easy, and tasty recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      Wonderful casserole! Definitely a keeper. I used leftover chicken and cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken. Like many other reviewers, I added the suggested black beans. It did take longer to cook than the recipe stated -- I cooked at 375 degrees for an hour and 300 degrees for an additional half hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      We loved this! Simple yet good tasting dish. I omitted corn. I sprinkled chili powder on top along with salt and pepper. Next time since i have two children I'll leave the chili powder off. The salsa had enough kick to it! To serve we sprinkled with a Mexican Cheese blend and sour cream. Yummy! TY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      Made this tonight and OMG everyone loved it! I added a whole can of corn and a whole can of black beans. Since I didn't have long-grain white rice, I just made instant on the stove. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2005

      Very tasty! We didn't have black beans so we substituted with canned spicy pinto beans. This will definitely be entering into our family's regular dinner cycle! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2005

      This was so good! I don't know what I did wrong, because it was a little too soupy for our tastes, but it was still fantastic. My husband requested that next time I just cut the chicken up into pieces, so I will try that. The only cheese I had on hand was mozzerella, but it still was so yummy! I also used fat free cream of chicken soup (maybe that is why it was more watery??) :) I will be trying this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      Add me to the list of satisfied reviewers! We loved this recipe....made exactly as written except I only used 2 chicken breast halves for 2 of us. There is some left for lunch today....yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      We really enjoyed this casserole. This is the second time I have made it. I used bonesless, skinless thighs that I seasoned with garlic powder, chili powder, cumin, salt and pepper. I also quickly browned the chicken. I mixed the rice (I used 1 cup of rice), salsa, soup (only had cream of mushroom), water (I increased to 1 cup since I increased my rice amount), corn and black beans and poured into a greased large casserole, topped with a layer of cheese then the chicken - covered and baked for 1 hour and then uncovered topped with cheese and cooked for 15 more minutes. Very tasty - very easy!!! My 8 year old just loves this. I would think that this would also work well in a crockpot as one reviewer mentioned. Thanks for posting. Really easy weeknight - fix and forget meal!!!! Served with green salad and tortillas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2005

      This was really delicious and so easy to make and clean up! I made a few modifications though... I increased the water to 1 cup and used basmati rice. I also used cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken. I added a couple shots of hot sauce and some garlic powder, salt and pepper and omitted the black beans. I also cooked it for 1 hour and then topped it with the cheese and broiled it until golden. Delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      Pretty quick and easy way to get dinner on the table. I am not going to rate this because I changed the recipe quite a bit based on reading a good number of reviews that had made such suggestions. But if I was rating my version, I'd give it 4 stars. Convenience would be the main reason for making this recipe. I added an extra 1/4 cup of salsa (I used my posted recipe: Don Emilio's Salsa), an additional 1/4 cup of water, 1/4 cup of tomato sauce, 1 clove of garlic, minced, 1 small onion, chopped fine, 1 can of corn kernels, 1 tsp. ground cumin and an extra 1/2 tsp. chili powder and instead of 1/2 c. shredded cheese, I increased it to about 1 1/2 cups. I did season the chicken breasts with salt & pepper, as several people suggested. I had used Sello Rojo rice, which is a bit stickier than regular long grain rice. I checked the dish after 55 minutes of baking and found that the rice wasn't anywhere near cooked. I cooked it for a total of 1 hour and 20 minutes, adding the cheese 5 minutes before baking ended, cooking uncovered.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      Excellent meal. This was easy to prepare and my dinner date loved it. The only change I made to the recipe was adding another 15 to 20 minutes more overn time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      I, too, had trouble getting the rice to cook...we left it in the over almost an hour and a half, but it was still crunchy. Next time, I'll cook instant rice in advance and combine it. Great taste, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2005

      Fantastic! I added some tobasco to the salsa and come cumin to the black beans. I also cut the chicken into bite sized pieces. Reduced fat cheese and soup worked out well--great great meal, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2005

      What a fast, yummy meal! This dish is really so eas yto throw together that I'll be rotating it into our monthly menu. I'm not a fan of hot food, but this is the type of dish that you can spice up to your liking. I found mild salsa and the seasoning hot enough, but for you three, four and five alarmers, use a hotter salsa, more chili and voila, there you go! Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (418 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 496.8
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    31%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 103.2 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1221.2 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 39.1 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites