272 Reviews

Very easy to put together. I used medium salsa and the optional black beans. Yummy Tex-Mex flavor and something a beginner cook could make. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' March 07, 2012

I made this as a side dish without the chicken. I used cream of mushroom soup, an entire can of corn, kidney beans, and a 14 oz. can of chopped tomatoes, and 1 can drained sliced mushrooms, as that is what I had on hand. I also added 1 cup of brown rice and 1 cup of water (which included the liquid from the can of corn). In addition to the chili powder I added garlic powder, onion powder, pepper, cumin, paprika. The package of rice said to soak for 30 minutes, which I did. Threw is all together in a 9 x 13 glass pan. Covered with foil, then with a cookie sheet on top to hold in the juices. After 1 hour, it was perfect. I took it out and added the cheese and let it sit for 10 minutes/covered. I will make this again with and without chicken. (Next time will try cutting chicken breasts or thighs into smaller pieces and adding to the rice mixture.) We ate this for a few days as wonderful leftovers. Thank you for this forgiving, easy, and delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inklady February 17, 2012

This was such an easy dish and eveyone in my family loved it. I had to substitute red kidney beans for the black beans because i had ran out. This will be a recipe that will be used often. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenzyGirl November 22, 2011

This dish is amazing. It is very similar to the crockpot Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese, which is also amazing! I only eat brown rice and with this we have to use parboiled rice rather than the regular brown rice, or just cook it a lot longer. We also used our own cream of chicken soup mix rather than the canned stuff. Such a good recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mMadness97 October 27, 2011

everyone loved this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
niki_c August 22, 2011

Wow, this was really good! I thought it was very flavorful and the salsa I used was World Table Roasted Tomato Chipotle Roja Salsa from Walmart. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leila Moujaes May 24, 2011

I was prepared to cook this for an hour due to other reviewers...and I ended up having to cook it about an hour and fifteen minutes. Needless to say, the chicken was a little dry...but not unbearable. I added the black beans as suggested and a can of sliced black olives since a few reviewers mentioned it lacked a little flavor. I also added 1/2 a packet of taco seasoning to the mix and seasoned the chicken with chili powder, garlic powder and cumin. Everyone loved the flavor. It was easy to assemble it all. Only problem is over cooking the chicken. I may try adding the chicken later...maybe a 1/2 hour into the baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dizzyfreedom May 08, 2011

This was a fast easy weeknight recipe..I used chicken tenders and cooked it for one hour...turned out perfect..I too added a can of green chopped chilies...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc April 21, 2011
Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake