272 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made it tonite and even the one year old liked it! I par-boiled my brown rice for 20 mins and I made my own cream soup by making a roux and adding chicken stock powder. Baked for 30 mins. Very yummy and like the chicken and rice you get at the Mexican restaurants.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oreogirl12 August 16, 2012

This recipe was ok, however, after all the rave reviews I too was expecting more. I utilized canned chicken and mixed it in with the rice and added a can of green chilies as well. It was good and my teenage boys chowed down on it, but my husband and I found it to be lacking flavor. The rice took quite a bit longer to cook than called for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Nurse July 29, 2012

This recipe caught my eye as I was trying to use items I have in freezer & pantry. I thought I would try to fix it in the crock pot (due to the extreme heat) and it does work. I wasn't sure how long to cook it, but 4 hours on HI for 4 breasts (2.25 lbs) was too long. The chicken was dry and the rice over cooked. Next time I will go for 3 to 3-1/2 hours and increase the water (may sub out low sodium chicken broth) by 1/4 cup. I think it would also be good to add in a poblano or green pepper & maybe a can of chopped green chilies for a little extra "zip". Over all, very nice, EASY recipe that I will make again. Thanks for posting and I will re-review when I make again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ July 02, 2012

It was okay....The chicken was moist, but the rice was undercooked. The flavors are a little bland. I definitely recommend adding Sriracha sauce to the mix. Also...I don't really understand why it's "Spanish"??

I think this could be a good recipe for kids, but not really for grown-up taste buds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saejinkwak June 16, 2012

My dinner turned out very well. I cooked in a 3qt dish since I did not have a 2qt one. For the chicken I seasoned with garlic salt, chili powder and some ground white pepper on both sides. In the rice I added cut green peppers, pepperoncini, and onions a lot more chili powder. I had no problem getting my rice to cook but I also use medium grain rice and a convection oven. Because I cannot find good black beans now that I live in the northern US, I added red beans instead and cooked for 40 minutes at 350 (convection oven) and it was completely done!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrMrsMonarch June 04, 2012

Excellent! I am making this for the second time because the entire family loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HilaryEm June 02, 2012

Holy cow! This is a favourite in our house - an absolute favourite! I've made some small substitutions to make it fit into my diet, but this is fantastic!
I cube the chicken and mix it in with the rice, as it takes on the flavour even better. Instead of adding salsa, I add original Rotel, and I omit the beans and corn in favour of chopped up peppers and a finely chopped stalk or two of celery. Instead of adding water, I add a little chicken broth - just for some extra zing! Sometimes I also add some jalapenos.
This recipe has a super solid foundation of awesome, and I highly recommend it! Make changes so it suits your taste - you can't really go wrong!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patti-atti May 29, 2012

My rice was soggy and the chicken was bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes March 26, 2012

Wow. Talk about EASY! Followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. The only thing is because I needed to leave it in 10 more minutes for the rice, the chicken over cooked a bit. Next time, I'm going to cut the chicken into bite sized pieces and add to the rice mixture, hopefully keeping it moist. We'll see! Thanks for the GREAT recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber C. March 14, 2012
Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake