273 Reviews

I give this recipe, as directed three stars. It was good, but there were problems. I made this exactly as the recipe asked, but in 45 minutes the chicken was not done. My chicken breasts were not very large, so I was surprised. I put it in the oven for an additional 15 and the chicken was still not done. I did sample the rice and found I liked the flavor, but the chicken was my major concern. By now it was getting close to dinner time and the chicken was still not done. I finally thought to shred the chicken. I did that, added the cheese, and returned to the oven for an additional ten minutes. This time it was done. I am rating the recipe as directed three stars. After I shredded the chicken, I added a bit of goya seasoning. I then had some soft tortilla shells and prepped those served with some corn chips on the side for a bit of texture.That received favorable reviews here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KJSnow April 10, 2013

Yummy! This was soo good and delicious! I did your Recipe a little different though! I added Brown Rice instead of White Rice, I also did 4 tbsp of Salsa instead of a cup like your Recipes states and I also seasoned mine with Adobo! I also have to agree with others 45 minutes was not enough cooking time! I had to cook it 20 minutes more! But besides that this Recipe is awesome I would love to hug you for sharing this Delicious Dish!
Grazie :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
italiancooker55 February 10, 2013

It is so yummy! I didn't have any corn so i substituted peppers and celery and it turned out great I will have to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tifbo123 February 04, 2013

This was so delicious! I didn't have any salsa so I used 3/4c taco sauce, omitted the corn (my son is allergic), added a can of black beans & about 1/2 cup of Italian style shredded cheese (what I had on hand.) I also added about 1/4 tsp dried mustard (sounds weird but it was good!), 1/4 tsp cumin, and 1/2 tsp chili powder. I diced the chicken & laid it on top of the rice mixture & lightly sprinkled Italian seasoning, s&p, cumin & chili powder on top of the chicken. It was soooo good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmpowers82 January 16, 2013

This was a fast, easy and delicious meal! The only thing I wanted to mention was the cooking time. I found that 45 min was not long enough, when I checked the dish at this time the chicken was still not cooked. I found it took roughy and hour and a half until it was fully done :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leanne.m. October 29, 2012

I agree with others that have reviewed this recipe. The rice (uncooked) as called for ends up not being cooked in the recommended time and oven temperature. It was crunchy and undercooked. I recommend that you use cooked rice or minute rice, because uncooked long grain white rice ends up not being cooked thoroughly. I even cooked it for an additional 15 minutes because it didn't appear to be cooked through and bubbly as I would have excected. The taste was very good and would have been a great recipe with the exception of the rice being undercooked and the time/temperature not accurate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rrn58 October 28, 2012

The only change I made was using broth rather than cream of chicken. Just a preference. I also partially boiled the rice in water with some chili powder, just to speed things up in the oven. Chicken tenders were very moist. I did add the black beans. The recipe was good and very easy, so I'm giving it 4 stars, but it wasn't exactly the fabulous dish I expected after reading the outstanding reviews. Will make again, though. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ October 24, 2012

Made this dish this evening. I doubled the rice, salsa, soup, and water. Baked covered for 1 hour and put cheese on then returned to the oven uncovered for a 15 minutes. It turned out perfect!! I did liberally season chicken with salt, pepper, and chili powder. Also added a few dashes of Frank's Red Hot! Thanks for the recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wv.mario October 22, 2012

This was ok... Took almost 1.5 hours before it was no longer soup... still had to add plenty of cheese to thicken it up... maybe my pan wasn't shallow enough??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Lumpy October 05, 2012
Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake