Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake

    Average Rating:

    270 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 270

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2002

      Oh YUM! This was perfectly awesome, and so fast and easy to put together. The aroma towards the end of baking had everybody coming to the kitchen to ask what was cooking. I used meduim salsa and it was just right for our tastes...not too spicy, but had a little kick. I used chicken breast tenders and put in a whole can (12 oz. vacuum pack) of corn. I didn't measure the cheese, but I know I put at least a cup of finely shredded Mexican 4-cheese blend on top. The rice I used was just a store-brand long grain. I will be making this often. It is so easy that even my kids could make it and not mess it up. THANK YOU Barbara!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2002

      Wonderful and tasty. I did add 1 cup of rinsed and cooked black beans in step #1. I would also suggest to lightly season chicken breast with salt and pepper before baking. I will be making this dish often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      This was absolutely delicious! I added 1 cup of black beans as well. Then about 10 drops of tabasco to the medium salsa we used because we love things spicy! I cooked it for 45 mins like the recipe says to but the rice was not fully cooked so I added 20 more minutes to it. Then I removed the chicken, sprinkled it with cheese, then sprinkled the remaining cheese on the rice,corn and beans and let it cook about 5 more minutes to allow the cheese to melt. The chicken was tender and the rice could have been a meal in itself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2002

      I followed the recipe and when I took the foil off after cooking it was pretty dry and the rice was still hard. I had even added the water from the can of corn. So I added about a half cup more water, salt and red pepper and losely covered and cooked for about 15 more minutes. I added more cheese and let it sit in the hot oven for about 20 more minutes. Now the rice is perfect and the dish taste pretty good. Pretty basic but the ease and taste makes it worth trying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2002

      This is great, soooo easy to prepare and tastes terrific. This is one of the best one-dish meals I have had in a very long time. The mixture of the rice and soup comes out so creamy, and the salsa gives it a nice kick. I served this with some refried beans and it was a great meal. Thanks so much for posting this one, I will be making it often!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      This dish is wonderful...I loved it, and so did my hubby and my little boy. I added a little more water (2tbs) and a little more rice (about 1/3 cup) and put some shredded cheddar cheese in the mix also. Thank you so much for a fast and yummy dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2002

      This was very easy to prepare and great because it's a meal "in one dish!" Flavour was great and I used the Jasmine long grain rice - very unique taste. I would certainly make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2002

      Delicious! I used a spicy hot salsa and skinless chicken legs. Very tasty. I served it along with steamed broccoli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2002

      This was very good, I used medium salsa and I replaced the cream of chicken soup with low sodium, low fat chicken broth. I will certainly make it again, it was enjoyed by all! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2002

      Really quite tasty. The rice has a great flavor and the chicken is tender. I sprinkled the chicken breast with some garlic as well as the chili powder and let marinate for about 2 hours before baking. All in all a good, easy dish with universal appeal - DH, DS and 2 yr old granddaughter all liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2002

      After reading all the fabulous reviews, I expected a bit more from this dish. I found that the chicken lacked flavour. The rice mixture was tasty, and I may make that part of the recipe again. I just didn't find the "kick" in this recipe with the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      I followed this recipe exactly and unfortunately this dish did not turn out as I had expected. I cooked it for the 45 minutes as indicated, but the rice was still not cooked, so I added almost another 30 minutes of cooking time. But even with the extra cooking time, some of the rice was still crunchy, not fully cooked. The flavor was ok. If I decide to give this recipe another try, I would definately add additional seasonings to the chicken to give it more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2002

      I'm not rating this recipe because I only took ideas from it and incorporated two other recipes to make my own recipe. I give this a 5 star rating on concept, prep work, etc. Since I didn't use all the same ingredients, I can't rate it for flavor. I followed the instructions, but instead of salsa, I used finely chopped onions. Instead of the corn, I used chopped green chilis. I also added cumin to the rice mix and changed how I seasoned the chicken. I marinated the chicken in a lime/cumin/garlic marinade for about an hour. Once I mixed the rice concoction together and placed the chicken breasts on top, I scooped about 8 teaspoons for the marinade and poured it over the chicken and rice mixture. I then baked it as instructed. The rice was too die for, but the chicken lacked in flavor and moistness. Thanks for the wonderful ideas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      This was very good and so easy to prepare. I was a bit distracted while making this, so I ended up using the entire jar of hot salsa instead of just one cup, so I skipped the water. I also used the juice from the corn (wasn't sure if I was supposed to drain it or not)and added a bit more rice and chili powder and some crushed garlic. I cut the chicken into bite-size pieces and mixed ALL the ingredients together (it didn't look that great). Then I poured it all into the shallow baking dish and covered, I stirred it halfway through baking (it was still a bit watery, but the rice eventually soaked up the extra liquid by the time it was done cooking) and added the rest of the cheese on top. Smelled and tasted great, BF was hesitant since he saw the "before" but once he smelled and tasted it, we knew it was a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2002

      This is one of the quickest and easiest recipes ever and so tasty!! I used basmati rice and soaked it first in hot water then mixed everything together. This is definitely one that is going to be prepared again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2002

      I'm really sorry to give this recipe such a low rating, but I followed the recipe exactly and after 1 hour of baking it was still very watery and not done cooking. I put it in for another 30 minutes and the rice was still crunchy. I checked my oven tempeature and it's correct, so that's not a problem. I was so looking forward to tasting this recipe, but I had to throw it out and go out for dinner. I will try it again and if goes better I will resind my 2 star rating. I really wanted to give it more stars , but in good faith I can not. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2002

      It tastes quite good but not that kind of making me saying delicious again and again. I used the mild salsa. I didn't use this sauce before. I worried that I cannot stand its spicy taste and so I chose the mild one. I must use at least medium one next time because the mild one is totally not spicy. I think this dish should be more spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2002

      This was OK. After all the rave reviews, I expected it to be spectacular. It just seemed that something was missing. Not bad, just not what I expected.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2002

      This was very easy to prepare and very good. I really loved the rice mixture. I could just eat that without the chicken. The chicken was moist and tasty. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2002

      My latest new project is adapting recipes to be able to cook in a crockpot. This recipe was a delicious breeze! I used the 99% Fat Free Cream of Chicken, added about 1/2 cup more water and 1/2 cup more salsa, and diced the chicken up into bite size pieces. I dumped everthing into my crockpot last night and put it in the fridge. This morning I simply took it out of the fridge and put the crockpot on low. The aromas that greeted me upon my arrival this afternoon were delightful and the dish turned out spectacular. It resembled a thick stew. I ladeled helpings into a dish and topped with shredded cheese and chopped green onions. The family devoured it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanish Chicken & Rice Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (418 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 496.8
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    31%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 103.2 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1221.2 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 39.1 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites