Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spanakorizo (A Greek Spinach Risotto) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanakorizo (A Greek Spinach Risotto)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2003

      I close my eyes and I'm in Greece while I eat this delicious risotto. I used the Arborio rice for this dish and was thrilled to discover that I could make a risotto without standing for a half hour of more, stirring and adding broth to my rice. It came out exactly right...creamy. I add the feta, and think it added a wonderful dimension, but my husband doesn't care for it and left it out. I'm keeping this recipe to make some other risotto variations using the same proportions, since it turned out so well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      I really liked the combination of lemon juice and dill in this, as it gave it a distinctive taste. We served it with feta cheese. Kalamata olives would have been good too but we didn't have any. My only comment would be to add the spinach a little later in the cooking process because I felt it came out a bit slimy. Also, we thought the amount of olive oil was excessive so we reduced it substantially.:) Thanks evelyn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2004

      Great and easy, really tastefull. I used lime juice (that's what I can get here in razil), jasmine rice and sardo cheese, it turned out a little too acidic, but great. Next time I'll cut the lime juice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2013

      Reminds me of home. Very good recipe and much close to the real thing. I would add a little extra tomato paste. Adding a little more fresh olive oil, lemon and feta on your serving plate is a MUST.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Wonderful new way to make risotto. This combines two of my favorites into one great dish. I made it just as described and it turned out delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      I've made this 3 times in the last 3 weeks! I can't believe I forgot to review it. I love Evelyn's recipes so much that I will make anything with her name on it. I know it will be straight-forward to prepare, at least fairly healthy and that it will have wonderful flavor! We have another staple, Efharisto!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

      One of my favorite vegetarian meals. I made it last night but I also used fresh tomato and one teaspoon tomato paste and added the lemon just before serving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      Will definitely make this recipe again and again! I prepared the spanakorizo using risotto and on another occasion, I used brown rice. The dish is excellent with either rice! I used my pressure cooker which sped up the cooking time. Brought in this dish to my Greek friends at work and I received MANY compliments! This dish is now a frequent request from my children (ages 15, 14 and 9)! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      Love this . . . went very well with our roast pork loin. Because there are only two of us I cut the recipe in half. Did not have fresh lemon juice so substituted white wine and it was great! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      This was a great side to our london broil! Simple and Tasty - a great combination! The olives and the feta really give this the flavor it needs - dont skip them. Thanks Ev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2004

      I made this for last night's dinner, and am having the leftovers for breakfast this morning - - it's that good. The proportions are perfect, everything simply blends together to create something fabulous. I used converted rice, and added feta at the table. Wonderful! Thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanakorizo (A Greek Spinach Risotto)

    Serving Size: 1 (566 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 515.7
     
    Calories from Fat 253
    49%
    Total Fat 28.1 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 146.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites