Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spanakopita Triangles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spanakopita Triangles

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2004

      If someone has never worked with phyllo before, or haven't messed with it in a few years, this is not a great recipe to start practicing with the dough on. Phyllo is something that works best when worked with quickly, and wrapping the triangles does take some extra time. If one combines that with learning how to handle the dough, they could become frustrated. However, if they would manage to make it through the process, they would find that they would be rewarded with the most excellent of spanakopita recipes, and find out why preparing it this way, as opposed to a pie (which is a better beginner recipe) is so much better. The layers of flaky crust are mouthwatering! So if one doesn't mind the added hassle of messing with it (like me), this is definitely the recipe to go with. I did add just a touch of extra feta in mine, as the pack was slightly larger than 4oz and I just threw it in. Worked fine. I got loads of compliments for these at my meal and would not hesitate to make these again, even if I did say a few bad words when putting them together. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      The filling mix is really good! But working with Phyllo is really hard if you've never worked with it before ( Like Me ) I'm thinking maybe next time I make these that I pre-cut the Phyllo into strips after taking it out of the box and then I'll layer them that way. Oh yeah, I needed help trying to figure out how to fold the triangles so I ended up watching this tutorial on YouTube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u-5rnAWUMO0 Near the end of it the person making the Phyllo unlocks the seceret to perfect Phyllo triangles!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      This was very yummy, I used fresh spinach and only cooked half of it, used the other half raw and it gave a very fresh taste. Left out the dill because I don't like it! They only took about 15 minutes to cook at 400. I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      I can't believe I didn't review this the first time I made it! I LOVE these. They are great party food. I took them to a pot-luck party and they were DEVOURED. Excellent recipe. I followed the recipe except I used dried dill (that was all I could find at the market) and instead of cutting the phyllo into thirds, I cut it in half to make bigger triangles. They were SO good. I'll be making this again today for another gathering this evening. Everyone was excited when I told them I'd be making this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      I had a lot to make the day I made these (thanksgiving) so i bought the little phyllo cups and just scooped the filling into them. they came out wonderful. thanks so much for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      WOWEE!!! These were the absolute, hands-down best spanakopita my husband and I have ever tried!!! We added a little extra feta (to finish up what we had) then the next time we used the amount in the recipe - we both preferred it with a little extra feta. Also we ended up halving the recipe but still needing a whole pkg of phyllo dough, but we both felt the amount we put in each triangle was perfect so who knows...we've made this a total of 3 times now and it's definitely staying in our arsenal of recipe favorites!! oh and we use dry dill and just shake it on till it looks about right. These are really easy to make and much preferable to big caserole layered types, the triangles are so handy. I'd say the biggest challenge for us so far has been to remember to put the phyllo dough pkg in the fridge the night before!! dupes us every time...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2005

      Great Recipe. I used to love Spanakopita when I lived in Athens and had completely forgotten about them. Never realised they were so easy to make. The only thing I added was a sqeeuze of lemon juice. Great! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      Work fast and melt plenty of butter - works best with clarified butter - easy to make, just melt butter (about 3 stick minimum) slowly and then pour off the clear (save this - it is the clarified butter), leaving the opaque solids to add into other meals (a dab in your rice water makes delicious rice or over steamed vegies). The clarified butter yields crispier phyllo, as does using olive oil instead of butter.<br/>That said, this is a nice balanced recipe that shines with the addition of the dill and generous feta. Keeper recipe which I will certainly use again. Make ALOT of triangles - I brushed a sheetwith clarified butter, then cut in half lengthwise. I then folded each length in 1/2 longwise a plunked a tablespoon of spinach mix & folded up the length, making triangles (like folding a flag(. That way I got 2 triangles fr each sheet of phyllo and the folding went fast. Last sheet was still pliable. Good luck, work fast & be generous with your oil of choice - this recipe is worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      Very good filling and very easy. I deleted the dill and added garlic. After reading the warnings about phyllo, I just used some empanada pastry dough we already had. I brushed those with egg and baked for 20 minutes.
      My husband loved it. Excellent flavor! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      This recipe is AWESOME! Love it! I don't add the dill, but that is just personal preference. Make this all the time. Thanks steve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      Great recipe! Definitely an addition to my recipe book! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      Awesome I couldn't believe how good these were!! I completely agree with users you tube video, just ff to the end. Great tip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      The filling was great, but I had problems creating the triangles using the phyllo dough. As reviewers had mentioned, you need the technique and the patience to put the whole recipe together. I did try using phyllo cups instead but the phyllo flat sheets were much better taste wise. I will work on my phyllo 'technique' and try this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      This was very delicious. Basically, I just used the filling in this nrecipe and used Sara Moulton's phyllo dough recipe. I made a few changes to the recipe, I used 2 tsp of dried dill, subbed part of the onions for green onions (used one small onion and a med onion and 1 c of gree onions) and I added a tsp of oregano. I think next time I make this, I will use fresh baby spinach as I've made spanakopita before and I think fresh spinach tastes better, also I saw another recipe that added lemon juice and cumin. I also will add less oil next time as 1/2 c of oil was too much for sauteing the onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spanakopita Triangles

    Serving Size: 1 (2456 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 248.3
     
    Calories from Fat 166
    67%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 62.6 mg
    20%
    Sodium 338.0 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes