16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipes would have been a little confusing had I not known how to make sushi rice since you never mention how to use the vinegar. That said, I made my usual sushi rice recipe using short grain rice, rice vinegar and sugar. I then pressed it into a baking pan lined with saran wrap and let it sit for a little bit while I worked on the Spam. I turned the rice out onto a board and topped with Spam slices and cut around them with a wet knife. I then cut each one in half b4 wrapping them in a strip of nori. There were mixed reviews on this but I loved them. I don't like spam but since I was having a Hawaiian theamed party I thought, why not. I may actually make these for myself again (DH and the kids didn't care for them). I really did enjoy them and cutting them in half made them a good size for finger food. Thanks for posting this. It was fun to try and a great converstation piece. UPDATE: These freeze very well. Wrap tightly in saran wrap and pop in the freezer. You can microwave them if you wish but be careful. Its best if you let them sit out or in the fridge to defrost. If you take them along for lunch just pop them in your bento box in the morning and they should defrost by noon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse March 26, 2008

ONO!! Thank you! I have experimented with using other meats as well. Chicken (Teriyaki, sweet and sour, bbq), Kalua Pork, Korean bbq Beef (boneless of course), Hot Dogs (with chilli too), Miso Salmon. Just put in what ever you like with rice. It's endless.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobf44 December 12, 2011

This looks wonderful! I bet my friend Alex would just loooooove it. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrairieHarpy April 02, 2010

We were having "Hawaiian Days" at our work to break up the blahhs of winter. My boss used to live in Hawaii and when I asked her to give me ideas on something to make, she requested this dish. It was a hit for those who had eaten Musubi before. They said the rice is the hardest part and they loved mine. I gave only 4 stars for your recipe because you did not have any instructions for the sweet rice. I used Sushi Rice for the sweet rice. I personally liked the musubi, but the sauce was too salty for my tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gadgetsmidnight February 20, 2009

Gotta love spam musubi! I first tried them out when I was on vacation at Hawaii... it was great as a quick snack on the go.. easily found at any corner store. There weren't any instructions how to prepare the sushi rice, so I just used regular steamed rice. -1 star for that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cali_love January 22, 2009

Loved this! I did add a little bit of brown sugar to the sauce, and found it easier to make this into maki rolls, by cutting the spam slices in half lengthwise. I used the left over sauce for dipping, and it was fantastic! Thank you for such a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C. Taylor November 11, 2008

I love Spam and always get this at O'Hana's. Now I can make my own, my daughter was in heaven!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pastinky February 10, 2008

Born and raised in Hawaii, and making Spam Musubi's for nearly all of my life... I HAVE NEVER HAD A BETTER TASTING MUSUBI... Thank you so much for a new and improved way to make them! My hubby and his friends are going on a fishing/camping trip this weekend and I wanted to make them something extra special! AND EXTRA SPECIAL IS WHAT I GOT HERE :) I used only 1/4 cup of the rice vinegar. I went by taste so that it wouldn't be too sweet. AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME and of course... "MAHALO!"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teenah February 08, 2008

I made this recipe so many times i got sick of them (but in a good way). Needless to say it's a great easy recipe ...LOVED IT. And so much cheaper than going to the local store than makes them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eating healthy October 01, 2007

I have so missed Spam musubi since moving back from Oahu. This recipe is so good, and tastes exactly as I remember it. I lucked out and still had my plastic musubi-shaper from Long's. Good thing, since I'll be making these lots. Mahalo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VenomousKate April 15, 2007
Spam Musubi