Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spam Musubi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spam Musubi

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2008

      This recipes would have been a little confusing had I not known how to make sushi rice since you never mention how to use the vinegar. That said, I made my usual sushi rice recipe using short grain rice, rice vinegar and sugar. I then pressed it into a baking pan lined with saran wrap and let it sit for a little bit while I worked on the Spam. I turned the rice out onto a board and topped with Spam slices and cut around them with a wet knife. I then cut each one in half b4 wrapping them in a strip of nori. There were mixed reviews on this but I loved them. I don't like spam but since I was having a Hawaiian theamed party I thought, why not. I may actually make these for myself again (DH and the kids didn't care for them). I really did enjoy them and cutting them in half made them a good size for finger food. Thanks for posting this. It was fun to try and a great converstation piece. UPDATE: These freeze very well. Wrap tightly in saran wrap and pop in the freezer. You can microwave them if you wish but be careful. Its best if you let them sit out or in the fridge to defrost. If you take them along for lunch just pop them in your bento box in the morning and they should defrost by noon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      ONO!! Thank you! I have experimented with using other meats as well. Chicken (Teriyaki, sweet and sour, bbq), Kalua Pork, Korean bbq Beef (boneless of course), Hot Dogs (with chilli too), Miso Salmon. Just put in what ever you like with rice. It's endless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      This looks wonderful! I bet my friend Alex would just loooooove it. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      We were having "Hawaiian Days" at our work to break up the blahhs of winter. My boss used to live in Hawaii and when I asked her to give me ideas on something to make, she requested this dish. It was a hit for those who had eaten Musubi before. They said the rice is the hardest part and they loved mine. I gave only 4 stars for your recipe because you did not have any instructions for the sweet rice. I used Sushi Rice for the sweet rice. I personally liked the musubi, but the sauce was too salty for my tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Gotta love spam musubi! I first tried them out when I was on vacation at Hawaii... it was great as a quick snack on the go.. easily found at any corner store. There weren't any instructions how to prepare the sushi rice, so I just used regular steamed rice. -1 star for that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Loved this! I did add a little bit of brown sugar to the sauce, and found it easier to make this into maki rolls, by cutting the spam slices in half lengthwise. I used the left over sauce for dipping, and it was fantastic! Thank you for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      I love Spam and always get this at O'Hana's. Now I can make my own, my daughter was in heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Born and raised in Hawaii, and making Spam Musubi's for nearly all of my life... I HAVE NEVER HAD A BETTER TASTING MUSUBI... Thank you so much for a new and improved way to make them! My hubby and his friends are going on a fishing/camping trip this weekend and I wanted to make them something extra special! AND EXTRA SPECIAL IS WHAT I GOT HERE :) I used only 1/4 cup of the rice vinegar. I went by taste so that it wouldn't be too sweet. AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME and of course... "MAHALO!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      I made this recipe so many times i got sick of them (but in a good way). Needless to say it's a great easy recipe ...LOVED IT. And so much cheaper than going to the local store than makes them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      I have so missed Spam musubi since moving back from Oahu. This recipe is so good, and tastes exactly as I remember it. I lucked out and still had my plastic musubi-shaper from Long's. Good thing, since I'll be making these lots. Mahalo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      These are the best!! We were stationed at Schofield Barrack, Hawaii, so my kids grew up on these. They are better than hot dogs at ball games and are great to pack for quick and easy lunches or picnics. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2006

      My husband is from Oahu and he introduced these to me. I beg my husband to make them for me. It was interesting how instead of selling hotdogs at sports games, they would sell these. I never thought Spam could be so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2005

      I love musubi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2005

      Fixed these for the grandkids as they never knew how it tasted. I have to keep making it now. Raised on Kauai and this is great. I sprinkled some furukaki on the rice before wrapping with seaweed. Furukaki can be found in Japanese store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2004

      I lived on Oahu for 4 years and this became a staple snack for me. I love this recipe so much. It proves that spam is a tasty snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      Wonderful, tangy and salty and delicious. I've been wanting to try this for a long time and am so glad I did. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spam Musubi

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 389.1
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    27%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 29.7 mg
    9%
    Sodium 589.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.9 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh seaweed

    soy sauce

    honey

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites