12 Reviews

Creamy is right! Why, this was downright velvety, and a flaming orange in colour. I used water instead of stock, and omitted the lemon zest, because, er... I don't know how to zest a lemon! All the ingredients just blend in beautifully to make a flavourful, nutritious and hearty sauce. This made for a fantastic lunch today. Thanks!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu October 07, 2002

Delicious way to eat spaghetti! Much more flavorful that canned pasta sauces. Once pureed, you'd never really know that this wasn't a regular tomato sauce. I used my own homemade vegetable stock instead of canned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chakramspice June 04, 2010

not only delicious, but beautiful: looks like confetti in a pot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diggroweatdance October 11, 2009

This was an interesting change from the traditional tomato sauce. And it was so easy to make! My BF had doubts about this as I was making it as he saw the big chunks of red peppers and tried to convince me to put some tomatoes in the sauce. It has a very sweet and velvety taste. I used chicken stock as that is what I had on hand and added mushrooms and mild italian sausage. I'm not sure about the lemon zest but perhaps it would have been better with chicken. I'd make this sauce again for sure. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQutie May 31, 2008

We really loved this pasta. The flavor was such a welcome change from boring tomato sauce. It's easy to make & looks very pretty. I did have to use one green pepper because I realized too late that I only had two red ones. But I don't think it made that much difference in taste. My son thought I was crazy when he saw me zesting over the bowl. But the lemon zest adds an acidic element that compliments the peppers quite nicely. Thank you for sharing, Moody!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** January 25, 2008

I have allergies to tomatoes and have missed traditional spaghetti sauce so much! I made this today and it was great!!! To keep the sodium low, I didn't use the stock, but added some cooked ground turkey and small chunks of zucchini after I blended it..Let it all simmer together while it thickened.. Great recipe! I agree, there should be more stars on this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandale99 January 04, 2008

Absolutely delicious. One of the best pasta sauces I have had. Very easy to make and a hit with all, young and old. We make this recipe once a week now. A true delight. Thank you Moody.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nazo September 27, 2007

I love tomato-based sauces and making this, I wasn't certain that we'd enjoy it. Well we absolutely did! Lovely aromatic flavour. Definitely a keeper! Thanks Moody!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyberry April 05, 2006

I want to give more stars! This is so amazing and easy. I was not in a good mood for cooking today but felt hungry and decided to try this, I am so happy I did it completely changed my mood. this was so good that I had to lick it off all the utensils I used!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zainab23 April 01, 2006

i followed the recipe exactly except for using chicken stock rather than veggie stock. this sauce is a very good sauce and was fairly simple to make too. the lemon really makes a taste difference so it should not be passed up. i will make this sauce again and next time i may try roasting the peppers, garlic and onions a bit before hand to see how it tastes. thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer in new jersey April 07, 2005
Spaghetti with Sweet Red Pepper Sauce