21 Reviews

I am in the middle of a bumper crop of heirloom tomatoes and was looking for something fast and easy, using what I had on hand. WOW!!!!!! Was I shocked at how yummy this was. Sometimes I have been known to change up the recipes a bit, but on this one I didn't after reading reviews. Even the husband wanted to get his hands into it and add more oil, garlic and basil. I ended up having to ban him from the kitchen while I was making this dish. This was a great surprise!!!! We were fighting over the serving bowl during dinner!! THANKS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 148068 July 29, 2005

Great recipe! made 4 servings and used about 10 romas to do it. Perfect recipe to use if your overwhelmed with tomatoes. I didn't have fresh basil, but the dried basil seemed to do the trick.(1tsp dry). I prolly could of used more basil, but I didn't want to over do it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Austin S. September 13, 2014

I used canned diced tomatoes, fresh basil, used the full amount of sugar and this was wonderful. It isn't supposed to be a garlic or parmesan dish. I made it just as stated and it was surprisingly wonderful! Oh, I did add leftover rotesserie chicken because we needed some protein for our main dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollie6001 September 16, 2008

I give this 5 stars IF you use the finest of ingredients. I used my homegrown tomatoes & basil, fresh (as in not dried) pasta. I did add parmesan, but only because a friend just returned from Italy and gave me some that is fabulous. All in all, it was a simple and very tasty dish. I think I'd like it with a little roasted garlic too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ July 13, 2006

A friend gave me some basil and overripe tomatoes from her garden so I put them to good use in this recipe. I wanted to try the recipe as written without doctoring up with parmesan and garlic to make it Italian. I didn't measure anything--just pinched and poured. I think I used between 2 & 3 ounces of spaghetti. It was just right for one serving. This was absolutely delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda B October 03, 2005

Fabulous! How easy, quick and delish can this be???????!!! Skipped the sugar because the tomatoes were sweet enough. Added roasted garlic! Used Angel hair pasta (Personal Favorite)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ September 28, 2005

I thought this was just ok. I made the recipe as written but after tasting added garlic and parmesan, which helped sway me a bit. I guess I'm not a fan of fresh tomato sauces either.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 September 13, 2005

This was sooo nice!Very refreshing and soo tasty. Loved it! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soulmatesforever September 11, 2005

I used linguini in this recipe and added a little garlic and fresh parmesean. I thought it was quite tasty and quick. A great way to utilize my garden tomatoes and fresh herb garden. Thanks Thorsten for something light and fresh.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petdrwife September 10, 2005
Spaghetti With Fresh Tomatoes and Basil