Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaghetti With Fresh Tomatoes and Basil Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaghetti With Fresh Tomatoes and Basil

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on July 29, 2005

      I am in the middle of a bumper crop of heirloom tomatoes and was looking for something fast and easy, using what I had on hand. WOW!!!!!! Was I shocked at how yummy this was. Sometimes I have been known to change up the recipes a bit, but on this one I didn't after reading reviews. Even the husband wanted to get his hands into it and add more oil, garlic and basil. I ended up having to ban him from the kitchen while I was making this dish. This was a great surprise!!!! We were fighting over the serving bowl during dinner!! THANKS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2014

      Great recipe! made 4 servings and used about 10 romas to do it. Perfect recipe to use if your overwhelmed with tomatoes. I didn't have fresh basil, but the dried basil seemed to do the trick.(1tsp dry). I prolly could of used more basil, but I didn't want to over do it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

    • on September 16, 2008

      I used canned diced tomatoes, fresh basil, used the full amount of sugar and this was wonderful. It isn't supposed to be a garlic or parmesan dish. I made it just as stated and it was surprisingly wonderful! Oh, I did add leftover rotesserie chicken because we needed some protein for our main dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2006

      I give this 5 stars IF you use the finest of ingredients. I used my homegrown tomatoes & basil, fresh (as in not dried) pasta. I did add parmesan, but only because a friend just returned from Italy and gave me some that is fabulous. All in all, it was a simple and very tasty dish. I think I'd like it with a little roasted garlic too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      A friend gave me some basil and overripe tomatoes from her garden so I put them to good use in this recipe. I wanted to try the recipe as written without doctoring up with parmesan and garlic to make it Italian. I didn't measure anything--just pinched and poured. I think I used between 2 & 3 ounces of spaghetti. It was just right for one serving. This was absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      Fabulous! How easy, quick and delish can this be???????!!! Skipped the sugar because the tomatoes were sweet enough. Added roasted garlic! Used Angel hair pasta (Personal Favorite)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      I thought this was just ok. I made the recipe as written but after tasting added garlic and parmesan, which helped sway me a bit. I guess I'm not a fan of fresh tomato sauces either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      This was sooo nice!Very refreshing and soo tasty. Loved it! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2005

      I used linguini in this recipe and added a little garlic and fresh parmesean. I thought it was quite tasty and quick. A great way to utilize my garden tomatoes and fresh herb garden. Thanks Thorsten for something light and fresh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2005

      Having tried a few recipes on and off this site, just fugured out I'm not a huge fan of super fresh tomato sauces. That said, this was by far the best and most tasty. The cooking time was just perfect for maintaining the freshness of the tomatoes without the raw tomato flavor of similar dishes. I cut the oil in half and reduced the pasta to 3 ounces. Without a marathon in my future, 4 oz was a lotta pasta. ;-) I would certainly make this again. Thanks Thorsten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2005

      Hmm, I guess I am the only one who thought this was just okay and not worth all the raves. Chalk it to a matter of taste, I guess this was just a bit too simple for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      I agree with the others, this is a nice, light, lovely tasting dish that my DH and I loved! Please keep your photo as default!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2005

      Wonderful recipe! It was very easy and quick to make. The sauce is so light and fresh. I'll never go back to using can sauce! I used whole wheat spaghetti to make it even more nutritional.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      This is either a similar, or the same, recipe I found in Good Housekeeping years ago, and it's wonderful, easy, quick and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2005

      Wonderful and very simple! This recipe was just what I was looking for for a light summertime supper! Made exactly as directed for a delightful meal. Thank you for sharing, Thorsten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2005

      A wonderful fresh tasty dish!! I used some cherry tomatoes, cut in half and reduced the sugar to 1/4 teaspoon. A little grated parmesan over the top and I had a delicious dinner. Thanks Thorsten for this little 'pasta for one' recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      Subbed fresh garlic for the onions. (Also got by with 1/2 T. olive oil.) Loved it. Brought back fresh, fat tomatoes from the Chesapeake Bay area. I dipped them in boiling water for a few seconds to remove their skins. Fed a hungry crowd and it was sublime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2005

      I happened upon some of the most beautiful tomatoes I have seen in a long time...I saw the photo of this recipe in the photo forum and had to try it. I don't like spaghetti sauce so i rarely eat spaghetti! Like Inge 1505 i was hessitant because it lacked garlic and i used less sugar.... but oh my! we have a winner here.... my two favorite things - easy and tasty! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2005

      A quick and satisfying dish. I am surprised I liked it so much. I was relunctant to try it, because there was neither garlic nor red pepper flakes in it, something I consider to be a must have for my tomato sauces, (but I had to try, I am married to Thorsten :) ). And then there was the sugar! - But it was delicous! The sauce reminded me of my childhood and the preference for mildly aromatic and slightly sweet dishes I had then, that was a nice side effect. - Nevertheless I would add a very little less than 1/2 t sugar, say 3/8 t, but I only say it not to sound partial on DH's side. It's in my cookbook, Thorsten. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaghetti With Fresh Tomatoes and Basil

    Serving Size: 1 (323 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 587.6
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    23%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 16.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 95.2 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 10.3 g
    41%
    Protein 16.6 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes