14 Reviews

Absolutely Amazing! I wish I could give this ten stars! Even our eight, four and three year old kids gobbled these meatballs up, no fight at all! My husband thought he did not like tofu until I started preparing it in different ways recently and he took one bite and said , "Wow, these are good"!!! I drained, pressed and then squeezed extra firm tofu and had no issues with the mixture. I think they formed better than traditional meatballs. YUM! Thank you for such a great recipe!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Shmoe June 16, 2010

I was unsuccessful with this. I think that I did not press the tofu enough as the final product was too wet to form into anything. I ended up adding cornbread mix and they turned into drop biscuits. Quite tasty, too. I also blended everything except the bread in my vitamix, which might have caused the sogginess to be more of a problem.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahubasics March 11, 2010

Awesome!!!! This is the first tofu recipe that was not just edible for me, it actually tasted great! I used Easy, Speedy Spaghetti Sauce Easy, Speedy Spaghetti Sauce and after the "meatballs" were done I let it simmer for 30 minutes. The only thing I changed was to reduce the sesame oil by 1/3 to reduce the fat. Thanks for a great recipe Kozmic Blues!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silvano August 30, 2009

These were great. I used honey mustard and reduced the basil to 1 tsp. The sesame oil adds a wonderful dimension to these in my opinion and would not leave it out. We had these with spaghetti sauce. The next day the kids (who did not like them initially) loved them with a mushroom sauce. We even made these into wraps with tzatziki , chopped tomatoes, feta and lettuce. They are very versatile meatballs. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada March 21, 2009

mmm, i skipped the sesame oil and these were still yummy. I had to cook them a bit longer than 30 minutes to obtain the kind of crispiness and dryness I like (I don't think mushy moist tofu would be good in a meatball). Next time I'm going to freeze the tofu first. Oh yes, there will be a next time - thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spacekadet February 10, 2007

My family loved these! I cook with tofu a lot and the spices are spot on. I made 1/2' balls to cut the cooking time and because we love our balls crusty. We had no parsley on hand but they would be better with parsley.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigschwa August 27, 2012

Easy to make and good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MacaroniBoy March 02, 2011

I made this for the "Best of" tag game and I liked them. I think this is one of those recipes you have to customize and experiment with. I probably made mine too large, so next time I'll downsize them. I also would like a bit more flavor so I'll increase the spices. Thanks for posting such an interesting recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan February 09, 2011

Fabulous! It's a 10 star for me too. I didn't know what to make for dinner when low & behold, chanced on this, and had everything to make it. I think in making these it's a fine line between over-processing the tofu (which will make them mushy), and not crumbling the tofu enough. I like that the veg are sauteed first, gives it such great flavour. I subbed one "flax egg" for the egg, they were a little delicate probably due to that, but certainly held together well enough. Wouldn't change a thing with the flavour, they're very delicious. I only cooked half the batch so far (1 dozen fit perfectly in the toaster oven). I didn't realize until later that it calls for 3lbs of tofu - I just used one pack (maybe 1 pound) and that worked great for me. Served these with some millet and a curried veg sauce over top. Thanks Kozmic, I can't wait to bake the second half tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner July 08, 2010

Very Good! The texture is much better the next day...Next time I will make this a day ahead and try to process the tofu with the other ingredients to get a more uniform texture. Thanks for posting such an interesting and tasty recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn February 20, 2010
Spaghetti & Tofu " Meatballs "