31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This dish was very good , I also put my own twist to it one thing i did is i cooked the squash in the pressure cooker for 5 minuets with some seasonings, it raked out of the skin beautifully I used cheddar cheese and some baby spinach cooked it at 375 degrees in the oven came out awesome my wife couldn't believe it, very good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joe j. January 23, 2014

Extremely hearty and flavorful, and a good solution for low-carb diets when real pasta is not allowed. I agree with the others who noted the not-so-pretty appearance of the dish. My solution was to not mix everything up---keep the spaghetti squash in a separate dish, toss with a bit of butter, and serve the other vegetables in the sauce on top of the squash. Much more attractive!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante April 14, 2013

Very good. Agree that this is not a pretty looking dish, but the taste is great. I used canned mushrooms, didn't have fresh, and added a few TBSP of homemade marinara as I only had a few fresh grape tomatoes. I also added a good heavy pinch of crushed red pepper to give the dish a bit of zip. I used cottage cheese as that is what I had, might try ricotta next time to make it look a bit prettier. Overall a keeper, I had it as a filling main dish for just me, would probably pair it with some grilled chicken or pork for my carnivore family. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 March 13, 2013

Doesn't look the greatest but tastes amazing! I didn't have any mozzarella cheese so i put some cheddar and it turned out great. Will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinaajj March 01, 2013

I made this for my partner's mother's 70th birthday party; I needed a recipe that would feed one vegetarian, one finicky eater, and one who doesn't like casserole dishes. The rest of us just love to eat. It worked on all levels and won rave reviews from everyone including an eye-rolling token of appreciation from the vegetarian.
I stuck to the recipe and the only things I changed:
I quartered the mushrooms, (I wanted a chunky texture); I used one can of diced tomatoes with the juice, (next time I'll increase that to two cans); I cubed the mozzarella cheese instead of grating it; I added parmesan to the casserole mixture; I mixed breadcrumbs and parmesan for the topping.
I'm going to include this recipe on my Thanksgiving Day menu and I have to say, Thank you Tonkcats for sharing this! It's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
royboy September 07, 2010

this was OK. After all the hype I thought it would be better. But I did enjoy it. I ommited the onion, used fresh basil and thyme, and olive oil instead of butter. I also added some white wine to the saute and sone sharp cheddar hoping it would add to the flavor. It was still a little bland for my liking. But, i'll make it again, maybe adding some diced green chiles or something. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaniRoze February 24, 2010

The ricotta makes this recipe! It's rich and creamy and tastes decadent. I've made this several times. I agree about it being a little bland. I always include garlic salt and/or adobo salt, which gives a nice flavor. I've made it with and without mushrooms and tomatoes, depending on what I have, and it always good. I always initially cook the squash in the microwave instead of the oven...it takes about 6 minutes versus 40.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hmhonnold January 22, 2010

I will definitely make this dish again with some changes. It was a bit bland for me. Next time I will double all the ingredients except squash, mozzarella cheese and bread crumbs. I will add more vegetables to it also, like peppers or zucchini or others. I might also add some ground turkey or chicken to it. I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta cheese this time and will continue with cottage cheese. Instead of baking the squash, I boiled it. That was easier for me, and it cuts down on prep time. I also did not butter the dish, and it was fine. I used olive oil instead of butter to saute the vegetables (to make it healthier). This is a great dish with a lot of variations to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katiecarr April 02, 2009

It was a very good dish, but it did not reheat well. We will probably make it again, but not eat it for leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizardbeth March 24, 2009

My husband and I both really likes this dish! We used cottage cheese for ours. It was great! I will definitely make this again. It's a great vegetarian dish, and very hearty and filling! Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah&Hannan February 21, 2009
Spaghetti Squash, Tomato, Mushroom & Cheese Casserole