Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spaghetti Squash, Tomato, Mushroom & Cheese Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaghetti Squash, Tomato, Mushroom & Cheese Casserole

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2014

      This dish was very good , I also put my own twist to it one thing i did is i cooked the squash in the pressure cooker for 5 minuets with some seasonings, it raked out of the skin beautifully I used cheddar cheese and some baby spinach cooked it at 375 degrees in the oven came out awesome my wife couldn't believe it, very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      Extremely hearty and flavorful, and a good solution for low-carb diets when real pasta is not allowed. I agree with the others who noted the not-so-pretty appearance of the dish. My solution was to not mix everything up---keep the spaghetti squash in a separate dish, toss with a bit of butter, and serve the other vegetables in the sauce on top of the squash. Much more attractive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      Very good. Agree that this is not a pretty looking dish, but the taste is great. I used canned mushrooms, didn't have fresh, and added a few TBSP of homemade marinara as I only had a few fresh grape tomatoes. I also added a good heavy pinch of crushed red pepper to give the dish a bit of zip. I used cottage cheese as that is what I had, might try ricotta next time to make it look a bit prettier. Overall a keeper, I had it as a filling main dish for just me, would probably pair it with some grilled chicken or pork for my carnivore family. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      Doesn't look the greatest but tastes amazing! I didn't have any mozzarella cheese so i put some cheddar and it turned out great. Will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      I made this for my partner's mother's 70th birthday party; I needed a recipe that would feed one vegetarian, one finicky eater, and one who doesn't like casserole dishes. The rest of us just love to eat. It worked on all levels and won rave reviews from everyone including an eye-rolling token of appreciation from the vegetarian.
      I stuck to the recipe and the only things I changed:
      I quartered the mushrooms, (I wanted a chunky texture); I used one can of diced tomatoes with the juice, (next time I'll increase that to two cans); I cubed the mozzarella cheese instead of grating it; I added parmesan to the casserole mixture; I mixed breadcrumbs and parmesan for the topping.
      I'm going to include this recipe on my Thanksgiving Day menu and I have to say, Thank you Tonkcats for sharing this! It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      this was OK. After all the hype I thought it would be better. But I did enjoy it. I ommited the onion, used fresh basil and thyme, and olive oil instead of butter. I also added some white wine to the saute and sone sharp cheddar hoping it would add to the flavor. It was still a little bland for my liking. But, i'll make it again, maybe adding some diced green chiles or something. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      The ricotta makes this recipe! It's rich and creamy and tastes decadent. I've made this several times. I agree about it being a little bland. I always include garlic salt and/or adobo salt, which gives a nice flavor. I've made it with and without mushrooms and tomatoes, depending on what I have, and it always good. I always initially cook the squash in the microwave instead of the oven...it takes about 6 minutes versus 40.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      I will definitely make this dish again with some changes. It was a bit bland for me. Next time I will double all the ingredients except squash, mozzarella cheese and bread crumbs. I will add more vegetables to it also, like peppers or zucchini or others. I might also add some ground turkey or chicken to it. I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta cheese this time and will continue with cottage cheese. Instead of baking the squash, I boiled it. That was easier for me, and it cuts down on prep time. I also did not butter the dish, and it was fine. I used olive oil instead of butter to saute the vegetables (to make it healthier). This is a great dish with a lot of variations to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      It was a very good dish, but it did not reheat well. We will probably make it again, but not eat it for leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      My husband and I both really likes this dish! We used cottage cheese for ours. It was great! I will definitely make this again. It's a great vegetarian dish, and very hearty and filling! Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Fairly easy to make and a very good vegetarian dish. Although good without any additions, we may try adding chicken the next time to add variety!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      this is so good! Thank you for sharing. My husband wanted to plant some spaghetti squash in our garden and we have given most of it away. The last one, about a foot long, I decided to use for this recipe. We had it for dinner tonight, using tomatoes from the garden and it is definitely a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      This is one of our FAVES! I made it for my mother-in-law last year after she had surgery and upon returned home, discovered our dog ate our whole casserole! See?? It MUST be good! Boy, was I mad....because it is a lot of work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Very good! Someone mentioned you would never miss the meat! It is so true. Filling ~ will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! I used non fat ricotta and topped with panko bread crumbs and parmesan. My husband couldn't eat enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      This was so YUMMY and is my first taste of spagetti squash. I have recently started WW and this is a perfect meal that is virtually free...only having to count the cheeses. I left out the breadcrumbs. I will definitely be making this often. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      This was a great different way to serve spaghetti squash. The only change I made was to parboil 2 chicken breasts and dice the meat to make it a full meal for a meat eaters. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      OMG this was soooo Deelish! I used old cheddar instead of mozza cheese because I didn't have any and omitted bread crumbs because hubby is on low-carb foods and it turned out great. The first time I've ever eaten spaghetti squash too. It was so good and we (family of 6!) would all have again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      The flavor of this recipe is excellent. My very picky two year old even liked (as long he didn't get any mushroom or tomato.) I found it to be quite time consuming to prepare and the instructions a bit confusing but I would definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      Our entire family loved this delicious twist on spaghetti squash. I, like others, left out the ricotta (only because I didn't have it on hand). Instead I substituted a half cup of lite sour cream. It added a creamy texture that complimented the herbs and vegetables wonderfully. We'll definitely be enjoying this again. Thanks for a great recipe Tonkcats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaghetti Squash, Tomato, Mushroom & Cheese Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 312.2
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    31%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 30.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 608.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 19.7 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes