21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

good basic sauce. I used it as the basis for a deliciuos fridge cleaner (basically any thing that didn't glow in the dark )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sparky too February 04, 2007

This was a very nice sauce -- thick and tasty. I, too, used fresh tomatoes from the garden and substituted a little wine (about 1/2 cup) for some of the water. Because I was using fresh, juicy, run-of-the-mill garden tomatoes rather than "paste" tomatoes, I cooked them up a bit first before adding the meat and spices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan King September 14, 2005

Just a basic sauce. Nothing really jumped out at you. We added some red pepper flakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill September 10, 2005

This recipie certianly did not need any adjustments. I however have a garden that is out of control so I changed a few things to fit my needs. I omited the ground beef and the green pepper. I used 7-8 cups fresh chopped tomatoes, added another can of tomato paste, and 2 tablespoons fresh parsley. I also just threw it in the crockpot overnight. It is an amazing sauce and it actually woke my hubby up in the middle of night because it smelled so good....LOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail2293 September 03, 2005

I really liked this recipe. I started making it at about noon and served it at 5:30pm. It simmered all that time and was great. I left out the lemon juice, and the following day I turned it into chili for unexpected dinner guests! Imagine that!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KWB June 18, 2005

My youngest DS requested spaghetti for his Birthday supper, so I thought I would give this one a try, so glad I did, time consuming but worth every second (Hmm..so this is what 'real' spaghetti sauce tastes like) I'm usually time crunched and opt for jarred!. Instead of adding white wine like one reviewer mentioned I added Burgandy wine-Ohhh.. the aroma! I did add an aditional 1/2 c. water and an additional 1/2 c. red wine because I added #92095 Authentic Meatballs to this. Thanks so much Luke Meakins!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat May 31, 2005

I would use this recipe again. I think the secret is cooking it so long. Also, was able to use my fresh herbs. Very good~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linda May 23, 2005

I had looked high and low for a great spaghetti sauce, this one hits the bulls-eye. I just put a little less oregano and more basil. FABULOUS!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
looneyspoons May 22, 2005

This recipe is great! My five year old daughter helped. It was very easy to follow,easy to make and it taste like you were in the kitchen for hours!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waterbug March 09, 2004

Very good recipe. I left out the green pepper as well as I find it doesn't look overly appealing after a long simmering time. I added 1 T Italian seasoning near the end as we like it a little spicier. Next time I may substitute 1 pound of Italian sausage for one of the pounds of ground beef just to give it more zing.Overall it is a great recipe that I highly recommend. Thanks Luke for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Ontario January 11, 2004
Spaghetti Sauce to Die For